Winners of the Evening Standard Theatre Awards 2019 announced

The winners of the Evening Standard Theatre Awards 2019 have been announced at a ceremony last night, 24 November 2019, at the London Coliseum.

Nominations for the awards were announced on 4 November.

The 65th annual awards saw Maggie Smith and Andrew Scott take the top acting awards. Scott grabbed the best actor prize for his role in Noel Coward’s Present Laughter at the Old Vic, and Smith took the best actress gong for one-woman play A German Life at the Bridge Theatre.

Best play was Lynn Nottage’s Sweat at the Donmar Warehouse and in the West End, and best musical was the Regent’s Park Open Air Theatre’s production of Andrew Lloyd Webber’s Evita.

The ceremony was co-hosted by Helen McCrory and her husband Damian Lewis, Standard proprietor Evgeny Lebedev and Anna Wintour, and presented by actress Cush Jumbo.

Evening Standard Theatre Awards 2019 – winners

Best Actor, in partnership with Ambassador Theatre Group
Andrew Scott Present Laughter (Old Vic)

Natasha Richardson Award for Best Actress, in partnership with Christian Louboutin
ame Maggie Smith A German Life (Bridge Theatre)

Best Play, in partnership with Chanel
Sweat by Lynn Nottage (Donmar Warehouse & Gielgud Theatre)

Milton Shulman Award for Best Director
Robert Icke The Doctor & The Wild Duck (Almeida Theatre)

Best Musical
Evita (Regent’s Park Open Air Theatre)

Best Musical Performance
Anne-Marie Duff Sweet Charity (Donmar Warehouse)

Best Design, in partnership with Michael Kors
Bunny Christie A Midsummer Night’s Dream (Bridge Theatre)

Charles Wintour Award for Most Promising Playwright
Jasmine Lee-Jones seven methods of killing kylie jennner (Royal Court)

Emerging Talent Award, in partnership with Access Entertainment
Laurie Kynaston The Son (Kiln Theatre & Duke of York’s)

Editor’s Award
Sir Ian McKellen For his “On Stage” tour

Lebedev Award
Peter Brook For his contribution to theatre

Read more about the Evening Standard Theatre Awards

Read more about London Theatre Awards

📷 Main photo: Evening-Standard-Theatre-Awards

Related News

More >

Latest News

More >