Evening Standard Theatre Awards – Shortlist of Nominees 2013

Nominations (Shortlist) announced: 8 November 2013
Awards announced: Savoy Hotel, 17 November 2013

Best actor

CHIWETEL EJIOFOR, A Season in the Congo (Young Vic)
RORY KINNEAR, Othello, National (Olivier)
ADRIAN LESTER, Othello, National (Olivier)

Natasha Richardson award for best actress

LINDA BASSETT, Roots (Donmar Warehouse)
LESLEY MANVILLE, Ghosts (Almeida)
HELEN MIRREN, The Audience (Gielgud)
BILLIE PIPER, The Effect, National (Cottesloe)
KRISTIN SCOTT THOMAS, Old Times (Harold Pinter)

Best play

LUCY KIRKWOOD, Chimerica (Almeida)
NICK DEAR, The Dark Earth and the Light Sky (Almeida)
LUCY PREBBLE, The Effect (National, Cottesloe)

Ned Sherrin award for best musical

THE BOOK OF MORMON (Prince of Wales)
THE LIGHT PRINCESS (National, Lyttlelton)
MERRILY WE ROLL ALONG (Menier Chocolate Factory & Harold Pinter)

Best director

RICHARD EYRE, Ghosts (Almeida)
NICHOLAS HYTNER, Othello (National, Olivier)
RUFUS NORRIS, The Amen Corner (National, Olivier)
LYNDSEY TURNER, Chimerica (Almeida & Harold Pinter)

Best design

BOB CROWLEY, People (National, Lyttelton); The Audience (Gielgud); Once (Phoenix)
ES DEVLIN, Chimerica (Almeida & Harold Pinter)
TIM HATLEY (Design); PETER MUMFORD (Lighting), Ghosts (Almeida)

Charles Wintour award for most promising playwright

RACHEL DE-LAHAY, Routes (Royal Court)
RORY KINNEAR, The Herd (Bush)

Milton Shulman award for outstanding newcomer

CAOILFHIONN DUNNE, The Night Alive (Donmar Warehouse)
SETH NUMRICH, Sweet Bird of Youth (Old Vic)
LUKE THOMPSON, A Midsummer Night’s Dream (Shakespeare’s Globe)
OLIVIA VINALL, Othello (National, Olivier)

Best musical performance

ROSALIE CRAIG, The Light Princess (National, Lyttelton)
CYNTHIA ERIVO, The Color Purple (Menier Chocolate Factory)
CHARLOTTE WAKEFIELD, The Sound of Music (Regent’s Park Open Air Theatre)

👤 📅9 November 2013


Related News
More >

Latest News
More >

Leave a Review or Comment

Comments and reviews are subject to our participation guidelines policy, which can be viewed here. Our policy is for readers to use their REAL NAMES when commenting.