David Harewood

New Year Honours List 2023 theatre people honoured

Actor David Harewood and West End producer Sonia Friedman amongst the recipients of New Year Honours

The New Year Honours List has been released, featuring a number of theatrical people!

Entertainment and theatre folk receiving knighthoods include Brian May from the band Queen, who is bringing his West End musical We Will Rock You back to London in June 2023, to the London Coliseum.

Also receiving knighthoods are CEO of the Royal Academy of Dance, Luke Rittner, and artist and broadcaster Grayson Perry.

CBE honours are being given to hugely successful London-based theatre producer Sonia Friedman, who produces Harry Potter and the Cursed Child at the Palace Theatre, The Book of Mormon at the Prince of Wales Theatre, To Kill a Mockingbird at the Gielgud Theatre, and many more shows.

Other CBE recipients include Frances Mary Morris, director of the Tate.

OBE honours are being handed out to actors including David Harewood, who is currently starring in James Graham’s Best of Enemies at the Noel Coward Theatre in London, and Stephen Graham (Line of Duty, Help, Peaky Blinders).

Julian Bird, former CEO of the Society of London Theatre and UK Theatre is also being honoured with an OBE, plus Sarah Dorfman, philanthropist and principle sponsor of the National Theatre’s Dorfman Theatre, Tim Eyles, Chair of the Royal Society of Arts, and Philip Edgar-Jones, director of Sky Arts & Entertainment.

MBE honourees include comedian and writer Frank Skinner – under his real name Christopher Collins, actor and vocalist Janet Kay Bogle, playwright and screenwriter Rachel De-Lahay, actress Cleo Sylvestre, opera singer Christine Rice, and Julia Christl Skelton, Executive Director of the Mind The Gap learning disability performance and live arts company.

📷 Main photo: David Harewood. Photo: Sebastian Rabbas/Films of Record/BBC

Related News

More >

Latest News

More >

Leave a Review or Comment

Comments and reviews are subject to our participation guidelines policy, which can be viewed here. Our policy is for readers to use their REAL NAMES when commenting.