Tony Awards 2003

Actor (Play) Winner – Brian Dennehy, Long Day’s Journey into Night
Nominees: Brian Bedford, Tartuffe
Eddie Izzard, A Day in the Death of Joe Egg
Paul Newman, Our Town
Stanley Tucci, Frankie and Johnny in the Clair de Lune

Actress (Play) Winner – Vanessa Redgrave, Long Day’s Journey into Night
Nominees: Jayne Atkinson, Enchanted April
Victoria Hamilton, A Day in the Death of Joe Egg
Clare Higgins, Vincent in Brixton
Fiona Shaw, Medea

Actor (Featured Role–Play) Winner – Denis O’Hare, Take Me Out
Nominees: Thomas Jefferson Byrd, Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom
Philip Seymour Hoffman, Long Day’s Journey into Night
Robert Sean Leonard, Long Day’s Journey into Night
Daniel Sunjata, Take Me Out

Actress (Featured Role–Play) Winner – Michele Pawk, Hollywood Arms
Nominees: Christine Ebersole, Dinner at Eight
Linda Emond, Life (x) 3
Kathryn Meisle, Tartuffe
Marian Seldes, Dinner at Eight

Actor (Musical) Winner – Harvey Fierstein, Hairspray
Nominees: Antonio Banderas, Nine The Musical
Malcom Gets, Amour
Brian Stokes Mitchell, Man of La Mancha
John Selya, Movin’ Out

Actress (Musical) Winner – Marissa Jaret Winokur, Hairspray
Nominees: Melissa Errico, Amour
Mary Elizabeth Mastrantonio, Man of La Mancha
Elizabeth Parkinson, Movin’ Out
Bernadette Peters, Gypsy

Actor (Featured Role–Musical) Winner – Dick Latessa, Hairspray
Nominees: Michael Cavanaugh, Movin’ Out
John Dossett, Gypsy
Corey Reynolds, Hairspray
Keith Roberts, Movin’ Out

Actress (Featured Role–Musical) Winner – Jane Krakowski, Nine The Musical
Nominees: Tammy Blanchard, Gypsy
Mary Stuart Masterson, Nine The Musical
Chita Rivera, Nine The Musical
Ashley Tuttle, Movin’ Out

Play Winner – Take Me Out by Richard Greenberg. Producers:Carole Shorenstein Hays, Frederick DeMann, The Donmar Warehouse and The Public Theater
Nominees: Enchanted April by Matthew Barber. Producers: Jeffrey Richards, Richard Gross/Ellen Berman/Les Goldman, Raymond J. & Pearl Berman Greenwald, Irving Welzer, Tonia Walker Davidson, Libby Adler Mages/Mari Glick, Howard R. Berlin, Jerry Frankel, Terry E. Schnuck, Frederic B. Vogel, Dori Berinstein/Barrie & Jim Loeks/Dramatic Forces
Say Goodnight Gracie by Rupert Holmes. Producers: William Franzblau, Jay H. Harris, Louise Westergaard, Larry Spellman, Elsa Daspin Haft, Judith Resnick, Anne Gallagher,Libby Adler Mages/Mari Glick, Martha R. Gasparian, Bruce Lazarus, Lawrence S. Toppall, Jae French
Vincent in Brixton by Nicholas Wright. Producers: Lincoln Center Theater, Andre Bishop, Bernard Gersten, The Royal National Theatre, Ambassador Theatre Group Ltd., Maidstone Productions, Robert Fox Ltd., Elliott F. Kulick, Incidental Coleman Tod, The Shubert Organization

Director (Play) Winner – Joe Mantello, Take Me Out
Nominees: Laurence Boswell, A Day in the Death of Joe Egg
Robert Falls, Long Day’s Journey into Night
Deborah Warner, Medea

Musical Winner – Hairspray, Producers: Margo Lion, Adam Epstein, The Baruch-Viertel-Routh-Frankel Group, James D. Stern/Douglas L. Meyer, Rick Steiner/Frederic H. Mayerson, SEL & GFO, New Line Cinema, Clear Channel Entertainment, A. Gordon/E. McAllister, D. Harris/M. Swinsky, J. & B. Osher
Nominees: Amour, Producers: The Shubert Organization, Jean Doumanian Productions, Inc., USA Ostar Theatricals
A Year with Frog and Toad, Producers: Bob Boyett, Adrianne Lobel, Michael Gardner,Lawrence Horowitz, Roy Furman, Scott E. Nederlander, The Children’s Theatre Company
Movin’ Out, Producers: James L. Nederlander,Hal Luftig, Scott E. Nederlander, Terry Allen Kramer, Clear Channel Entertainment, Emanuel Azenberg

Director (Musical) Winner – Jack O’Brien, Hairspray
Nominees: David Leveaux, Nine The Musical
Baz Luhrmann, La Boheme
Twyla Tharp, Movin’ Out

Book (Musical) Winner – Mark O’Donnell & Thomas Meehan (Hairspray)
Nominees: Didier van Cauwelaert & Jeremy Sams (Amour)
Willie Reale (A Year with Frog and Toad)
David Henry Hwang (Flower Drum Song)

