Tony Awards 1995

Actor (Featured Role–Musical) Winner – George Hearn (Sunset Boulevard)
Nominees: Michel Bell (Show Boat)
Joel Blum (Show Boat)
Victor Trent Cook (Smokey Joe’s Cafe)

Actor (Featured Role–Play) Winner – John Glover (Love! Valour! Compassion!)
Nominees: Stephen Bogardus (Love! Valour! Compassion!)
Anthony Heald (Love! Valour! Compassion!)
Jude Law (Indiscretions)

Actor (Musical) Winner – Matthew Broderick (How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying!)
Nominees: Alan Campbell (Sunset Boulevard)
Mark Jacoby (Show Boat)
John McMartin (Show Boat)

Actor (Play) Winner – Ralph Fiennes (Hamlet)
Nominees: Brian Bedford (The Moliere Comedies)
Roger Rees (Indiscretions)
Joe Sears (A Tuna Christmas)

Actress (Featured Role–Musical) Winner – Gretha Boston (Show Boat)
Nominees: Brenda Braxton (Smokey Joe’s Cafe)
B.J. Crosby (Smokey Joe’s Cafe)
DeLee Lively (Smokey Joe’s Cafe)

Actress (Featured Role–Play) Winner – Frances Sternhagen (The Heiress)
Nominees: Suzanne Bertish (The Moliere Comedies)
Cynthia Nixon (Indiscretions)
Mercedes Ruehl (The Shadow Box)

Actress (Musical) Winner – Glenn Close (Sunset Boulevard)
Nominees: Rebecca Luker (Show Boat)

Actress (Play) Winner – Cherry Jones (The Heiress)
Nominees: Mary Alice (Having Our Say)
Eileen Atkins (Indiscretions)
Helen Mirren (A Month in the Country)

Book (Musical) Winner – Sunset Boulevard by Don Black and Christopher Hampton.

Choreographer Winner – Susan Stroman (Show Boat)
Nominees: Bob Avian (Sunset Boulevard)
Wayne Cilento (How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying)
Joey McKneely (Smokey Joe’s Cafe)

Costume Designer Winner – Florence Klotz (Show Boat)
Nominees: Jane Greenwood (The Heiress)
Stephen Brimson Lewis (Indiscretions)
Anthony Powell (Sunset Boulevard)

Director (Musical) Winner – Harold Prince (Show Boat)
Nominees: Des McAnuff (How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying!)
Trevor Nunn (Sunset Boulevard)
Jerry Zaks (Smokey Joe’s Cafe)

Director (Play) Winner – Gerald Gutierrez (The Heiress)
Nominees: Emily Mann (Having Our Say)
Joe Mantello (Love! Valour! Compassion!)
Sean Mathias (Indiscretions)

Lighting Designer Winner – Andrew Bridge (Sunset Boulevard)
Nominees: Beverly Emmons (The Heiress)
Mark Henderson (Indiscretions)
Paul Pyant (Arcadia)

Musical Winner – Sunset Boulevard. Produced by The Really Useful Company.
Nominees: Smokey Joe’s Cafe. Produced by Richard Frankel, Thomas Viertel, Steven Baruch, Jujamcyn Theaters/Jack Viertel, Rick Steiner, Frederic H. Mayerson, Center Theatre Group/Ahmanson Theatre/Gordon Davidson.

Original Musical Score Winner – Sunset Boulevard. Music by Andrew Lloyd Webber, Lyrics by Don Black and Christopher Hampton.

Play Winner – Love! Valour! Compassion! By Terrence McNally. Produced by Manhattan Theatre Club, Lynne Meadow, Barry Grove, and Jujamcyn Theatres.
Nominees: Arcadia by Tom Stoppard. Produced by Lincoln Center Theater, Andr� Bishop and Bernard Gersten.
Having Our Say by Emily Mann. Produced by Camille O. Cosby and Judith Rutherford James.
Indiscretions by Jean Cocteau. Produced by The Shubert Organization, Roger Berlind, Capital Cities/ABC, and Scott Rudin.

Regional Theatre Award Winner – Goodspeed Opera House

Revival (Musical) Winner – Show Boat, Produced by Livent (U.S.) Inc.
Nominees: How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying, Produced by Dodger Productions & Kardana Productions, Inc., The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, The Nederlander Organization.

Revival (Play) Winner – The Heiress, Produced by Lincoln Center Theater, Andr� Bishop, Bernard Gersten.
Nominees: Hamlet, Produced by Dodger Productions, Roger Berlind, Endemol Theatre Productions, Inc., Jujamcyn Theaters, Kardana Productions, Inc.,Scott Rudin, The Almeida Theatre Company.
The Moliere Comedies, Produced by Roundabout Theatre Company, Todd Haimes.
The Rose Tattoo, Produced by Circle in the Square Theatre, Theodore Mann, Josephine R. Abady, Robert Bennett.

Scenic Designer Winner – John Napier (Sunset Boulevard)
Nominees: John Lee Beatty (The Heiress)
Stephen Brimson Lewis (Indiscretions)
Mark Thompson (Arcadia)

Tony Honor Winner – National Endowment for the Arts

Special Tony Award Winners – Carol Channing: Lifetime Achievement
Harvey Sabinson: Lifetime Achievement

👤 📅1 January 2009
Tags: ,

Related News
More >

Latest News
More >

Leave a Review or Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top