Tony Awards 1993

Actor (Featured Role–Musical) Winner – Anthony Crivello (Kiss of the Spider Woman–The Musical)
Nominees: Michael Cerveris (The Who’s Tommy)
Gregg Edelman (Anna Karenina)
Paul Kandel (The Who’s Tommy)

Actor (Featured Role–Play) Winner – Stephen Spinella (Angels in America: Millennium Approaches)
Nominees: Robert Sean Leonard (Candida)
Joe Mantello (Angels in America: Millennium Approaches)
Zakes Mokae (The Song of Jacob Zulu)

Actor (Musical) Winner – Brent Carver (Kiss of the Spider Woman–The Musical)
Nominees: Tim Curry (My Favorite Year)
Con O’Neill (Blood Brothers)
Martin Short (The Goodbye Girl)

Actor (Play) Winner – Ron Leibman (Angels in America: Millennium Approaches)
Nominees: K. Todd Freeman (The Song of Jacob Zulu)
Liam Neeson (Anna Christie)
Stephen Rea (Someone Who’ll Watch Over Me)

Actress (Featured Role–Musical) Winner – Andrea Martin (My Favorite Year)
Nominees: Jan Graveson (Blood Brothers)
Lainie Kazan (My Favorite Year)
Marcia Mitzman (The Who’s Tommy)

Actress (Featured Role–Play) Winner – Debra Monk (Redwood Curtain)
Nominees: Kathleen Chalfant (Angels in America: Millennium Approaches)
Marcia Gay Harden (Angels in America: Millennium Approaches)
Anne Meara (Anna Christie)

Actress (Musical) Winner – Chita Rivera (Kiss of the Spider Woman–The Musical)
Nominees: Ann Crumb (Anna Karenina)
Stephanie Lawrence (Blood Brothers)
Bernadette Peters (The Goodbye Girl)

Actress (Play) Winner – Madeline Kahn (The Sisters Rosensweig)
Nominees: Jane Alexander (The Sisters Rosensweig)
Lynn Redgrave (Shakespeare for my Father)
Natasha Richardson (Anna Christie)

Book (Musical) Winner – Kiss of the Spider Woman–The Musical by Terrence McNally
Nominees: Anna Karenina by Peter Kellogg.
Blood Brothers by Willy Russell
The Who’s Tommy by Pete Townshend and Des McAnuff

Choreographer Winner – Wayne Cilento (The Who’s Tommy)
Nominees: Graciela Daniele (The Goodbye Girl)
Vincent Paterson and Rob Marshall (Kiss of the Spider Woman–The Musical)
Randy Skinner (Ain’t Broadway Grand)

Costume Designer Winner – Florence Klotz (Kiss of the Spider Woman–The Musical)
Nominees: Jane Greenwood (The Sisters Rosensweig)
Erin Quigley (The Song of Jacob Zulu)
David C. Woolard (The Who’s Tommy)

Director (Musical) Winner – Des McAnuff (The Who’s Tommy)
Nominees: Bill Kenwright and Bob Tomson (Blood Brothers)
Michael Kidd (The Goodbye Girl)
Harold Prince (Kiss of the Spider Woman–The Musical)

Director (Play) Winner – George C. Wolfe (Angels in America: Millennium Approaches)
Nominees: David Leveaux (Anna Christie)
Eric Simonson (The Song of Jacob Zulu)
Daniel Sullivan (The Sisters Rosensweig)

Lighting Designer Winner – Chris Parry (The Who’s Tommy)
Nominees: Howell Binkley (Kiss of the Spider Woman–The Musical)
Jules Fisher (Angels in America: Millennium Approaches)
Dennis Parichy (Redwood Curtain)

Musical Winner – Kiss of the Spider Woman–The Musical. Produced by the Live Entertainment Corp. of Canada/Garth Drabinsky
Nominees: Blood Brothers. Produced by Bill Kenwright
The Goodbye Girl. Produced by Office Two-One Inc., Gladys Nederlander, Stewart F. Lane, James M. Nederlander, Richard Kagan, and Emanuel Azenberg
The Who’s Tommy. Produced by Pace Theatrical Group, Dodger Productions, and Kardana Productions, Inc.

Play Winner – Angels in America: Millennium Approaches by Tony Kushner. Produced by Jujamcyn Theaters, Mark Taper Forum/Gordon Davidson, Margo Lion, Susan Quint Gallin, Jon B. Platt, The Baruch-Frankel-Viertel Group, Frederick Zollo, and Herb Alpert
Nominees: The Sisters Rosensweig by Wendy Wasserstein. Produced by Lincoln Center Theatre, Andr� Bishop, and Bernard Gersten
Someone Who’ll Watch Over Me by Frank McGuinness. Produced by Noel Pearson, The Shubert Organization, and Joseph Harris
The Song of Jacob Zulu by Tug Yourgrau. Produced by Steppenwolf Theatre Co., Randall Arney, Stephen Eich, Albert Poland, Susan Liederman, Bette Cerf Hill, and Maurice Rosenfield

Regional Theatre Award Winner – La Jolla Playhouse

Revival Winner – Anna Christie. Produced by Roundabout Theater Co., and Todd Haimes
Nominees: St. Joan. Produced by National Actors Theatre,Tony Randall, and Duncan C. Weldon
The Price. Produced by Roundabout Theatre Co., and Todd Haimes
Wilder, Wilder, Wilder. Produced by Circle in the Square Theatre, Theodore Mann, George Elmer,Paul Libin, Willow Cabin Theatre Company, Edward Berkeley, Adam Oliensis, and Maria Radman

Scenic Designer Winner – John Arnone (The Who’s Tommy)
Nominees: John Lee Beatty (Redwood Curtain)
Jerome Sirlin (Kiss of the Spider Woman–The Musical)
Robin Wagner (Angels in America: Millennium Approaches)

Score (Musical) Winners (tie) – Kiss of the Spider Woman–The Musical. Music by John Kander, lyrics by Fred Ebb.
The Who’s Tommy. Music and lyrics by Pete Townshend
Nominees: Anna Karenina. Music by Daniel Levine, lyrics by Peter Kellogg
Kiss of the Spider Woman–The Musical. Music byJohn Kander, lyrics by Fred Ebb
The Song of Jacob Zulu. Music by Ladysmith Black Mambazo, lyrics by Tug Yourgrau and Ladysmith Black Mambazo
The Who’s Tommy. Music and lyrics by Pete Townshend

Special Tony Award Winner – Oklahoma!–50th Anniversary

Tony Honor Winners – IATSE
Broadway Cares/Equity Fights AIDS

👤 📅1 January 2009
Tags: ,

Related News
More >

Latest News
More >

Leave a Review or Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top