Cedric Neal wins the Award for Excellence in International Theatre 2023

Actor Cedric Neal has won this year’s Award for Excellence in International Theatre.

Awarded by the International Theatre Institute (ITI), the announcement comes on the eve of World Theatre Day this Monday 27 March 2023, which is an initiative organised by ITI.

Their annual Awards for Theatre and Dance will be held at the Travellers Club on Pall Mall in London. An Award for Excellence in International Dance, and a Trailblazer in Dance and Theatre Award, are also to be announced.

Cedric Neal is currently starring as Nicely Nicely Johnson in the current, hit production of Guys & Dolls at the Bridge Theatre in London, directed by Nicholas Hytner.

The show is a solid five-star hit, with glowing reviews from pretty much all of the UK press.

The show also stars Celinde Schoenmaker, Marisha Wallace, Daniel Mays and Andrew Richardson.

Cedric Neal’s other theatre credits include 42nd Street, Porgy and Bess, Back to the Future, Chess, and Motown the Musical; and screen credits include The Good Guys, Chase, Friday Night Lights, and Lost in London.

Previous winners of the awards have included Vicky Featherstone, Matthew Bourne, Gillian Lynne, the Bridge Theatre’s Nicholas Hytner and Nick Starr, and artistic director Michael Attenborough.

World Theatre Day started in 1961 by the ITI, and takes place on the 27th March every year – which was the opening date of the 1962 “Theatre of Nations” season in Paris.

The ITI was created on the initiative of the first UNESCO Director General, Sir Julian Huxley, and the playwright and novelist JB Priestly, in 1948, with the aim of improving the status of all members of the performing arts professions.

Book tickets to Guys & Dolls at the Bridge Theatre in London

Guys & Dolls

Bridge Theatre, London

Offer: Save up to 47%
Book tickets

📷 Main photo: Cedric Neal

Related News

More >

Latest News

More >

Leave a Review or Comment

Comments and reviews are subject to our participation guidelines policy, which can be viewed here. Our policy is for readers to use their REAL NAMES when commenting.