Wonder Boy, Bristol Old Vic

Writers’ Guild Awards announces shortlist including The House of Shades

The Writers’ Guild of Great Britain has announced the shortlist for its annual awards.

The winners will be announced on 16 January 2023 at the Royal College of Physicians in London, hosted by comedian, writer and actor Rachel Parris.

In the Best Play category, the nominations are Beth Steel’s The House of Shades, which was produced by the Almeida Theatre in May starring Anne-Marie Duff; Waleed Akhtar’s The P Word, which played at the Bush Theatre this Summer; and Ross Willis’ Wonder Boy, produced at the Bristol Old Vic and also streamed.

The Best Play for Young Audiences category features Braids by Olivia Hannah, How to Save the Planet When You’re a Young Carer and Broke by Nessah Muthy, and The It by Vivienne Franzmann

2023 Writers’ Guild Awards – Nominations

Best Play
The House of Shades by Beth Steel
The P Word by Waleed Akhtar
Wonder Boy by Ross Willis

Best Play for Young Audiences
Braids by Olivia Hannah
How to Save the Planet When You’re a Young Carer and Broke by Nessah Muthy
The It by Vivienne Franzmann

Best Long Form TV Drama
Slow Horses, Episode 1, ‘Failure’s Contagious’ by Will Smith
The Responder by Tony Schumacher
This is Going to Hurt by Adam Kay

Best Short Form TV Drama
Floodlights by Matt Greenhalgh
Four Lives by Neil McKay
Then Barbara Met Alan by Jack Thorne and Genevieve Barr

Best Long Running TV Series
Coronation Street, Episode 10642/3 by Damon Alexis-Rochefort
Doctors, Episode 5, ‘Hello?’ by Toby Walton
Doctors, Series 22, Episode 88, ‘One Point Six Percent’ by Claire Bennett

Best TV Situation Comedy
Big Boys by Jack Rooke
Dead Canny by Anna Costello
Derry Girls by Lisa McGee

Best Children’s TV Episode
Dodger, Episode 9, ‘Dosh’ by Rhys Thomas and Lucy Montgomery
The Beaker Girls, Episode 1, ‘The Ice Cream Thief’ by Emma Reeves
Jacqueline Wilson’s Little Darlings, Episode 1, ‘Destiny’ by Nathan Bryon

Best Radio Drama
End of Transmission by Anita Sullivan
Life Rights by Nicholas Meiklejohn
Waterloo Station by Katie Hims

Best Radio Comedy
Conversations From a Long Marriage by Jan Etherington
Raging Enigma by Chris Neill
Whatever Happened to Baby Jane Austen by David Quantick

Best Writing in a Video Game
Citizen Sleeper by Gareth Damian Martin
Immortality by Sam Barlow, Barry Gifford, Amelia Gray & Allan Scott
The Quarry by Will Byles, Alex Farnham & Graham Reznick

Best Screenplay
Ali & Ava by Clio Barnard
Mrs Harris Goes to Paris by Carroll Cartwright, Tony Fabian, Keith Thompson & Olivia Hetreed
Munich – The Edge of War by Ben Power

Best First Screenplay
Passing by Rebecca Hall
Pirates by Reggie Yates
The Duke by Richard Bean and Clive Coleman

Best First Novel
An Olive Grove in Ends by Moses McKenzie
Braver by Deborah Jenkins
The Return of Faraz Ali by Aamina Ahmad

Best Online Comedy
Hostage Negotiation by Kieran Murphy
Mary Shelley Writes Frankenstein by Eleanor Moreton
The Room Next Door – Boris Johnson Resignation Speech by Michael Spicer

📷 Main photo: Raphel Famotibe (Sonny), Ramesh Mayyappan (Captain Chatter)

Related News

More >

Latest News

More >

Leave a Review or Comment

Comments and reviews are subject to our participation guidelines policy, which can be viewed here. Our policy is for readers to use their REAL NAMES when commenting.