Original Musical Score Winner – Hairspray Music by Marc Shaiman and lyrics by Scott Wittman and Marc Shaiman
Nominees: A Year with Frog and Toad Music by Robert Reale and lyrics by Willie Reale
Amour Music by Michel Legrand and lyrics by Didier van Cauwelaert, English Adaptation by Jeremy Sams
Urban Cowboy The Musical Music and lyrics by Jeff Blumenkrantz, Bob Stillman, Jason Robert Brown, Danny Arena, Sara Light, Lauren Lucas, Jerry Silverstein, Martie Maguire, Wayland D. Holyfield, Bob Lee House, Carl L. Byrd, Pevin Byrd-Munoz, Luke Reed, Roger Brown, Jerry Chestnut, Marcus Hummon, Clint Black, James Hayden Nicholas, Tommy Conners, Skip Ewing, Charles Daniels, Tom Crain, Fred Edwards, Taz DiGregorio, Jim Marshall, Charlie Hayward, Wanda Mallette, Patti Ryan, Ronnie Dunn and Bob Morrison

Orchestrations Winner – Billy Joel & Stuart Malina (Movin’ Out)
Nominees: Nicholas Kitsopoulos (La Boheme)
Jonathan Tunick (Nine The Musical)
Harold Wheeler (Hairspray)

Scenic Designer Winner – Catherine Martin, La Boheme
Nominees: John Lee Beatty, Dinner at Eight
Santo Loquasto, Long Day’s Journey into Night
David Rockwell, Hairspray

Costume Designer Winner – William Ivey Long, Hairspray
Nominees: Gregg Barnes, Flower Drum Song
Catherine Martin & Angus Strathie, La Boheme
Catherine Zuber, Dinner at Eight

Lighting Designer Winner – Nigel Levings, La Boeme
Nominees: Donald Holder, Movin’ Out
Brian MacDevitt, Nine The Musical
Kenneth Posner, Hairspray

Choreographer Winner – Twyla Tharp, Movin’ Out
Nominees: Robert Longbottom, Flower Drum Song
Jerry Mitchell, Hairspray
Melinda Roy, Urban Cowboy The Musical

Revival (Play) Winner – Long Day’s Journey into Night, Producers: David Richenthal, Max Cooper, Eric Falkenstein, Anthony and Charlene Marshall, Darren Bagert, Kara Medoff, Lisa Vioni, Gene Korf
Nominees: A Day in the Death of Joe Egg, Producers: Roundabout Theatre Company, Todd Haimes,Ellen Richard, Julia C. Levy, Sonia Friedman Productions
Dinner at Eight, Producers: Lincoln Center Theater, Andre Bishop, Bernard Gersten
Frankie and Johnny in the Clair de Lune, Producers: The Araca Group, Jean Doumanian Productions, USA Ostar Theatricals, Jam Theatricals, Ray and Kit Sawyer

Revival (Musical) Winner – Nine The Musical, Producers: Roundabout Theatre Company, Todd Haimes, Ellen Richard, Julia C. Levy
Nominees: Gypsy, Producers: Robert Fox, Ron Kastner, Roger Marino, Michael Watt, Harvey Weinstein, WWLC
La Boheme, Producers: Jeffrey Seller, Kevin McCollum, Emanuel Azenberg, Bazmark Live,Bob and Harvey Weinstein, Korea Pictures/Doyun Seol, J. Sine/I. Pittelman/S. Nederlander, Fox Searchlight Pictures
Man of La Mancha, Producers: David Stone, Jon B. Platt, Susan Quint Gallin, Sandy Gallin, Seth M. Siegel, USA Ostar Theatricals, Mary Lu Roffe

Special Theatrical Event Winner – Russell Simmons’ Def Poetry Jam on Broadway, Producers: Russell Simmons, Stan Lathan, Jonathan Reinis, Richard Martini, Larry Magid, Allen Spivak, Kimora Lee Simmons, Jeffrey Chartier, Stacy Carter, Island Def Jam Music Group
Nominees: Bill Maher: Victory Begins at Home, Producers:Eric Krebs, Jonathan Reinis, CTM Productions, Anne Strickland Squadron, Michael Viner, David and Adam Friedson, Allen Spivak/Larry Magid, M. Kilburg Reedy
The Play What I Wrote, Producers: David Pugh,Joan Cullman, Mike Nichols, Hamilton South, Charles Whitehead, Stuart Thompson
Prune Danish, Producers: Jyll Rosenfeld, Jon Stoll

Regional Theatre Award Winner – The Children’s Theatre Company

Special Lifetime Achievement Tony Award Winner – Cy Feuer

Tony Honors for Excellence in the Theatre Winner – The principal ensemble of La Boheme

Tony Honors for Excellence in the Theatre Winner – Paul Huntley

Tony Honors for Excellence in the Theatre Winner – Johnson-Liff Casting Associates

Tony Honors for Excellence in the Theatre Winner – The Acting Company

👤 📅1 January 2009
Tags: ,

📷 Main photo: TONY AWARDS 2003

Related News
More >

Latest News
More >

Leave a Review or Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *