Evening Standard Theatre Awards – Winners 2012

Winners announced: Savoy Hotel, 25 November 2012

Best Play
Constellations, By Nick Payne (Royal Court Upstairs)

Best Director
Nicholas Hytner, Timon of Athens (National’s Olivier)

Best Actor
Simon Russell Beale, Collaborators (National’s Cottesloe)

Natasha Richardson Award for Best Actress
Hattie Morahan, A Doll’s House (Young Vic)

Ned Sherrin Award For Best Musical
Sweeney Todd. Chichester Festival and Adelphi

Best Design
Soutra Gilmour, Inadmissible Evidence (Donmar Warehouse) and Antigone (National’s Olivier)

Charles Wintour Award For Most Promising Playwright
Lolita Chakrabarti, Red Velvet (Tricycle)

Milton Shulman Award For Outstanding Newcomer
Matthew Tennyson, Making Noise Quietly (Donmar Warehouse)

Beyond Theatre Award
Danny Boyle and his creative team, For the Opening Ceremony of the London 2012 Olympics

Lebedev Special Award
Nicholas Hytner, For his dynamic directorship of the National Theatre

Editor’s Award
David Hare, For his contribution to theatre

Burberry Award for Emerging Director
Simon Godwin

Moscow Art Theatre’s Golden Seagull Award
Judi Dench, For her contribution to world theatre



Book tickets to Constellations at the Duke of York’s Theatre


Related News

More >

Latest News

More >

Leave a Review or Comment

Comments and reviews are subject to our participation guidelines policy, which can be viewed here. Our policy is for readers to use their REAL NAMES when commenting.