Tony Awards 2005

Play Winner – Doubt. Author: John Patrick Shanley; Producers:Carole Shorenstein Hays, MTC Productions, Inc., Lynne Meadow, Barry Grove, Roger Berlind, Scott Rudin
Nominees: Democracy. Author: Michael Frayn; Producers: Boyett Ostar Productions, Nederlander Presentations, Inc., Jean Doumanian, Stephanie P. McClelland, Arielle Tepper, Amy Nederlander, Eric Falkenstein, Roy Furman
Gem of the Ocean. Author: August Wilson; Producers: Carole Shorenstein Hays, Jujamcyn Theaters
The Pillowman. Author: Martin McDonagh; Producers: Boyett Ostar Productions, Robert Fox,Arielle Tepper, Stephanie P. McClelland, Debra Black, Dede Harris/Morton Swinsky, Roy Furman/Jon Avnet, Joyce Schweickert, The National Theatre of Great Britain

Musical Winner – Monty Python’s Spamalot. Producers: Boyett Ostar Productions, The Shubert Organization, Arielle Tepper, Stephanie McClelland/Lawrence Horowitz, Elan V. McAllister/Allan S. Gordon, Independent Presenters Network,Roy Furman, GRS Associates, Jam Theatricals, TGA Entertainment, Clear Channel Entertainment
Nominees: Dirty Rotten Scoundrels. Producers: Marty Bell, David Brown, Aldo Scrofani, Roy Furman, Dede Harris, Amanda Lipitz, Greg Smith, Ruth Hendel,Chase Mishkin, Barry and Susan Tatelman, Debra Black, Sharon Karmazin, Joyce Schweickert, Bernie Abrams/Michael Speyer, Barbara Whitman, Weissberger Theater Group/Jay Harris, Cheryl Wiesenfeld/Jean Cheever, Clear Channel Entertainment, Harvey Weinstein, MGM on Stage/Darcie Denkert and Dean Stolber
The Light in the Piazza. Producers: Lincoln Center Theater, Andre Bishop, Bernard Gersten
The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee. Producers: David Stone, James L. Nederlander, Barbara Whitman, Patrick Catullo, Barrington Stage Company, Second Stage Theatre

Book of a Musical Winner – Rachel Sheinkin, The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee
Nominees: Jeffrey Lane, Dirty Rotten Scoundrels
Craig Lucas, The Light in the Piazza
Eric Idle, Monty Python’s Spamalot

Score (Music and/or Lyrics) Winner – Adam Guettel, The Light in the Piazza
Nominees: David Yazbek, Dirty Rotten Scoundrels
John Du Prez and Eric Idle, Monty Python’s Spamalot
William Finn, The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee

Revival (Play) Winner – Glengarry Glen Ross. Producers: Jeffrey Richards,Jerry Frankel, Jam Theatricals, Boyett Ostar Productions, Ronald Frankel, Philip Lacerte, Stephanie P. McClelland/CJM Productions, Barry Weisbord, Zendog Productions, Herbert Goldsmith Productions, Roundabout Theatre Company, Todd Haimes, Ellen Richard, Julia C. Levy
Nominees: Edward Albee’s Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf?. Producers: Elizabeth Ireland McCann, Daryl Roth,Terry Allen Kramer, Scott Rudin, Roger Berlind, James L. Nederlander, Nick Simunek, Joey Parnes
On Golden Pond. Producers: Jeffrey Finn, Arlene Scanlan, Stuart Thompson
Twelve Angry Men. Producers: Roundabout Theatre Company, Todd Haimes, Ellen Richard, Julia C. Levy

Revival (Musical) Winner – La Cage aux Folles. Producers: James L. Nederlander, Clear Channel Entertainment, Kenneth Greenblatt, Terry Allen Kramer, Martin Richards
Nominees: Pacific Overtures. Producers: Roundabout Theatre Company, Todd Haimes, Ellen Richard, Julia C. Levy, Gorgeous Entertainment
Sweet Charity. Producers: Barry and Fran Weissler, Clear Channel Entertainment, Edwin W. Schloss

Special Theatrical Event Winner – Billy Crystal 700 Sundays. Producers: Janice Crystal, Larry Magid, Face Productions
Nominees: Dame Edna: Back with a Vengeance!. Producers: Creative Battery, Harley Medcalf and Boxjellyfish LLC
Laugh Whore. Producers: Showtime Networks
Whoopi the 20th Anniversary Show. Producers:Mike Nichols, Hal Luftig, Leonard Soloway, Steven M. Levy, Tom Leonardis, Eric Falkenstein, Amy Nederlander

Actor (Play) Winner – Bill Irwin, Edward Albee’s Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf?
Nominees: Philip Bosco, Twelve Angry Men
Billy Crudup, The Pillowman
James Earl Jones, On Golden Pond
Br�an F. O’Byrne, Doubt

Actress (Play) Winner – Cherry Jones, Doubt
Nominees: Laura Linney, Sight Unseen
Mary-Louise Parker, Reckless
Phylicia Rashad, Gem of the Ocean
Kathleen Turner, Edward Albee’s Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf?

