Tony Awards 1987

Actor (Featured Role–Musical) Winner – Michael Maguire (Les Miserables)
Nominees: George S. Irving (Me and My Girl)
Timothy Jerome (Me and My Girl)
Robert Torti (Starlight Express)

Actor (Featured Role–Play) Winner – John Randolph (Broadway Bound)
Nominees: Frankie R. Faison (Fences)
Jamey Sheridan (All My Sons)
Courtney B. Vance (Fences)

Actor (Musical) Winner – Robert Lindsay (Me and My Girl)
Nominees: Roderick Cook (Oh Coward!)
Terrence Mann (Les Miserables)
Colm Wilkinson (Les Miserables)

Actor (Play) Winner – James Earl Jones (Fences)
Nominees: Philip Bosco (You Never Can Tell)
Richard Kiley (All My Sons)
Alan Rickman (Les Liaisons Dangereuses)

Actress (Featured Role–Musical) Winner – Frances Ruffelle (Les Miserables)
Nominees: Jane Connell (Me and My Girl)
Judy Kuhn (Les Miserables)
Jane Summerhays (Me and My Girl)

Actress (Featured Role–Play) Winner – Mary Alice (Fences)
Nominees: Annette Bening (Coastal Disturbances)
Phyllis Newman (Broadway Bound)
Carole Shelley (Stepping Out)

Actress (Musical) Winner – Maryann Plunkett (Me and My Girl)
Nominees: Catherine Cox (Oh Coward!)
Teresa Stratas (Rags)

Actress (Play) Winner – Linda Lavin (Broadway Bound)
Nominees: Lindsay Duncan (Les Liaisons Dangereuses)
Geraldine Page (Blithe Spirit)
Amanda Plummer (Pygmalion)

Best Revival Winner – All My Sons. Produced by Jay H. Fuchs, Steven Warnick, and Charles Patsos
Nominees: The Front Page. Produced by Lincoln Center Theatre, Gregory Mosher, and Bernard Gersten
The Life and Adventures of Nicholas Nickleby. Produced by The Shubert Organization, Three Knights, Ltd., and Robert Fox, Ltd.
Pygmalion. Produced by The Shubert Organization, Jerome Minskoff, and Duncan C. Weldon

Book (Musical) Winner – Les Miserables by Alain Boublil and Claude-Michel Schonberg
Nominees: Me and My Girl by L. Arthur Rose, Douglas Furber, Stephen Fry, and Mike Ockrent
Rags by Joseph Stein
Smile by Howard Ashman

Choreographer Winner – Gillian Gregory (Me and My Girl)
Nominees: Ron Field (Rags)
Brian Macdonald (The Mikado)
Arlene Philips (Starlight Express)

Costume Designer Winner – John Napier (Starlight Express)
Nominees: Bob Crowley (Les Liaisons Dangereuses)
Ann Curtis (Me and My Girl)
Andreane Neofitou (Les Miserables)

Director (Musical) Winner – Trevor Nunn and John Caird (Les Miserables)
Nominees: Brian Macdonald (The Mikado)
Trevor Nunn (Starlight Express)
Mike Ockrent (Me and My Girl)

Director (Play) Winner – Lloyd Richards (Fences)
Nominees: Howard Davies (Les Liaisons Dangereuses)
Mbongeni Ngema (Asinamali!)
Carole Rothman (Coastal Disturbances)

Lighting Designer Winner – David Hersey (Les Miserables)
Nominees: Martin Aronstein (Wild Honey)
David Hersey (Starlight Express)
Beverly Emmons and Chris Parry (Les Liaisons Dangereuses)

Musical Winner – Les Mis�rables . Produced by Cameron Mackintosh
Nominees: Me and My Girl. Produced by Richard Armitage, Terry Allen Kramer, James M. Nederlander, Stage Promotions Limited & Co.
Rags. Produced by Lee Guber, Martin Heinfling, Marvin A. Krauss
Starlight Express. Produced by Martin Starger and Lord Grade

Play Winner – Fences by August Wilson. Produced by Carole Shorenstein Hays and The Yale Repertory Theatre
Nominees: Broadway Bound by Neil Simon. Produced byEmanuel Azenberg
Coastal Disturbances by Tina Howe. Produced by Circle in the Square, Theodore Mann, and Paul Libin
Les Liaisons Dangereuses by Christopher Hampton. Produced by James M. Nederlander, The Shubert Organization, Inc., Jerome Minskoff, Elizabeth I. McCann, Stephen Graham, andJonathan Farkas

Regional Theatre Award Winner – San Francisco Mime Troupe

Scenic Designer Winner – John Napier (Les Miserables
Nominees: Bob Crowley (Les Liaisons Dangereuses)
Martin Johns (Me and My Girl)
Tony Walton (The Front Page)

Score Winner – Les Miserables. Music by Claude-Michel Schonberg, lyrics by Herbert Kretzmer and Alain Boublil
Nominees: Me and My Girl. Music by Noel Gay, lyrics by L. Arthur Rose and Douglas Furber
Rags. Music by Charles Strouse, lyrics byStephen Schwartz
Starlight Express. Music by Andrew Lloyd Webber, lyrics by Richard Stilgoe

Special Awards Winners – George Abbott, on the occasion of his 100th birthday
Jackie Mason, for The World According to Me

👤 📅1 January 2009
Tags: ,

📷 Main photo: TONY AWARDS 1987

Related News
More >

Latest News
More >

Leave a Review or Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *