Ian Charleson Awards – Winners 2013

Winner announced: at the National Theatre on 25 April 2014

Judges: Michael Grandage, Francesca Annis, Wendy Spon, John Peter; guest of honour at the dinner: Janet Suzman


First prize:

Jack Lowden, for Oswald in Ghosts (Almeida Theatre)

Second prize:

Jessie Buckley, for Miranda in The Tempest (Shakespeare’s Globe) and Princess Katharine in Henry V (Noël Coward Theatre)

Third prize:

Graham Butler, for Henry VI in Henry VI, Parts I, II & III (Shakespeare’s Globe)


Other Nominees:

Fisayo Akinade, for Adam, Silvius, and William in As You Like It (Transport Theatre on tour)

Elliot Barnes-Worrell, for the Groom in Richard II (Royal Shakespeare Company)

Nari Blair-Mangat, for Caithness in Macbeth (Manchester International Festival)

Gavin Fowler, for Puck in A Midsummer Night’s Dream (Noël Coward Theatre) and Florizel in The Winter’s Tale (Royal Shakespeare Company)

Kim Hardy, for Konstantin in The Seagull (The White Bear)

Brian Markey, for Hugh in Mixed Marriage (Lyric Theatre, Belfast)

Charlene McKenna, for Regina in Ghosts (Almeida Theatre)

Rose Reynolds, for Lavinia in Titus Andronicus (Royal Shakespeare Company)

Gemma Soul, for Rose in The Recruiting Officer (Salisbury Playhouse)

Luke Thompson, for Lysander in A Midsummer Night’s Dream (Shakespeare’s Globe)

Olivia Vinall, for Desdemona in Othello (National Theatre)


Sign-up for news and booking alerts about these shows and more:

📷 Main photo: Ian Charleson Awards – Winners 2013

Related News

More >

Latest News

More >

Leave a Review or Comment

Comments and reviews are subject to our participation guidelines policy, which can be viewed here. Our policy is for readers to use their REAL NAMES when commenting.