Tony Awards 1974

Actor (Dramatic) Winner – Michael Moriarty (Find Your Way Home)
Nominees: Zero Mostel (Ulysses in Nighttown)
Jason Robards (A Moon for the Misbegotten)
George C. Scott (Uncle Vanya)
Nicol Williamson (Uncle Vanya)

Actor (Musical) Winner – Christopher Plummer (Cyrano)
Nominees: Alfred Drake (Gigi)
Joe Morton (Raisin)
Lewis J. Stadlen (Candide)

Actor, Supporting or Featured (Dramatic) Winner – Ed Flanders (A Moon for the Misbegotten)
Nominees: Rene Auberjonois (The Good Doctor)
Douglas Turner Ward (The River Niger)
Dick Anthony Williams (What the Wine-Sellers Buy)

Actor, Supporting or Featured (Musical) Winner – Tommy Tune (Seesaw)
Nominees: Mark Baker (Candide)
Ralph Carter (Raisin)

Actress (Dramatic) Winner – Colleen Dewhurst (A Moon for the Misbegotten)
Nominees: Jane Alexander (Find Your Way Home)
Julie Harris (The Au Pair Man)
Madeline Kahn (Boom Boom Room)
Rachel Roberts (performances with the New Phoenix Repertory Company)

Actress (Musical) Winner – Virginia Capers (Raisin)
Nominees: Carol Channing (Lorelei)
Michele Lee (Seesaw)

Actress, Supporting or Featured (Dramatic) Winner – Frances Sternhagen (The Good Doctor)
Nominees: Regina Baff (Veronica’s Room)
Fionnula Flanagan (Ulysses in Nighttown)
Charlotte Moore (Chemin de Fer)
Roxie Roker (The River Niger)

Actress, Supporting or Featured (Musical) Winner – Janie Sell (Over Here!)
Nominees: Leigh Berry (Cyrano)
Maureen Brennan (Candide)
June Gable (Candide)
Ernestine Jackson (Raisin)

Book (Musical) Winner – Candide by Hugh Wheeler
Nominees: Raisin by Robert Nemiroff and Charlotte Zaltzberg
Seesaw by Michael Bennett

Choreographer Winner – Michael Bennett (Seesaw)
Nominees: Patricia Birch (Over Here!)
Donald McKayle (Raisin)

Costume Designer Winner – Franne Lee (Candide)
Nominees: Theoni V. Aldredge (The Au Pair Man)
Finlay James (Crown Matrimonial)
Oliver Messel (Gigi)
Carrie F. Robbins (Over Here!)

Director (Dramatic) Winner – Jose Quintero (A Moon for the Misbegotten)
Nominees: Burgess Meredith (Ulysses in Nighttown)
Mike Nichols (Uncle Vanya)
Stephen Porter (Chemin de Fer)
Edwin Sherin (Find Your Way Home)

Director (Musical) Winner – Harold Prince (Candide)
Nominees: Michael Bennett (Seesaw)
Donald McKayle (Raisin)
Tom Moore (Over Here!)

Lighting Designer Winner – Jules Fisher (Ulysses in Nighttown)
Nominees: Martin Aronstein (Boom Boom Room)
Ken Billington (The Visit)
Ben Edwards (A Moon for the Misbegotten)
Tharon Musser (The Good Doctor)

Musical Winner – Raisin. Produced by Robert Nemiroff
Nominees: Over Here! Produced by Kenneth Waissman and Maxine Fox
Seesaw. Produced by Joseph Kipness, Lawrence Kasha, James Nederlander, George M. Steinbrenner III, and Lorin E. Price

PlayWinner – The River Niger by Joseph A. Walker. Produced by Negro Ensemble Co., Inc.
Nominees: Boom Boom Room by David Rabe. Produced byJoseph Papp
The Au Pair Man by Hugh Leonard. Produced byJoseph Papp
Ulysses in Nighttown by Marjorie Barkentin. Produced by Alexander H. Cohen and Bernard Delfont

Scenic DesignerWinner – Franne and Eugene Lee (Candide)
Nominees: John Conklin (The Au Pair Man)
Santo Loquasto (What the Wine-Sellers Buy)
Oliver Smith (Gigi)
Ed Wittstein (Ulysses in Nighttown)

Score (Musical)Winner – Gigi. Music by Frederick Loewe, lyrics by Alan Jay Lerner
Nominees: The Good Doctor. Music by Peter Link, lyrics byNeil Simon
Raisin. Music by Judd Woldin, lyrics by Robert Brittan
Seesaw. Music by Cy Coleman, lyrics by Dorothy Fields

Special Awards Winners – Liza Minnelli, for adding lustre to the Broadway season.
Bette Midler, for adding lustre to the Broadway season.
Peter Cook and Dudley Moore, co-stars and authors of Good Evening.
A Moon for the Misbegotten, an outstanding dramatic revival of an American classic. Produced by Lester Osterman, Elliott Martin and Richard Hurner.
Candide, an outstanding contribution to the artistic development of the musical theatre. Produced by Chelsea Theatre Group, Harold Prince and Ruth Mitchell.
Actor’s Equity Association
Theatre Development Fund

Theatre Award ’74 Winners – John F. Wharton, veteran theatrical attorney.
Harold Friedlander, the industry’s foremost printing expert.

👤 📅1 January 2009
Tags: ,

Related News
More >

Latest News
More >

Leave a Review or Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top