Shakespeare in the Squares returns to London with Twelfth Night

Shakespeare in the Squares returns to London this summer with Shakespeare’s Twelfth Night.

A highlight of London summertime, this unique venture sees the company take a new Shakespearean production annually to the glorious garden squares and open spaces.

Each performance is tailor made to its venue, offering a unique audience experience where no two shows are the same. The company works with the garden committees and other local organisations to create an intimate experience for each London community.

The tour will cover 22 outdoor London venues, and 27 performances making 2023 its most ambitious season yet. The tour opens on 13 June at Arundel and Ladbroke Gardens, with previews from 7 June, and runs until 7 July.

Founders of Shakespeare in the Squares, Sue Fletcher and Martin Neild, said today, “We are delighted to be embarking on our sixth annual summer tour and we are proud that Shakespeare in the Squares has become a well-established and much-loved part of London’s Summer theatre scene. We continue to spread our reach right across the capital and are excited to be performing in new venues from Belgrave Square, SW1 to The Actors’ Church Gardens, in Covent Garden, and Clitterhouse Playing Fields in NW2. We look forward to welcoming new audiences to a magical evening of theatre, music and dance in one of London’s beautiful gardens settings”

Patron of Shakespeare in the Squares, Dame Judi Dench commented, “I made my Broadway debut as Viola, so Twelfth Night has always been a very special play for me. I can’t imagine a more perfect choice for Shakespeare in the Squares: music, mischief, missing twins, and romance – all played out on balmy summer evenings in the heart of London’s enchanted gardens and squares. I much look forward to seeing their production and know they ‘will strive to please you every day.”

Twelfth Night, Shakespeare in the Squares – Performance Schedule

Leinster Square W2
Wednesday 7 June 7pm

St James’s Gardens W11
Thursday 8 June 7pm

Norland Square W11
Friday 9 June 7pm

Camden Square NW1
Saturday 10 June 5pm

Arundel and Ladbroke W11
Press Night: Tuesday 13 June 7pm

Paultons Square SW3
Wednesday 14 June 7pm

Albert Square SW8
Thursday 15 June 7pm

Clitterhouse Playing Fields NW2
Friday 16 June 7pm

Queen’s Park NW6
Saturday 17 June 2pm and 7pm

Kensington Gardens Square W2
Sunday 18 June 5pm

Cornwall Gardens SW7
Tuesday 20 June 7pm

Charterhouse Square EC1
Wednesday 21 June 7pm

Elgin and Arundel W11
Friday 23 June 7pm

St Peter’s Square W6
Saturday 24 June 7pm

Belgrave Square SW1
Sunday 25 June 5pm

St Anne’s Church Garden SW18
Monday 26 – Tuesday 27 June 7pm

Charlton House and Gardens, SE7
Thursday 29 June 7pm

The Actors’ Church Garden’s WC2
Friday 30 June 7pm – Saturday 1 July 2pm, 7pm

Ladbroke Square W11
Monday 3 July 7pm

Crescent Garden W9
Tuesday 4 July 7pm

St James’s Square SW1
Wednesday 5 July 7pm

Cleveland Square W2
Thursday 6 July – Friday 7 July 7pm


📷 Main photo: Shakespeare In The Square 2023

Related News

More >

Latest News

More >

1 thought on “Shakespeare in the Squares returns to London with Twelfth Night”

  1. Joelle Stockley

    Being French, I always found Shakespeare difficult to follow which allowed for short snoozes…
    This production of Twelve nights is so well told, so well acted, so imaginatively directed, such fun that I was gripped and entertained from beginning to end. Deserved 5 stars!

Leave a Review or Comment

Comments and reviews are subject to our participation guidelines policy, which can be viewed here. Our policy is for readers to use their REAL NAMES when commenting.