Tony Awards 2001

Actor (Featured Role–Musical) Winner – Gary Beach (The Producers, the new Mel Brooksmusical)
Nominees: Roger Bart (The Producers, the new Mel Brooksmusical)
John Ellison Conlee (The Full Monty)
Andr� De Shields (The Full Monty)
Brad Oscar (The Producers, the new Mel Brooksmusical)

Actor (Featured Role–Play) Winner – Robert Sean Leonard (The Invention of Love)
Nominees: Charles Brown (King Hedley II)
Larry Bryggman (Proof)
Michael Hayden (Judgment at Nuremberg)
Ben Shenkman (Proof)

Actor (Musical) Winner – Nathan Lane (The Producers, the new Mel Brooksmusical)
Nominees: Matthew Broderick (The Producers, the new Mel Brooks musical)
Kevin Chamberlin (Seussical)
Tom Hewitt (The Rocky Horror Show)
Patrick Wilson (The Full Monty)

Actor (Play) Winner – Richard Easton (The Invention of Love)
Nominees: Sean Campion (Stones in His Pockets)
Conleth Hill (Stones in His Pockets)
Brian Stokes Mitchell (King Hedley II)
Gary Sinise (One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest)

Actress (Featured Role–Musical) Winner – Cady Huffman (The Producers, the new Mel Brooksmusical)
Nominees: Polly Bergen (Follies)
Kathleen Freeman (The Full Monty)
Kate Levering (42nd Street)
Mary Testa (42nd Street)

Actress (Featured Role–Play) Winner – Viola Davis (King Hedley II)
Nominees: Johanna Day (Proof)
Penny Fuller (Neil Simon’s The Dinner Party)
Marthe Keller (Judgment at Nuremberg)
Michele Lee (The Tale of the Allergist’s Wife)

Actress (Musical) Winner – Christine Ebersole (42nd Street)
Nominees: Blythe Danner (Follies)
Randy Graff (A Class Act)
Faith Prince (Bells Are Ringing)
Marla Schaffel (Jane Eyre)

Actress (Play) Winner – Mary-Louise Parker (Proof)
Nominees: Juliette Binoche (Betrayal)
Linda Lavin (The Tale of the Allergist’s Wife)
Jean Smart (The Man Who Came to Dinner)
Leslie Uggams (King Hedley II)

Book (Musical) Winner – Mel Brooks and Thomas Meehan (The Producers, the new Mel Brooks musical)
Nominees: Linda Kline and Lonny Price (A Class Act)
Terrence McNally (The Full Monty)
John Caird (Jane Eyre)

Choreographer Winner – Susan Stroman (The Producers, the new Mel Brooksmusical)
Nominees: Jerry Mitchell (The Full Monty)
Jim Moore, George Pinney & Jonathan Vanderkolff (Blast!)
Randy Skinner (42nd Street)

Costume Designer Winner – William Ivey Long (The Producers, the new Mel Brooks musical)
Nominees: Theoni V. Aldredge (Follies)
Roger Kirk (42nd Street)
David C. Woolard (The Rocky Horror Show)

Director (Musical) Winner – Susan Stroman (The Producers, the new Mel Brooksmusical)
Nominees: Christopher Ashley (The Rocky Horror Show)
Mark Bramble (42nd Street)
Jack O’Brien (The Full Monty)

Director (Play) Winner – Daniel Sullivan (Proof)
Nominees: Marion McClinton (King Hedley II)
Ian McElhinney (Stones in His Pockets)
Jack O’Brien (The Invention of Love)

Lighting Designer Winner – Peter Kaczorowski (The Producers, the new Mel Brooks musical)
Nominees: Jules Fisher and Peggy Eisenhauer (Jane Eyre)
Paul Gallo (42nd Street)
Kenneth Posner (The Adventures of Tom Sawyer)

