Nominees for Theatre BookPrize 2017

Shortlist announced for 2017 Theatre Book Prize

The Society of Theatre Research has announced the short list for the Theatre Book Prize.

Presented annually, the Theatre Book Prize is awarded by an independent panel of judges for the best published book on British or British related theatre during the year.

The Theatre Book Prize was established to encourage the writing and publication of books on theatre history and practice, both those which present the theatre of the past and those which record contemporary theatre for the future.

The short list for books published in 2016 are:

  • Juggling Trajectories: Gandini Juggling MXMXCI – MMXV by Thomas J M Wilson (Gandini Press)
  • London’s West End Actresses and the Origins of Celebrity Charity, 1880-1920 by Catherine Hindson (University of Iowa Press)
  • Nobody Knows but Everyone Remembers by Mark Long (People Show)
  • Shakespeare in Ten Acts by Gordon McMullan & Zoe Wilcox (British Library Publications)
  • Stage Managing Chaos: A Diary of the Old Vic Production of Fernando Arrabal’s The Architect and the Emperor of Assyria by Jackie Harvey and Tim Kelleher (McFarland)
  • Theatrical Unrest: Ten Riots in the History of the Stage by Sean McEvoy (Routledge)

The judges for the 2016 STR Theatre Book Prize are  Olivier-winning actress and author Nichola McAuliffe (Kiss Me,Kate; ITV sitcom Surgical Spirit), theatre critic, academic and author Aleks Sierz and the Victoria & Albert Museum Theatre Collections curator Cathy Haill.

Sir Richard Eyre will present to the awards at a reception at the Theatre Royal, Drury Lane on 2 May 2017.

Sign-up for news and booking alerts about these shows and more:
👤 📅18 April 2017

Related News

More >

Latest News

More >

Leave a Review or Comment

Comments and reviews are subject to our participation guidelines policy, which can be viewed here. Our policy is for readers to use their REAL NAMES when commenting.