Tony Awards 1986

Actor (Featured Role–Musical) Winner – Michael Rupert (Sweet Charity)
Nominees: Christopher d’Amboise (Song & Dance)
John Herrera (The Mystery of Edwin Drood)
Howard McGillin (The Mystery of Edwin Drood)

Actor (Featured Role–Play) Winner – John Mahoney (The House of Blue Leaves)
Nominees: Peter Gallagher (Long Day’s Journey Into Night)
Charles Keating (Loot)
Joseph Maher (Loot)

Actor (Musical) Winner – George Rose (The Mystery of Edwin Drood)
Nominees: Don Correia (Singin’ in the Rain)
Cleavant Derricks (Big Deal)
Maurice Hines (Uptown…It’s Hot!)

Actor (Play) Winner – Judd Hirsch (I’m Not Rappaport)
Nominees: Hume Cronyn (The Petition)
Ed Harris (Precious Sons)
Jack Lemmon (Long Day’s Journey Into Night)

Actress (Featured Role–Musical) Winner – Bebe Neuwirth (Sweet Charity)
Nominees: Patti Cohenour (The Mystery of Edwin Drood)
Jana Schneider (The Mystery of Edwin Drood)
Elisabeth Welch (Jerome Kern Goes to Hollywood)

Actress (Featured Role–Play) Winner – Swoosie Kurtz (The House of Blue Leaves)
Nominees: Stockard Channing (The House of Blue Leaves)
Bethel Leslie (Long Day’s Journey Into Night)
Zoe Wanamaker (Loot)

Actress (Musical) Winner – Bernadette Peters (Song & Dance)
Nominees: Debbie Allen (Sweet Charity)
Cleo Laine (The Mystery of Edwin Drood)
Chita Rivera (Jerry’s Girls)

Actress (Play) Winner – Lily Tomlin (The Search for Signs of Intelligent Life in the Universe)
Nominees: Rosemary Harris (Hay Fever)
Mary Beth Hurt (Benefactors)
Jessica Tandy (The Petition)

Book (Musical) Winner – The Mystery of Edwin Drood by Rupert Holmes
Nominees: Big Deal by Bob Fosse
Singin’ in the Rain by Betty Comden and Adolph Green
Wind in the Willows by Jane Iredale

Choreographer Winner – Bob Fosse (Big Deal)
Nominees: Graciela Daniele (The Mystery of Edwin Drood)
Peter Martins (Song & Dance)
Tango Argentino Dancers (Tango Argentino)

Costume Designer Winner – Patricia Zipprodt (Sweet Charity)
Nominees: Willa Kim (Song & Dance)
Beni Montresor (The Marriage of Figaro)
Ann Roth (The House of Blue Leaves)

Director (Musical) Winner – Wilford Leach (The Mystery of Edwin Drood)
Nominees: Bob Fosse (Big Deal)
Richard Maltby, Jr. (Song & Dance)
Claudio Segovia and Hector Orezzoli (Tango Argentino)

Director (Play) Winner – Jerry Zaks (The House of Blue Leaves)
Nominees: Jonathan Miller (Long Day’s Journey Into Night)
Jos� Quintero (The Iceman Cometh)
John Tillinger (Loot)

Lighting Designer Winner – Pat Collins (I’m Not Rappaport)
Nominees: Jules Fisher (Song & Dance)
Paul Gallo (The House of Blue Leaves)
Thomas R. Skelton (The Iceman Cometh)

Musical Winner – The Mystery of Edwin Drood. Produced by Joseph Papp
Nominees: Big Deal. Produced by The Shubert Organization,Roger Berlind, Jerome Minskoff, and Jonathan Farkas
Song & Dance. Produced by Cameron Mackintosh, Inc., The Shubert Organization, F.W.M. Producing Group, and The Really Useful Company, Inc.
Tango Argentino. Produced by Mel Howard and Donald K. Donald

Play Winner – I’m Not Rappaport by Herb Gardner. Produced byJames Walsh, Lewis Allen, and Martin Heinfling
Nominees: Benefactors by Michael Frayn. Produced byJames M. Nederlander, Robert Fryer, Douglas Urbanski, Michael Codron, MTM Enterprises, Inc., and CBS Productions
Blood Knot by Athol Fugard. Produced by James B. Freydberg, Max Weitzenhoffer, Lucille Lortel, Estrin Rose Berman Productions, and F.W.M. Producing Group
The House of Blue Leaves by John Guare. Produced by Lincoln Center Theater, Gregory Mosher, and Bernard Gersten

Regional Theatre Award Winner – American Repertory Theater, Cambridge, Massachusetts

Reproduction (Play or Musical) Winner – Sweet Charity. Produced by Jerome Minskoff, James M. Nederlander, Arthur Rubin and Joseph Harris
Nominees: Hay Fever. Produced by Roger Peters and MBS Co.
The Iceman Cometh. Produced by Lewis Allen,James M. Nederlander, Stephen Graham andBen Edwards
Loot. Produced by the David Merrick Arts Foundation, Charles P. Kopelman and Mark Simon

Scenic Designer Winner – Tony Walton (The House of Blue Leaves)
Nominees: Ben Edwards (The Iceman Cometh)
David Mitchell (The Boys in Winter)
Beni Montresor (The Marriage of Figaro)

Score Winner – The Mystery of Edwin Drood. Rupert Holmes
Nominees: The News. Paul Schierhorn
Song & Dance. Andrew Lloyd Webber, Don Black, and Richard Maltby, Jr.
Wind in the Willows. William Perry and Roger McGough

👤 📅1 January 2009
Tags: ,

Related News
More >

Latest News
More >

Leave a Review or Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top