Watch The Stage Awards 2016 winners’ interviews
The Stage Awards 2016 took place on January 29 at the Theatre Royal, Drury Lane, London.

London Theatre of the Year

Winner: Almeida Theatre
Rupert Goold, artistic director

Also shortlisted: Barbican; Shakespeare’s Globe

Fringe Theatre of the Year

Winner: The Other Room, Cardiff
Kate Wasserberg, artistic director / Bizzy Day, executive director

Also shortlisted: Camden People’s Theatre, London; Orange Tree Theatre, London

Regional Theatre of the Year

Winner: Royal Exchange Theatre, Manchester
Sarah Frankcom, artistic director

Also shortlisted: Chichester Festival Theatre; Royal and Derngate, Northampton

Producer of the Year

Winner: Sonia Friedman

Also shortlisted: Edinburgh International Festival; Rachel Edwards

Theatre Building of the Year

Winner: National Theatre Future, London
Lisa Burger, executive director

Also shortlisted:King’s Cross Theatre, London; Wilton’s Music Hall, London

International Award

Winner: War Horse China (National Theatre)
Also shortlisted: Good Chance Theatre, Calais; Greenwich and Docklands International Festival

School of the Year

Winner: Arts Educational School, London
Jane Harrison, principal

Also shortlisted: Belgrade Theatre, Coventry; University of Warwick School of Theatre

Unsung Hero

Winner: Roger Miller, Felixstowe Spa Pavilion Theatre


The Stage Awards 2016

Winners announced for The Stage Awards 2016