Tony Awards 2004

Choreographer Winner – Kathleen Marshall, Wonderful Town
Nominees: Wayne Cilento, Wicked
Jerry Mitchell, Never Gonna Dance
Anthony Van Laast and Farah Khan, Bombay Dreams

Actor (Featured Role–Musical) Winner – Michael Cerveris, Assassins
Nominees: John Cariani, Fiddler on the Roof
Raul Esparza, Taboo
Michael McElroy, Big River
Denis O’Hare, Assassins

Actor (Featured Role–Play) Winner – Br�an F. O’Byrne, Frozen
Nominees: Tom Aldredge, Twentieth Century
Ben Chaplin, The Retreat from Moscow
Aidan Gillen, The Caretaker
Omar Metwally, Sixteen Wounded

Actor (Musical) Winner – Hugh Jackman, The Boy from Oz
Nominees: Hunter Foster, Little Shop of Horrors
Alfred Molina, Fiddler on the Roof
Euan Morton, Taboo
John Tartaglia, Avenue Q

Actor (Play) Winner – Jefferson Mays, I Am My Own Wife
Nominees: Simon Russell Beale, Jumpers
Kevin Kline, Henry IV
Frank Langella, Match
Christopher Plummer, King Lear

Actress (Featured Role–Musical) Winner – Anika Noni Rose, Caroline, or Change
Nominees: Beth Fowler, The Boy from Oz
Isabel Keating, The Boy from Oz
Jennifer Westfeldt, Wonderful Town
Karen Ziemba, Never Gonna Dance

Actress (Featured Role–Play) Winner – Audra McDonald, A Raisin in the Sun
Nominees: Essie Davis, Jumpers
Sanaa Lathan, A Raisin in the Sun
Margo Martindale, Cat on a Hot Tin Roof
Daphne Rubin-Vega, Anna in the Topics

Actress (Musical) Winner – Idina Menzel, Wicked
Nominees: Kristin Chenoweth, Wicked
Stephanie D’Abruzzo, Avenue Q
Donna Murphy, Wonderful Town
Tonya Pinkins, Caroline, or Change

Actress (Play) Winner – Phylicia Rashad, A Raisin in the Sun
Nominees: Eileen Atkins, The Retreat from Moscow
Tovah Feldshuh, Golda’s Balcony
Anne Heche, Twentieth Century
Swoosie Kurtz, Frozen

Book of a Musical Winner – Jeff Whitty, Avenue Q
Nominees: Tony Kushner, Caroline, or Change
Martin Sherman/Nick Enright, The Boy from Oz
Winnie Holzman, Wicked

Costume Designer Winner – Susan Hilferty, Wicked
Nominees: Jess Goldstein, Henry IV
Mike Nicholls and Bobby Pearce, Taboo
Mark Thompson, Bombay Dreams

Director (Musical) Winner – Joe Mantello, Assassins
Nominees: Kathleen Marshall, Wonderful Town
Jason Moore, Avenue Q
George C. Wolfe, Caroline, or Change

Director (Play) Winner – Jack O’Brien, Henry IV
Nominees: Doug Hughes, Frozen
Moises Kaufman, I Am My Own Wife
David Leveaux, Jumpers

Lighting Designer Winner – Jules Fisher and Peggy Eisenhauer, Assassins
Nominees: Brian MacDevitt, Fiddler on the Roof
Brian MacDevitt, Henry IV
Kenneth Posner, Wicked

Musical Winner – Avenue Q. Producers: Kevin McCollum, Robyn Goodman, Jeffrey Seller, Vineyard Theatre, The New Group
Nominees: Caroline, or Change. Producers: Carole Shorenstein Hays, HBO Films, Jujamcyn Theaters, Freddy DeMann, Scott Rudin, Hendel/Morten/Wiesenfeld, Fox Theatricals/Manocherian/Berg�re, Roger Berlind, Clear Channel Entertainment, Joan Cullman, Greg Holland/Scott Nederlander, Margo Lion, Daryl Roth, Zollo/Sine, The Public Theater
The Boy from Oz. Producers: Ben Gannon,Robert Fox
Wicked. Producers: Marc Platt, Universal Pictures, The Araca Group, Jon B. Platt, David Stone

