Hayley Atwell Tom Burke

Hayley Atwell and Tom Burke to headline Ibsen revival in the West End

Hayley Atwell and Tom Burke will star in a new adaptation of Ibsen’s Rosmersholm by People, Places and Things and Every Brilliant Thing scribe Duncan Macmillan.

Directed by Ian Rickson, ‘Ibsen’s masterpiece’ (Michael Billington, 2008) is a twisting thriller about a man torn between the idealised hope of the future and the ghosts of his past.

Tom Burke (Strike, The Musketeers) plays the soulful Rosmer, haunted by history and tradition with Hayley Atwell (Howards End, Captain America) cast as the enigmatic and unpredictable Rebecca West, one of Ibsen’s greatest heroines.

Burke’s theatre credits include The Deep Blue Sea and The Doctor’s Dilema at the National Theatre, Design for Living at the Old Vic, The Cut at the Donmar Warehouse, as well as Creditors for which he won the Ian Charleson Award in 2008. His film credits include Only God Forgives, Third Star and The Hooligan Factory.

Hayley Atwell’s many varied roles across theatre, tv and film include Measure for Measure (Donmar), The Pride (Trafalgar Studios), Major Barbara (National Theatre); the recent BBC adaptation of Howards End, Agent Carter Series 1 & 2 (ABC/Marvel), Fear of Fanny (BBC); Brideshead Revisited, Captain America, Ant Man, Cinderella, Christopher Robin and The Duchess.

Former Royal Court Artistic Director, Ian Rickson is best known for his celebrated productions of Jez Butterworth’s Jerusalem (West End and Broadway), The River (Broadway) and Mojo (West End), and his West End productions of Harold Pinter’s The Birthday Party, Old Times and Betrayal.

Further casting for the piece will be announced soon.

Find tickets to Rosmersholm

Rosmersholm is booking from 24 April 2019 until 20 July 2019 at the Duke of York’s Theatre, London.

📷 Main photo: Hayley Atwell & Tom Burke

Related News
More >

Latest News
More >

Leave a Review or Comment

Comments and reviews are subject to our participation guidelines policy, which can be viewed here. Our policy is for readers to use their REAL NAMES when commenting.