Tony Awards 2002

Actor (Featured Role–Musical) Winner – Shuler Hensley, Oklahoma!
Nominees: Brian d’Arcy James, Sweet Smell of Success
Gregg Edelman, Into the Woods
Marc Kudisch, Thoroughly Modern Millie
Norbert Leo Butz, Thou Shalt Not

Actor (Featured Role–Play) Winner – Frank Langella, Fortune’s Fool
Nominees: Brian Murray, The Crucible
William Biff McGuire, Morning’s at Seven
Sam Robards, The Man Who Had All the Luck
Stephen Tobolowsky, Morning’s at Seven

Actor (Musical) Winner – John Lithgow, Sweet Smell of Success
Nominees: Gavin Creel, Thoroughly Modern Millie
John McMartin, Into the Woods
Patrick Wilson, Oklahoma!
John Cullum, Urinetown The Musical

Actor (Play) Winner – Alan Bates, Fortune’s Fool
Nominees: Billy Crudup, The Elephant Man
Liam Neeson, The Crucible
Alan Rickman, Private Lives
Jeffrey Wright, Topdog/Underdog

Actress (Featured Role–Musical) Winner – Harriet Harris, Thoroughly Modern Millie
Nominees: Andrea Martin, Oklahoma!
Judy Kaye, Mamma Mia!
Laura Benanti, Into the Woods
Spencer Kayden, Urinetown The Musical

Actress (Featured Role–Play) Winner – Katie Finneran, Noises Off
Nominees: Kate Burton, The Elephant Man
Elizabeth Franz, Morning’s at Seven
Estelle Parsons, Morning’s at Seven
Frances Sternhagen, Morning’s at Seven

Actress (Musical) Winner – Sutton Foster, Thoroughly Modern Millie
Nominees: Louise Pitre, Mamma Mia!
Vanessa Williams, Into the Woods
Nancy Opel, Urinetown The Musical
Jennifer Laura Thompson, Urinetown The Musical

Actress (Play) Winner – Lindsay Duncan, Private Lives
Nominees: Kate Burton, Hedda Gabler
Laura Linney, The Crucible
Helen Mirren, Dance of Death
Mercedes Ruehl, Edward Albee’s The Goat or Who Is Sylvia?

Book (Musical) Winner – Greg Kotis (Urinetown The Musical)
Nominees: Catherine Johnson (Mamma Mia!)
John Guare (Sweet Smell of Success)
Richard Morris and Dick Scanlan (Thoroughly Modern Millie)

Choreographer Winner – Rob Ashford, Thoroughly Modern Millie
Nominees: John Carrafa, Into the Woods
John Carrafa, Urinetown The Musical
Susan Stroman, Oklahoma!

Costume Designer Winner – Martin Pakledinaz, Thoroughly Modern Millie
Nominees: Jenny Beavan, Private Lives
Susan Hilferty, Into the Woods
Jane Greenwood, Morning’s at Seven

Director (Musical) Winner – John Rando, Urinetown The Musical
Nominees: James Lapine, Into the Woods
Michael Mayer, Thoroughly Modern Millie
Trevor Nunn, Oklahoma!

Director (Play) Winner – Mary Zimmerman, Metamorphoses
Nominees: Howard Davies, Private Lives
Richard Eyre, The Crucible
Daniel Sullivan, Morning’s at Seven

Lighting Designer Winner – Brian MacDevitt, Into the Woods
Nominees: David Hersey, Oklahoma!
Natasha Katz, Sweet Smell of Success
Paul Gallo, The Crucible

Musical Winner – Thoroughly Modern Millie, Producers: Michael Leavitt, Fox Theatricals, Hal Luftig, Stewart F. Lane, James L. Nederlander, Independent Presenters Network, L. Mages/M. Glick, Berinstein/Manocherian/Dramatic Forces, John York Noble, Whoopi Goldberg
Nominees: Mamma Mia!, Producers: Judy Craymer, Richard East and Bjorn Ulvaeus for Littlestar, Universal
Sweet Smell of Success, Producers: Clear Channel Entertainment, David Brown, Ernest Lehman, Marty Bell, Martin Richards, Roy Furman, Joan Cullman, Bob Boyett, East of Doheny, Bob and Harvey Weinstein
Urinetown The Musical, Producers: The Araca Group and Dodger Theatricals, TheaterDreams, Inc., Lauren Mitchell

Orchestrations Winner – Doug Besterman & Ralph Burns (Thoroughly Modern Millie)
Nominees: Benny Andersson, Bjorn Ulvaeus & Martin Koch (Mamma Mia!)
William David Brohn (Sweet Smell of Success)
Bruce Coughlin (Urinetown The Musical)

Original Musical Score Winner – Urinetown The Musical Music by Mark Hollmann and lyrics by Mark Hollmann & Greg Kotis
Nominees: Sweet Smell of Success Music by Marvin Hamlisch and lyrics by Craig Carnelia
Thoroughly Modern Millie Music by Jeanine Tesori and lyrics by Dick Scanlan
Thou Shalt Not Music and lyrics by Harry Connick, Jr.