Orchestrations Winner – Michael Starobin, Assassins
Nominees: Paul Bogaev, Bombay Dreams
William David Brohn, Wicked
Larry Hochman, Fiddler on the Roof

Score (Music and/or Lyrics) Winner – Robert Lopez and Jeff Marx, Avenue Q
Nominees: Jeanine Tesori and Tony Kushner, Caroline, or Change
Boy George, Taboo
Stephen Schwartz,

Play Winner – I Am My Own Wife. Author: Doug Wright; Producers: Delphi Productions, Playwrights Horizons
Nominees: I Am My Own Wife. Author: Doug Wright; Producers: Delphi Productions, Playwrights Horizons
Anna in the Tropics. Author: Nilo Cruz; Producers:Roger Berlind, Daryl Roth, Ray Larsen, Robert G. Bartner, The McCarter Theatre Center
Frozen. Author: Bryony Lavery; Producers: MCC Theater, Robert LuPone, Bernard Telsey, William Cantler, John G. Schultz, Hal Newman, Zollo/Paleologos and Jeffrey Sine, Roy Gabay, Lorie Cowen Levy and Beth Smith, Peggy Hill, Thompson H. Rogers, Swinsky/Filerman/Hendel, Sirkin/Mills/Baldassare, Darren Bagert
The Retreat from Moscow. Author: William Nicholson; Producers: Susan Quint Gallin, Stuart Thompson, Ron Kastner, True Love Productions, Mary Lu Roffe, Jam Theatricals

Regional Theatre Award Winner – Cincinnati Playhouse in the Park

Revival (Musical) Winner – Assassins. Producers: Roundabout Theatre Company, Todd Haimes, Ellen Richard, Julia C. Levy
Nominees: Big River. Producers: Roundabout Theatre Company, Todd Haimes, Ellen Richard, Julia C. Levy, Deaf West Theatre, Ed Waterstreet, Bill O’Brien, Center Theatre Group/Mark Taper Forum
Fiddler on the Roof. Producers: James L. Nederlander, Stewart F. Lane/Bonnie Comley, Harbor Entertainment, Terry Allen Kramer, Bob Boyett/Lawrence Horowitz, Clear Channel Entertainment
Wonderful Town. Producers: Roger Berlind, Barry and Fran Weissler, Edwin W. Schloss, Allen Spivak, Clear Channel Entertainment, Harvey Weinstein

Revival (Play) Winner – Henry IV. Producers: Lincoln Center Theater, Andre Bishop, Bernard Gersten
Nominees: Jumpers. Producers: Boyett Ostar Productions, Nederlander Presentations Inc., Freddy DeMann, Jean Doumanian, Stephanie McClelland, Arielle Tepper, The National Theatre of Great Britain
King Lear. Producers: Lincoln Center Theater,Andre Bishop, Bernard Gersten, Stratford Festival of Canada
A Raisin in the Sun. Producers: David Binder, Vivek J. Tiwary, Susan Batson, Carl Rumbaugh, Ruth Hendel, Arielle Tepper, Jayne Baron Sherman, Dede Harris, Barbara Whitman, Cynthia Stroum

Scenic Designer Winner – Eugene Lee, Wicked
Nominees: Robert Brill, Assassins
Ralph Funicello, Henry IV
Tom Pye, Fiddler on the Roof

Special Tony Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Theatre Winner – James M. Nederlander

Tony Honors for Excellence in the Theatre Winner – The cast of the 2003 Broadway production of Big River

Tony Honors for Excellence in the Theatre Winner – Nancy Coyne

Tony Honors for Excellence in the Theatre Winner – Frances & Harry Edelstein and Vincent Sardi, Jr.

Tony Honors for Excellence in the Theatre Winner – Martha Swope

👤 📅1 January 2009
Tags: ,

Related News
More >

Latest News
More >

Leave a Review or Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top