Actor (Musical) Winner – Norbert Leo Butz, Dirty Rotten Scoundrels
Nominees: Hank Azaria, Monty Python’s Spamalot
Gary Beach, La Cage aux Folles
Tim Curry, Monty Python’s Spamalot
John Lithgow, Dirty Rotten Scoundrels

Actress (Musical) Winner – Victoria Clark, The Light in the Piazza
Nominees: Christina Applegate, Sweet Charity
Erin Dilly, Chitty Chitty Bang Bang
Sutton Foster, Little Women
Sherie Rene Scott, Dirty Rotten Scoundrels

Actor (Featured Role–Play) Winner – Liev Schreiber, Glengarry Glen Ross
Nominees: Alan Alda, Glengarry Glen Ross
Gordon Clapp, Glengarry Glen Ross
David Harbour, Edward Albee’s Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf?
Michael Stuhlbarg, The Pillowman

Actress (Featured Role–Play) Winner – Adriane Lenox, Doubt
Nominees: Mireille Enos, Edward Albee’s Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf?
Heather Goldenhersh, Doubt
Dana Ivey, The Rivals
Amy Ryan, A Streetcar Named Desire

Actor (Featured Role–Musical) Winner – Dan Fogler, The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee
Nominees: Marc Kudisch, Chitty Chitty Bang Bang
Michael McGrath, Monty Python’s Spamalot
Matthew Morrison, The Light in the Piazza
Christopher Sieber, Monty Python’s Spamalot

Actress (Featured Role–Musical) Winner – Sara Ramirez, Monty Python’s Spamalot
Nominees: Joanna Gleason, Dirty Rotten Scoundrels
Celia Keenan-Bolger, The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee
Jan Maxwell, Chitty Chitty Bang Bang
Kelli O’Hara, The Light in the Piazza

Scenic Design (Play) Winner – Scott Pask, The Pillowman
Nominees: John Lee Beatty, Doubt
David Gallo, Gem of the Ocean
Santo Loquasto, Glengarry Glen Ross

Scenic Design (Musical) Winner – Michael Yeargan, The Light in the Piazza
Nominees: Tim Hatley, Monty Python’s Spamalot
Rumi Matsui, Pacific Overtures
Anthony Ward, Chitty Chitty Bang Bang

Costume Design (Play) Winner – Jess Goldstein, The Rivals
Nominees: Jane Greenwood, Edward Albee’s Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf?
William Ivey Long, A Streetcar Named Desire
Constanza Romero, Gem of the Ocean

Costume Design (Musical) Winner – Catherine Zuber, The Light in the Piazza
Nominees: Tim Hatley, Monty Python’s Spamalot
Junko Koshino, Pacific Overtures
William Ivey Long, La Cage aux Folles

Lighting Design (Play) Winner – Brian MacDevitt, The Pillowman
Nominees: Pat Collins, Doubt
Donald Holder, Gem of the Ocean
Donald Holder, A Streetcar Named Desire

Lighting Design (Musical) Winner – Christopher Akerlind, The Light in the Piazza
Nominees: Mark Henderson, Chitty Chitty Bang Bang
Kenneth Posner, Dirty Rotten Scoundrels
Hugh Vanstone, Monty Python’s Spamalot

Director (Play) Winner – Doug Hughes, Doubt
Nominees: John Crowley, The Pillowman
Scott Ellis, Twelve Angry Men
Joe Mantello, Glengarry Glen Ross

Director (Musical) Winner – Mike Nichols, Monty Python’s Spamalot
Nominees: James Lapine, The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee
Jack O’Brien, Dirty Rotten Scoundrels
Bartlett Sher, The Light in the Piazza

Choreographer Winner – Jerry Mitchell, La Cage aux Folles
Nominees: Wayne Cilento, Sweet Charity
Jerry Mitchell, Dirty Rotten Scoundrels
Casey Nicholaw, Monty Python’s Spamalot

Orchestrations Winner – Ted Sperling, Adam Guettel and Bruce Coughlin, The Light in the Piazza
Nominees: Larry Hochman, Monty Python’s Spamalot
Jonathan Tunick, Pacific Overtures
Harold Wheeler, Dirty Rotten Scoundrels

Regional Theatre Award Winner – Theatre de la Jeune Lune

Special Tony Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Theatre Winner – Edward Albee

Tony Honors for Excellence in the Theatre Winner – Peter Neufeld

Tony Honors for Excellence in the Theatre Winner – Theatre Communications Group

👤 📅1 January 2009
Tags: ,

Related News
More >

Latest News
More >

Leave a Review or Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top