Play Winner – Edward Albee’s The Goat or Who Is Sylvia? byEdward Albee. Producers: Elizabeth Ireland McCann, Daryl Roth, Carole Shorenstein Hays, Terry Allen Kramer, Scott Rudin, Bob Boyett, Scott Nederlander, Sine/ZPI
Nominees: Fortune’s Fool adapted by: Mike Poulton. Producers: Julian Schlossberg, Roy Furman, Ben Sprecher, Ted Tulchin, Aaron Levy, Peter May,Bob Boyett, James Fantaci
Metamorphoses by Mary Zimmerman. Producers:Roy Gabay, Robyn Goodman, Allan S. Gordon, Elan V. McAllister, D. Harris/M. Swinsky, Ruth Hendel, Sharon Karmazin, R.L. Wreghitt/J. Bergere, Second Stage Theatre, Carole Rothman, Carol Fishman
Topdog/Underdog by Suzan-Lori Parks. Producers: Carole Shorenstein Hays, Waxman Williams Entertainment, Bob Boyett, Freddy De Mann, Susan Dietz/Ina Meibach, Scott E. Nederlander, Ira Pittelman, Hits Magazine, Kelpie Arts, Rick Steiner/Frederic H. Mayerson, The Public Theater/New York Shakespeare Festival

Regional Theatre Award Winner – Williamstown Theatre Festival

Revival (Musical) Winner – Into the Woods, Producers: Dodger Theatricals,Stage Holding/Joop van den Ende and TheatreDreams
Nominees: Oklahoma!, Producers: Cameron Mackintosh, The Royal National Theatre

Revival (Play) Winner – Private Lives, Producers: Emanuel Azenberg, Ira Pittelman, Scott Nederlander, Frederick Zollo, Nicholas Paleologos, Broccoli/Sine, James Nederlander, Kevin McCollum, Jeffrey Seller, Duncan C. Weldon and Paul Elliott for Triumph Entertainment Partners Ltd.
Nominees: The Crucible, Producers: David Richenthal, Manocherian/Leve/Boyett, Max Cooper, Allan S. Gordon, Roy Furman, Us Productions, Elan V. McAllister, Adam Epstein, Margo Lion, Dede Harris/Morton Swinsky, Clear Channel Entertainment, Old Ivy Productions, Jujamcyn Theaters, Jeffrey Ash, Berinstein/Selig, Golden/Skipper, Gene Korf, Robert Cole, Roundabout Theatre Company
Morning’s at Seven, Producers: Lincoln Center Theater, Andre Bishop, Bernard Gersten
Noises Off, Producers: Ambassador Theatre Group and Act Productions, Waxman Williams Entertainment, D. Harris/M. Swinsky, USA Ostar Theatricals and Nederlander Presentations, Inc., The Royal National Theatre

Scenic Designer Winner – Tim Hatley, Private Lives
Nominees: Daniel Ostling, Metamorphoses
Douglas W. Schmidt, Into the Woods
John Lee Beatty, Morning’s at Seven

Special Lifetime Achievement Tony Award Winner – Robert Whitehead

Special Lifetime Achievement Tony Award Winner – Julie Harris

Special Theatrical Event Winner – Elaine Stritch at Liberty, Producers: John Schreiber, Creative Battery, Margo Lion, Robert Cole, Dede Harris/Mort Swinsky, Cheryl Wiesenfeld, The Public Theater/New York Shakespeare Festival
Nominees: Bea Arthur on Broadway, Just Between Friends, Producers: Daryl Roth, M. Beverly Bartner, USA Ostar Theatricals
Barbara Cook in Mostly Sondheim, Producers: Lincoln Center Theater, Andre Bishop, Bernard Gersten
Sexaholix…a love story, Producer: Tate Entertainment Group, Inc.

👤 📅1 January 2009
Tags: ,

Related News
More >

Latest News
More >

Leave a Review or Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top