UK Theatre Awards

UK Theatre Awards 2023 nominations announced

Nominations have been announced for this year’s UK Theatre Awards 2023.

Organised by trade association UK Theatre, the UK Theatre Awards are the only national awards to celebrate outstanding achievements in theatre.

Finalists for the UK’s Most Welcoming Theatre category were announced in July 2023, and are the Curve Leicester, the National Youth Theatre and Nottingham Playhouse.

In terms of best performance in a play, the nominees are Peter Forbes for On The Beach at Sheffield Theatres, Siobhán McSweeney for Happy Days at Birmingham Rep, Daniel Rigby for Accidental Death Of An Anarchist at Sheffield Theatres, the Lyric Hammersmith, and the Theatre Royal Haymarket in the West End, and William Young for Of Mice & Men at Birmingham Rep and Leeds Playhouse.

Best performance in a musical nominees include Joanna Ampil for Miss Saigon at Sheffield Theatres, Lena Hall for In Dreams at the Leeds Playhouse, and Rebecca Thornhill for Gypsy at a The Mill at Sonning.

The eligibility period for the 2023 UK Theatre Awards was 1 September 2022 to 14 August 2023.

In terms of judges, a number of panels are made up of regional theatre reviewers and industry professionals. For Theatre, the judges are: Angelo Ivring, Clare Brennan, Clive Davis, Diane Parkes, Dominic Cavendish, Jane Coyle and Mark Fisher; For Dance, they are: Andrew Hurst, Donald Hutera, Lyndsey Winship, and Sanjoy Roy; and For Opera, they are: Alexandra Coghlan, Claire Seymour, George Hall, and John Allison.

The Off Stage Panel judges are made up of UK Theatre board members and freelance theatre professionals: Andrew Miller; Milton Lopes; and Sita McIntosh; and the UK’s Most Welcoming Theatre is judged by Partner Members and freelance theatre professionals, namely: Bea Webster-Mockett, Natalie Amber, and Simon Geen.

Hosted by actor Zoe Birkett (The Witches, Moulin Rouge! The Musical), the winners will be announced at London’s Guildhall on 8 October 2023.

UK Theatre Awards 2023 – Nominations

Best Design 

  • Conor Murphy for Propaganda: A New Musical, a Lyric Theatre Belfast and The Belfast Ensemble Production 
  • Justin Nardella & Dan Steele for iShowmanism!, a Theatre Royal Bath production 
  • Sadeysa Greenaway-Bailey & UTLZ for Tambo & Bones, a Theatre Royal Stratford East Actors Touring Company co-production 

Best Director 

  • Matthew Dunster & Jimmy Fairhurst for A Midsummer Night’s Dream, a Shakespeare North Playhouse, Not Too Tame and Northern Stage co-production 
  • Omar Elerian for As You Like It, a Royal Shakespeare Company production 
  • Garry Hynes for DruidO’Casey, a Druid Theatre production at Lyric Theatre Belfast 

Best Musical Production Sponsored by Tysers in association with Ecclesiastical 

  • The Book Thief, an Octagon Theatre Bolton production 
  • Gypsy, a The Mill at Sonning production 
  • Miss Saigon, a Sheffield Theatres production 

Best New Play 

  • Agreement, a Lyric Theatre Belfast production 
  • Enough Of Him, a National Theatre of Scotland and Pitlochry Festival Theatre co-production 
  • Untitled F*ck M*ss S**gon Play, a Royal Exchange Theatre, Factory International for Manchester International Festival, Young Vic Theatre and Headlong co-production 

Best Play Revival Sponsored by Trafalgar Theatres 

  • The Beauty Queen Of Leenane, a Prime Cut and Lyric Theatre Belfast co-production 
  • The Comedy Of Errors (More Or Less), a Shakespeare North Playhouse and Stephen Joseph Theatre co-production 
  • The Contingency Plan, a Sheffield Theatres production 

Best Performance in a Play 

  • Peter Forbes for On The Beach, a Sheffield Theatres production 
  • Siobhán McSweeney for Happy Days, a Landmark Productions production at Birmingham Rep 
  • Daniel Rigby for Accidental Death Of An Anarchist, a Sheffield Theatres and Lyric Hammersmith co-production 
  • Wiliam Young for Of Mice & Men, a Birmingham Rep, Leeds Playhouse and Fiery Angel co-production 

Best Performance in a Musical 

  • Joanna Ampil for Miss Saigon, a Sheffield Theatres production 
  • Lena Hall for In Dreams, a Leeds Playhouse production 
  • Rebecca Thornhill for Gypsy, a The Mill at Sonning production 

Best Show for Children and Young People 

  • The Famous Five, a Theatr Clywd and Chichester Festival Theatre co-production 
  • Mirrorball, a Replay Theatre Company production at Belfast Children’s Festival, Lyric Theatre Belfast 
  • The SpongeBob Musical, a Selladoor Worldwide production 

Best Supporting Performance (in a Musical or Play) 

  • Bryony Corrigan for I, Daniel Blake, a Nothern Stage, Birmingham Rep, ETT, Oldham Coliseum and tiny dragon Productions production in association with Cardboard Citizens 
  • Antony Eden for Family Album, a Stephen Joseph Theatre production 
  • LJ Parkinson for Modest, a Middle Child and Milk Presents co-production 

Achievement in Opera 

  • Glyndebourne for Dialogues Des Carmélites  
  • Opera North for Orpheus  
  • Welsh National Opera for Blaze Of Glory! 

Achievement in Dance  

  • Jo Fong & George Orange for The Rest Of Our Lives   
  • Rambert for Peaky Blinders: The Redemption Of Thomas Shelby   
  • Scottish Ballet for Coppélia   

Off Stage 

Excellence in Touring 

  • ETT 
  • Northern Stage 
  • Nottingham Playhouse 

Digital Innovation Sponsored by Spektrix 

  • HOME X presented by the Barbican 
  • Pilot Theatre 
  • Tara Theatre 

Excellence in Inclusivity 

  • Capital Theatres 
  • Midland Arts Centre 
  • Queen’s Theatre Hornchurch 

Excellence in Arts Education 

  • Birmingham Hippodrome 
  • Blackpool Grand Theatre 
  • Hackney Empire 

Workforce Award 

  • Ambassador Theatre Group 
  • Grand Opera House York 
  • Nottingham Playhouse 

UK’s Most Welcoming Theatre Sponsored by Theatre Tokens 

  • Curve 
  • National Youth Theatre 
  • Nottingham Playhouse

Outstanding Contribution to British Theatre

Outstanding Contribution to British Theatre is awarded by the UK Theatre Board and the recipient will be announced before the ceremony.

👤 📅14 September 2023
Tags: ,

📷 Main photo: UK Theatre Awards

Related News

More >

Latest News

More >

Leave a Review or Comment

Comments and reviews are subject to our participation guidelines policy, which can be viewed here. Our policy is for readers to use their REAL NAMES when commenting.