Othello - National Theatre

Othello at the National Theatre reveals final casting

The National Theatre has announced final casting for its forthcoming production of Shakespeare’s Othello.

Clint Dyer, deputy artistic director of the National Theatre, is directing this new production of Shakespeare’s Othello in the Lyttelton theatre.

The play is to star Giles Terera (Death of England: Face to Face) as Othello, with Rosy McEwen (The Alienist) as Desdemona and Paul Hilton (The Inheritance) as Iago.

Other already announced cast include Jack Bardoe (as Roderigo), Rory Fleck Byrne (as Cassio), Kirsty J Curtis (as Bianca), Tanya Franks (as Emilia), Gareth Kennerley (as Montano/Ensemble), Martin Marquez (as Duke of Venice), Amy Newton (as Ensemble), Steffan Rizzi (as Gentleman 3/1st Senator/Ensemble) and Jay Simpson (as Brabantio).

Other cast joining the production now include Jack Bardoe, Rory Fleck Byrne, Kirsty J Curtis, Tanya Franks, Gareth Kennerley, Martin Marquez, Amy Newton, Steffan Rizzi and Jay Simpson.

Alongside Clit Dyer in the creative team is set designer Chloe Lamford, costume designer Michael Vale and lighting designer Jai Morjaria. Music and Sound will be by Pete Malkin and Benjamin Grant, movement director is Lucie Pankhurst and the fight director is Kev McCurdy.

Othello will also be broadcast to cinemas worldwide in 2023 via National Theatre Live.

Othello plays from 23 November 2022 to 21 January 2023 at the National Theatre.

Other shows announced for the National’s Winter season include Kerry Jackson, a new comedy by April De Angelis starring Faye Ripley; and the National’s The Lehman Trilogy is coming back to the West End this January.

Book tickets to Othello at the National Theatre

Sign-up for booking alerts, offers & news about Othello and other shows:

📷 Main photo: Othello - National Theatre

Related News

More >

Latest News

More >

Leave a Review or Comment

Comments and reviews are subject to our participation guidelines policy, which can be viewed here. Our policy is for readers to use their REAL NAMES when commenting.