image of Tamara Lawrance, James Corrigan & Sope Dirisu

Tamara Lawrance, James Corrigan & Sope Dirisu among Ian Charleson Award Nominees

Nominations for the 2017 Ian Charleson Awards have been announced with Tamara Lawrance, James Corrigan & Sope Dirisu among the nominees.

Tamara Lawrence was nominated for her performance of Viola in Twelfth Night at the National Theatre.  Directed by Simon Godwin, the well received production starred Tamsin Greig.

Rising star James Corrigan was nominated for his Mark Antony in the RSC’s production of Julius Caesar, Corrigan will soon play Edmund opposite Ian McKellen in the West End transfer of King Lear.

Sope Dirisu was nominated for the title role in Coriolanus at the RSC – his other notable roles include Cassius Clay in One Night in Miami at the Donmar Warehouse.

The nominees in full:

Ellie Bamber for Hilde in The Lady from the Sea, Donmar Warehouse
Daniel Ezra for Sebastian in Twelfth Night
, National Theatre
Tamara Lawrance for Viola in Twelfth Night,
 National Theatre
Rebecca Lee for Friar Laurence in Romeo and Juliet, 
Watermill, Newbury
James Corrigan for Mark Antony in Julius Caesar, 
Royal Shakespeare Company
Ned Derrington for Lysander in A Midsummer Night’s Dream, 
Shakespeare’s Globe
Sope Dirisu for Coriolanus in Coriolanus, Royal Shakespeare Company
Arthur Hughes for Lucius in Julius Caesar,
 Crucible, Sheffield
Douggie McMeekin for Snug in A Midsummer Night’s Dream, 
Young Vic
Natalie Simpson for Duchess Rosaura in The Cardinal, 
Southwark Playhouse
Hannah Morrish for Lavinia in Titus Andronicus, Royal Shakespeare Company

Awarded to actors under 30 for a performance in a classical role, the annual awards were first presented in 1991 in memory of the late actor Ian Charleson who died at the age of 40.  The awards offer cash prizes of £5,000, £2,000 and £500.

Previous winners include Paapa Essiedu (2016) for the title role of Hamlet – which will soon travel to America – James McArdle (2015) – now playing in Angels In America on Broadway, Cush Jumbo (2011), Andrea Riseborough (2006), Rebecca Hall (2002), David Oyelowo (2000), Claudie Blakley (1999), Toby Stephens (1994) and Tom Hollander (1992).

The Ian Charleson Awards are presented by The Sunday Tims and The National Theatre and will be announced on 18 May 2018 at the National Theatre.

Sign-up for news and booking alerts about these shows and more:

📷 Main photo: Tamara Lawrance, James Corrigan & Sope Dirisu

Related News

More >

Latest News

More >

Leave a Review or Comment

Comments and reviews are subject to our participation guidelines policy, which can be viewed here. Our policy is for readers to use their REAL NAMES when commenting.