Tony Awards 1998

Actor (Featured Role–Musical) Winner – Ron Rifkin (Cabaret)
Nominees: Gregg Edelman (1776)
John McMartin (High Society)
Samuel E. Wright (The Lion King)

Actor (Featured Role–Play) Winner – Tom Murphy (The Beauty Queen of Leenane)
Nominees: Br�an F. O’Byrne (The Beauty Queen of Leenane)
Sam Trammell (Ah, Wilderness!)
Max Wright (Ivanov)

Actor (Musical) Winner – Alan Cumming (Cabaret)
Nominees: Peter Friedman (Ragtime)
Brian Stokes Mitchell (Ragtime)
Douglas Sills (The Scarlet Pimpernel)

Actor (Play) Winner – Anthony LaPaglia (A View From the Bridge)
Nominees: Richard Briers (The Chairs)
John Leguizamo (Freak)
Alfred Molina (Art)

Actress (Featured Role–Musical) Winner – Audra McDonald (Ragtime)
Nominees: Anna Kendrick (High Society)
Tsidii Le Loka (The Lion King)
Mary Louise Wilson (Cabaret)

Actress (Featured Role–Play) Winner – Anna Manahan (The Beauty Queen of Leenane)
Nominees: Enid Graham (Honour)
Linda Lavin (The Diary of Anne Frank)
Julyana Soelistyo (Golden Child)

Actress (Musical) Winner – Natasha Richardson (Cabaret)
Nominees: Betty Buckley (Triumph of Love)
Marin Mazzie (Ragtime)
Alice Ripley and Emily Skinner (Side Show)

Actress (Play) Winner – Marie Mullen (The Beauty Queen of Leenane)
Nominees: Jane Alexander (Honour)
Allison Janney (A View From the Bridge)
Geraldine McEwan (The Chairs)

Book (Musical) Winner – Terrence McNally (Ragtime)
Nominees: Bill Russell (Side Show)
Roger Allers and Irene Mecchi (The Lion King)
Nan Knighton (The Scarlet Pimpernel)

Choreographer Winner – Garth Fagan (The Lion King)
Nominees: Graciela Daniele (Ragtime)
Forever Tango Dancers (Forever Tango)
Rob Marshall (Cabaret)

Costume Designer Winner – Julie Taymor (The Lion King)
Nominees: William Ivey Long (Cabaret)
Santo Loquasto (Ragtime)
Martin Pakledinaz (Golden Child)

Director (Musical) Winner – Julie Taymor (The Lion King)
Nominees: Scott Ellis (1776)
Frank Galati (Ragtime)
Sam Mendes with Rob Marshall (Cabaret)

Director (Play) Winner – Garry Hynes (The Beauty Queen of Leenane)
Nominees: Michael Mayer (A View From the Bridge)
Simon McBurney (The Chairs)
Matthew Warchus (Art)

Lighting Designer Winner – Donald Holder (The Lion King)
Nominees: Paul Anderson (The Chairs)
Peggy Eisenhauer and Mike Baldassari (Cabaret)
Jules Fisher and Peggy Eisenhauer (Ragtime)

Musical Winner – The Lion King. Produced by Disney.
Nominees: Ragtime. Produced by Livent (U.S.) Inc.
Side Show. Produced by Emanuel Azenberg, Joseph Nederlander, Herschel Waxman, Janice McKenna, Scott Nederlander.
The Scarlet Pimpernel. Produced by Pierre Cossette, Bill Haber, Hallmark Entertainment, Ted Forstmann, Kathleen Raitt.

Orchestrations Winner – William David Brohn (Ragtime)
Nominees: Robert Elhai, David Metzger and Bruce Fowler (The Lion King)
Michael Gibson (Cabaret)
Stanley Silverman (The Capeman)

Original Musical Score Winner – Ragtime. Music by Stephen Flaherty, lyrics by Lynn Ahrens.
Nominees: Side Show. Music by Henry Krieger, lyrics by Bill Russell.
The Capeman. Music by Paul Simon, lyrics by Derek Walcott.
The Lion King. Music and lyrics by Elton John,Tim Rice, Lebo M, Mark Mancina, Jay Rifkin, Julie Taymor, Hans Zimmer.

Play Winner – Art by Yasmina Reza. Produced by David Pugh, Sean Connery, Joan Cullman.
Nominees: Freak by John Leguizamo. Produced by Arielle Tepper, Bill Haber, Gregory Mosher.
Golden Child by David Henry Hwang. Produced by Benjamin Mordecai, Dori Berinstein, John Kao, Talia Shire, John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, South coast Repertory, TheJoseph Papp Public Theater/New York Shakespeare Festival, American Conservatory Theater.
The Beauty Queen of Leenane by Martin McDonagh. Produced by Atlantic Theater Company, Randall Wreghitt, Chase Mishkin, Steven M. Levy, Leonard Soloway, Julian Schlossberg, Norma Langworthy, The Druid Theatre Company/Royal Court Theatre.

Revival (Musical) Winner – Cabaret. Produced by Roundabout Theatre Company, Todd Haimes, Ellen Richard.
Nominees: 1776. Produced by Roundabout Theatre Company, Todd Haimes, Ellen Richard, James M. Nederlander, Stewart F. Lane, Rodger Hess,Bill Haber, Robert Halmi Jr., Dodger Endemol Theatricals, Hallmark Entertainment.
The Sound of Music. Produced by Hallmark, Thomas Viertel, Steven Baruch, Richard Frankel, Jujamcyn Theaters, The Rodgers and Hammerstein Organization, Charles Kelman Productions, Simone Genatt Haft, Marc Routh, Jay Binder, Robert Halmi Jr.

Revival (Play) Winner – A View From the Bridge. Produced by Roundabout Theatre Company, Todd Haimes, Ellen Richard, Roger Berlind, James M. Nederlander, Nathaniel Kramer, Elizabeth Ireland McCann, Roy Gabay, Old Ivy Productions.
Nominees: Ah, Wilderness!. Produced by Lincoln Center Theatre, Andr� Bishop, Bernard Gersten.
The Chairs. Produced by Bill Kenwright, Carole Shorenstein Hays, Scott Rudin, Stuart Thompson, Theatre de Complicite/Royal Court Theatre.
The Diary of Anne Frank. Produced by David Stone, Amy Nederlander-Case, Jon B. Platt, Jujamcyn Theaters, Hal Luftig, Harriet Newman Leve, James D. Stern.

Scenic Designer Winner – Richard Hudson (The Lion King)
Nominees: Bob Crowley (The Capeman)
Eugene Lee (Ragtime)
Quay Brothers (The Chairs)

Special Regional Theatre Award Winner – Denver Center Theatre Company.

Special Tony Awards for Lifetime Achievement in the Theatre Winners – Ben Edwards
Edward E. Colton

Tony Honor Winner – The International Theatre Institute of the United States

👤 📅1 January 2009
Tags: ,

Related News
More >

Latest News
More >

Leave a Review or Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top