Craig Revel Horwood in Annie

Craig Revel Horwood joins cast of Annie 2023 UK and Ireland Tour

The producers of the upcoming UK and Ireland tour of Annie have announced that Craig Revel Horwood is joining the cast, sharing the role of Miss Hannigan with Paul O’Grady.

He will star as Miss Hannigan for the opening date, at Leicester Curve on 25 February 2023, and then in Leicester, Birmingham, Oxford, Dartford, Stoke, Llandudno, Aberdeen, Glasgow, Nottingham, Woking, Cardiff, Bradford, Southend, Bromley and Norwich.

Paul O’Grady, who was previously announced as Miss Hannigan, will play the role in Newcastle, Edinburgh, Southampton, Liverpool, Dublin and Bristol.

Craig Revel Horwood is best known as a judge on all 20 series of BBC1’s Strictly Come Dancing. He is back playing Miss Hannigan after tackling the role in the West End and on tour.

Craig’s other West End Theatre credits include Munkustrap in Cats, Miss Saigon at the Theatre Royal Drury Lane and Harry in Crazy for You at the Prince Edward Theatre. Craig directed and choreographed Strictly Ballroom The Musical, which is currently touring the UK and Ireland, and the 2016/17 tour of Sister Act The Musical as well as the Strictly Come Dancing Live tour. He also choreographed the film Paddington 2.

Set in 1930s New York during The Great Depression, brave young Annie is forced to live a life of misery and torment at Miss Hannigan’s orphanage. Determined to find her real parents, her luck changes when she is chosen to spend Christmas at the residence of famous billionaire, Oliver Warbucks. Spiteful Miss Hannigan has other ideas and hatches a plan to spoil Annie’s search…

The show has an award-winning book and score, and includes well known songs such as ‘It’s the Hard Knock Life’, ‘Easy Street’, ‘I Don’t Need Anything But You’ and ‘Tomorrow’.

Annie has Music by Charles Strouse, Lyrics by Martin Charnin and a Book by Thomas Meehan. It is directed by Curve’s Artistic Director Nikolai Foster with set and costume design by Colin Richmond, choreography by Nick Winston, lighting by Ben Cracknell and sound design by Richard Brooker.

The show is produced by Michael Harrison and David Ian.

Annie UK and Ireland Tour Dates

Saturday 25 February – Saturday 4 March 2023
Leicester Curve Theatre
*Starring Craig Revel Horwood as Miss Hannigan

Tuesday 7 March – Saturday 11 March 2023
Theatre Royal Newcastle
*Starring Paul O’Grady as Miss Hannigan

Tuesday 21 March – Saturday 25 March 2023
Edinburgh Playhouse
*Starring Paul O’Grady as Miss Hannigan

Monday 3 April – Saturday 15 April 2023
Birmingham Alexandra Theatre
*Starring Craig Revel Horwood as Miss Hannigan

Monday 17 April – Saturday 22 April 2023
New Theatre Oxford
*Starring Craig Revel Horwood as Miss Hannigan

Monday 24 April – Saturday 29 April 2023
Southampton, Mayflower Theatre
*Starring Paul O’Grady as Miss Hannigan

Monday 1 May – Saturday 6 May 2023
Dartford Orchard Theatre
*Starring Craig Revel Horwood as Miss Hannigan

Monday 8 May – Saturday 13 May 2023
Stoke-on-Trent, Regent Theatre
*Starring Craig Revel Horwood as Miss Hannigan

Monday 15 May – Saturday 20 May 2023
Llandudno, Venue Cymru
*Starring Craig Revel Horwood as Miss Hannigan

Tuesday 23 May – Saturday 27 May 2023
Aberdeen, His Majesty’s Theatre
*Starring Craig Revel Horwood as Miss Hannigan

Monday 29 May – Saturday 3 June 2023
Glasgow, King’s Theatre
*Starring Craig Revel Horwood as Miss Hannigan

Monday 5 June – Saturday 10 June 2023
Liverpool Empire
*Starring Paul O’Grady as Miss Hannigan

Monday 12 June – Saturday 17 June 2023
Nottingham, Royal Concert Hall
*Starring Craig Revel Horwood as Miss Hannigan

Monday 19 June – Saturday 24 June 2023
Woking, New Victoria Theatre
*Starring Craig Revel Horwood as Miss Hannigan

Monday 3 July – Saturday 8 July 2023
Cardiff, Wales Millennium Centre
*Starring Craig Revel Horwood as Miss Hannigan

Monday 10 July – Monday 15 July 2023
Bradford, Alhambra Theatre
*Starring Craig Revel Horwood as Miss Hannigan

Monday 17 July – Saturday 22 July 2023
Southend Cliffs Pavilion
*Starring Craig Revel Horwood as Miss Hannigan

Monday 24 July – Saturday 29 July 2023
Bromley Churchill Theatre
*Starring Craig Revel Horwood as Miss Hannigan

Monday 31 July – Saturday 5 August 2023
Norwich Theatre Royal
*Starring Craig Revel Horwood as Miss Hannigan

Monday 28 August – Saturday 2 September 2023
Dublin, Bord Gais Energy Theatre
*Starring Paul O’Grady as Miss Hannigan

Monday 20 November – Saturday 25 November 2023
Bristol Hippodrome
*Starring Paul O’Grady as Miss Hannigan

Links:
Annie UK Tour
👤 📅13 October 2022
Tags: , ,

📷 Main photo: Craig Revel Horwood in Annie. Photo by Hugo Glendinning

Related News
More >

Latest News
More >

Leave a Review or Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top