Tony Awards 1975

Actor (Dramatic) Winner – John Kani and Winston Ntshona (Sizwe Banzi is Dead and The Island)
Nominees: James Dale (Scapino)
Peter Firth (Equus)
Henry Fonda (Clarence Darrow)
Ben Gazzara (Hughie and Duet)
John Wood (Sherlock Holmes)

Actor (Musical) Winner – John Cullum (Shenandoah)
Nominees: Joel Grey (Goodtime Charley)
Raul Julia (Where’s Charley?)
Eddie Mekka (The Lieutenant)
Robert Preston (Mack and Mabel)

Actor, Supporting or Featured (Dramatic) Winner – Frank Langella (Seascape)
Nominees: Larry Blyden (Absurd Person Singular)
Leonard Frey (The National Health)
Philip Locke (Sherlock Holmes)
George Rose (My Fat Friend)
Dick Anthony Williams (Black Picture Show)

Actor, Supporting or Featured (Musical) Winner – Ted Ross (The Wiz)
Nominees: Tom Aldredge (Where’s Charley?)
John Bottoms (Dance With Me)
Douglas Henning (The Magic Show)
Gilbert Price (The Night That Made America Famous)
Richard B. Shull (Goodtime Charley)

Actress (Dramatic) Winner – Ellen Burstyn (Same Time, Next Year)
Nominees: Elizabeth Ashley (Cat on a Hot Tin Roof)
Diana Rigg (The Misanthrope)
Maggie Smith (Private Lives)
Liv Ullmann (A Doll’s House)

Actress (Musical) Winner – Angela Lansbury (Gypsy)
Nominees: Lola Falana (Doctor Jazz)
Bernadette Peters (Mack and Mabel)
Ann Reinking (Goodtime Charley)

Actress, Supporting or Featured (Dramatic) Winner – Rita Moreno (The Ritz)
Nominees: Linda Miller (Black Picture Show)
Gerladine Page (Absurd Person Singular)
Carole Shelley (Absurd Person Singular)
Elizabeth Spriggs (London Assurance)
Frances Sternhagen (Equus)

Actress, Supporting or Featured (Musical) Winner – Dee Dee Bridgewater (The Wiz)
Nominees: Susan Browning (Goodtime Charley)
Zan Charisse (Gypsy)
Taina Elg (Where’s Charley?)
Kelly Garrett (The Night That Made America Famous)
Donna Theodore (Shenandoah)

Book (Musical) Winner – Shenandoah by James Lee Barrett, Peter Udell, and Philip Rose
Nominees: Mack and Mabel by Michael Stewart
The Lieutenant by Gene Curty, Nitra Scharfman, and Chuck Strand
The Wiz by William F. Brown

Choreographer Winner – George Faison (The Wiz)
Nominees: Gower Champion (Mack and Mabel)
Donald McKayle (Doctor Jazz)
Margo Sappington (Where’s Charley?)
Robert Tucker (Shenandoah)
Joel Zwick (Dance With Me)

Costume Designer Winner – Geoffrey Holder (The Wiz)
Nominees: Arthur Boccia (Where’s Charley?)
Raoul Pene Du Bois (Doctor Jazz)
Willa Kim (Goodtime Charley)
Tanya Moiseiwitsch (The Misanthrope)
Patricia Zipprodt (Mack and Mabel)

Director (Dramatic) Winner – John Dexter (Equus)
Nominees: Arvin Brown (The National Health)
Frank Dunlop (Scapino)
Ronald Eyre (London Assurance)
Athol Fugard (Sizwe Banzi is Dead and The Island)
Gene Saks (Same Time Next Year)

Director (Musical) Winner – Geoffrey Holder (The Wiz)
Nominees: Gower Champion (Mack and Mabel)
Grover Dale (The Magic Show)
Arthur Laurents (Gypsy)

Lighting Designer Winner – Neil Peter Jampolis (Sherlock Holmes)
Nominees: Chip Monk (The Rocky Horror Picture Show)
Abe Feder (Goodtime Charley)
Andy Phillips (Equus)
Thomas Skelton (All God’s Chillun)
James Tilton (Seascape)

Musical Winner – The Wiz. Produced by Ken Harper
Nominees: Mack and Mabel. Produced by David Merrick
The Lieutenant. Produced by Joseph Kutrzeba and Spofford Beadle
Shenandoah. Produced by Philip Rose, and Gloria and Louis K. Sher

Play Winner – Equus by Peter Shaffer. Produced by Kermit Bloomgarden and Doris Cole Abrahams
Nominees: Same Time, Next Year by Bernard Slade. Produced by Morton Gottlieb
Seascape by Edward Albee. Produced by Richard Barr, Charles Woodward, and Clinton Wilder
Short Eyes by Miguel Pinero. Produced by Joseph Papp, New York Shakespeare Festival
Sizwe Banzi is Dead and The Island by Athol Fugard, John Kani, and Winston Ntshona. Produced by Hillard Elkins, Lester OstermanProductions, Bernard Delfont, and Michael White
The National Health by Peter Nichols. Produced by Circle in the Square, Ltd.

Scenic Designer Winner – Carl Toms (Sherlock Holmes)
Nominees: Scott Johnson (Dance With Me)
Tanya Moiseiwitsch (The Misanthrope)
William Ritman (God’s Favorite)
Rouben Ter-Arutunian (Goodtime Charley)
Robert Wagner (Mack and Mabel)

Score (Musical) Winner – The Wiz. Music and lyrics by Charlie Smalls
Nominees: Letter for Queen Victoria. Music and lyrics by Alan Lloyd
Shenandoah. Music by Gary Geld, lyrics by Peter Udell
The Lieutenant. Music and lyrics by Gene Curty, Nitra Scharfman, and Chuck Strand

Theatre Award ’75 Winner – Al Hirschfeld for 50 years of theatrical cartoons.

👤 📅1 January 2009
Tags: ,

Related News
More >

Latest News
More >

Leave a Review or Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top