Tony Awards 1959

Actor (Dramatic) Winner – Jason Robards, Jr. (The Disenchanted)
Nominees: Cedric Hardwicke (A Majority of One)
Alfred Lunt (The Visit)
Christopher Plummer (J. B.)
Cyril Ritchard (The Pleasure of His Company)
Robert Stephens (Epitaph for George Dillon)

Actor (Musical) Winner – Richard Kiley (Redhead)
Nominees: Larry Blyden (Flower Drum Song)

Actor, Supporting or Featured (Dramatic) Winner – Charlie Ruggles (The Pleasure of His Company)
Nominees: Marc Connelly (Tall Story)
George Grizzard (The Disenchanted)
Walter Matthau (Once More, With Feeling)
Robert Morse (Say, Darling)
George Scott (Comes a Day)

Actor, Supporting or Featured (Musical) Winner – Russell Nype (Goldilocks)
Nominees: Leonard Stone (Redhead)

Actress (Dramatic) Winner – Gertrude Berg (A Majority of One)
Nominees: Claudette Colbert (The Marriage-Go-Round)
Lynn Fontanne (The Visit)
Kim Stanley (A Touch of the Poet)
Maureen Stapleton (The Cold Wind and the Warm)

Actress (Musical) Winner – Gwen Verdon (Redhead)
Nominees: Miyoshi Umeki (Flower Drum Song)

Actress, Supporting or Featured (Dramatic) Winner – Julie Newmar (The Marriage-Go-Round)
Nominees: Maureen Delany (God and Kate Murphy)
Dolores Hart (The Pleasure of His Company)
Nan Martin (J.B.)
Bertrice Reading (Requiem for a Nun)

Actress, Supporting or Featured (Musical) Winner – Pat Stanley (Goldilocks)
Nominees: Julienne Marie (Whoop-Up)

Choreographer Winner – Bob Fosse (Redhead)
Nominees: Agnes de Mille (Goldilocks)
Carol Haney (Flower Drum Song)
Onna White (Whoop-Up)

Conductor and Musical Director Winner – Salvatore Dell’Isola (Flower Drum Song)
Nominees: Jay Blackston (Redhead)
Lehman Engel (Goldilocks)
Gershon Kingsley (La Plume de Ma Tante)

Costume Designer Winner – Rouben Ter-Arutunian (Redhead)
Nominees: Castillo (Goldilocks)
Dorothy Jenkins (The World of Suzie Wong)
Oliver Messel (Rashomon)
Irene Sharaff (Flower Drum Song)

Director Winner – Elia Kazan (J.B.)
Nominees: Peter Brook (The Visit)
Robert Dhery (La Plume de Ma Tante)
William Gaskill (Epitaph for George Dillon)
Peter Glenville (Rashomon)
Cyril Richard (The Pleasure of His Company)
Dore Schary (A Majority of One)

Musical Winner – Redhead by Herbert and Dorothy Fields, Sidney Sheldon, and David Shaw, music by Albert Hague, lyrics byDorothy Fields. Produced by Robert Fryer and Lawrence Carr.
Nominees: Flower Drum Song. Book by Oscar Hammerstein II and Joseph Fields, lyrics by Oscar Hammerstein II, music by Richard Rodgers. Produced by Joseph Fields, Oscar Hammerstein II and Richard Rodgers
La Plume de Ma Tante. Written, devised, and directed by Robert Dhery, music by Gerard Calvi, English lyrics by Ross Parker. David Merrick andJoseph Kipness, present the Jack Hylton Production

Play Winner – J.B. by Archibald MacLeish. Produced by Alfred de Liagre, Jr.
Nominees: A Touch of the Poet by Eugene O’Neill. Produced by The Producers Theatre, Robert Whitehead, and Roger L. Stevens
Epitaph for George Dillon by John Osborne and Anthony Creighton. Produced by David Merrickand Joshua Logan
The Disenchanted by Budd Schulberg and Harvey Breit. Produced by William Darrid and Eleanor Saidenberg
The Visit by Friedrich Duerrenmatt, adapted by Maurice Valency. Produced by the Producers Theatre

Scenic Designer Winner – Donald Oenslager (A Majority of One)
Nominees: Boris Aronson (J.B.)
Ballou (The Legend of Lizzie)
Ben Edwards (Jane Eyre)
Oliver Messel (Rashomon)
Teo Otto (The Visit)

Special Awards Winners – John Gielgud, for contribution to theatre for his extraordinary insight into the writings of Shakespeare as demonstrated in his one-man play, Ages of Man.
Howard Lindsay and Russell Crouse, for a collaboration that lasted longer than Gilbert and Sullivan.
Cast of La Plume de Ma Tante (Pamela Austin, Colette Brosset, Roger Caccia, Yvonne Constant, Genevieve Coulombel, Robert Dhery, Michael Kent, Jean Lefevre, Jacques Legras, Michael Modo, Pierre Olaf, Nicole Parent, Ross Parker, Henri Pennec), for contribution to the theatre.

Stage Technician Winner – Sam Knapp (The Music Man)
Nominees: Thomas Fitzgerald (Who Was That Lady I Saw You With?)
Edward Flynn (The Most Happy Fella – City Center Revival)

👤 📅1 January 2009
Tags: ,

📷 Main photo: TONY AWARDS 1959

Related News
More >

Latest News
More >

Leave a Review or Comment

Comments and reviews are subject to our participation guidelines policy, which can be viewed here. Our policy is for readers to use their REAL NAMES when commenting.