Musical Winner – The Producers, the new Mel Brooks musical, Producers: Rocco Landesman, SFX Theatrical Group, The Frankel-Baruch-Viertel-Routh Group, Bob and Harvey Weinstein, Rick Steiner, Robert F.X. Sillerman, Mel Brooks, James D. Stern/Douglas Meyer
Nominees: A Class Act, Producers: Marty Bell, Chase Mishkin, Arielle Tepper, Manhattan Theatre Club
The Full Monty, Producers: Fox Searchlight Pictures, Lindsay Law, Thomas Hall
Jane Eyre, Producers: Annette Niemtzow, Janet Robinson, Pamela Koslow, Margaret McFeeley Golden, Jennifer Manocherian, Carolyn Kim McCarthy

OrchestrationsWinner – Doug Besterman (The Producers, the new Mel Brooks musical)
Nominees: Larry Hochman (A Class Act)
Jonathan Tunick (Follies)
Harold Wheeler (The Full Monty)

Original Musical Score Winner – The Producers, the new Mel Brooks musical Music & lyrics by Mel Brooks
Nominees: A Class Act Music & lyrics by Edward Kleban
The Full Monty Music & lyrics by David Yazbek
Jane Eyre Music by Paul Gordon (music) and lyrics by Paul Gordon/John Caird

Play Winner – Proof by David Auburn. Producers: Manhattan Theatre Club, Lynne Meadow, Barry Grove, Roger Berlind,Carole Shorenstein Hays, Jujamcyn Theaters, Ostar Enterprises, Daryl Roth, Stuart Thompson
Nominees: The Invention of Love by Tom Stoppard. Producer: Lincoln Center Theater, Andr� Bishop, Bernard Gersten
King Hedley II by August Wilson. Producers: Sageworks, Benjamin Mordecai, Jujamcyn Theaters, 52nd Street Productions, Spring Sirkin, Peggy Hill, Manhattan Theatre Club, Kardana-Swinsky Productions
The Tale of the Allergist’s Wife by Charles Busch. Producer: Manhattan Theatre Club, Lynne Meadow, Barry Grove,Carole Shorenstein Hays,Daryl Roth, Stuart Thompson, Douglas S. Cramer

Regional Theatre Award Winner – Victory Gardens Theater
Revival (Musical)Winner – 42nd Street Producers: Dodger Theatricals, Joop van den Ende, Stage Holding
Nominees: Bells Are Ringing Producers: Mitchell Maxwell, Mark Balsam, Victoria Maxwell, Robert Barandes, Mark Goldberg, Anthony R. Russo, James L. Simon, Fred H. Krones, Allen M. Shore, Momentum Productions, Inc.
Follies Producer: Roundabout Theatre Company,Todd Haimes, Ellen Richard, Julia C. Levy
The Rocky Horror Show Producers: Jordan Roth, Christopher Malcolm, Howard Panter, Richard O’Brien, The Rocky Horror Company Ltd.

Revival (Play) Winner – One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest Producer: Michael Leavitt, Fox Theatricals, Anita Waxman, Elizabeth Williams,John York Noble, Randall L. Wreghitt, Dori Berinstein, The Steppenwolf Theatre Company
Nominees: Betrayal Producer: Roundabout Theatre Company, Todd Haimes, Ellen Richard, Julia C. Levy
Gore Vidal’s The Best Man Producers: Jeffrey Richards/Michael B. Rothfeld, Raymond J. Greenwald, Jerry Frankel, Darren Bagert
The Search for Signs of Intelligent Life in the Universe Producer: Tomlin and Wagner Theatricalz

Scenic Designer Winner – Robin Wagner (The Producers, the new Mel Brooksmusical)
Nominees: Bob Crowley (The Invention of Love)
Heidi Ettinger (The Adventures of Tom Sawyer)
Douglas W. Schmidt (42nd Street)

Special Lifetime Achievement Tony Award Winner – Paul Gemignani

Special Theatrical Event Winner – Blast! Produced by Cook Group Inc. and Star of Indiana

Tony Honors for Excellence in the Theatre Winner – Betty Corwin and the Theatre on Film and Tape Archive of the New York Public Library for the Performing Arts

Tony Honors for Excellence in the Theatre Winner – New Dramatists

Tony Honors for Excellence in the Theatre Winner – Theatre World

👤 📅1 January 2009
Tags: ,

Related News
More >

Latest News
More >

Leave a Review or Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top