Tony Awards 1970

Actor (Dramatic) Winner – Fritz Weaver (Child’s Play)
Nominees: James Coco (Last of the Red Hot Lovers)
Frank Grimes (Borstal Boy)
Stacy Keach (Indians)

Actor (Musical) Winner – Cleavon Little (Purlie)
Nominees: Len Cariou (Applause)
Robert Weede (Cry for Us All)

Actor, Supporting or Featured (Dramatic) Winner – Ken Howard (Child’s Play)
Nominees: Joseph Bova (The Chinese and Dr. Fish)
Dennis King (A Patriot for Me)

Actor, Supporting or Featured (Musical) Winner – Ren� Auberjonois (Coco)
Nominees: Brandon Maggart (Applause)
George Rose (Coco)

Actress (Dramatic) Winner – Tammy Grimes (Private Lives – Revival)
Nominees: Geraldine Brooks (Brightower)
Helen Hayes (Harvey – Revival)

Actress (Musical) Winner – Lauren Bacall (Applause)
Nominees: Katharine Hepburn (Coco)
Dilys Watling (Georgy)

Actress, Supporting or Featured (Dramatic) Winner – Blythe Danner (Butterflies Are Free)
Nominees: Alice Drummond (The Chinese and Dr. Fish)
Eileen Heckart (Butterflies Are Free)
Linda Lavin (Last of the Red Hot Lovers)

Actress, Supporting or Featured (Musical) Winner – Melba Moore (Purlie)
Nominees: Bonnie Franklin (Applause)
Penny Fuller (Applause)
Melissa Hart (Georgy)

Choreographer Winner – Ron Field (Applause)
Nominees: Michael Bennett (Coco)
Grover Dale (Billy)
Louis Johnson (Purlie)

Costume Designer Winner – Cecil Beaton (Coco)
Nominees: Ray Aghayan (Applause)
W. Robert Lavine (Jimmy)
Freddy Wittop (A Patriot for Me)

Director (Dramatic) Winner – Joseph Hardy (Child’s Play)
Nominees: Milton Katselas (Butterflies Are Free)
Tomas MacAnna (Borstal Boy)
Robert Moore (Last of the Red Hot Lovers)

Director (Musical) Winner – Ron Field (Applause)
Nominees: Michael Benthall (Coco)
Philip Rose (Purlie)

Lighting Designer Winner – Jo Mielziner (Child’s Play)
Nominees: Tharon Musser (Applause)
Thomas Skelton (Indians)

Musical Winner – Applause. Book by Betty Comden and Adolph Greene, music by Charles Strouse, lyrics by Lee Adams. Produced by Joseph Kipness and Lawrence Kasha
Nominees: Coco. Book and lyrics by Alan Jay Lerner, music by Andre Previn. Produced by Frederick Brisson
Purlie. Book by Ossie Davis, Philip Rose, andPeter Udell, music by Gary Geld, lyrics by Peter Udell. Produced by Philip Rose

Play Winner – Borstal Boy by Frank McMahon. Produced by Michael McAloney and Burton C. Kaiser
Nominees: Child’s Play by Robert Marasco. Produced byDavid Merrick
Indians by Arthur Kopit. Produced by Lyn Austin,Oliver Smith, Joel Schenker, and Roger L. Stevens
Last of the Red Hot Lovers by Neil Simon. Produced by Saint-Subber

Scenic Designer Winner – Jo Mielziner (Child’s Play)
Nominees: Howard Bay (Cry for Us All)
Ming Cho Lee (Billy)
Robert Randolph (Applause)

Special Awards Winners – Sir Noel Coward for his multiple and immortal contributions to the theatre
Alfred Lunt and Lynn Fontanne
New York Shakespeare Festival, for pioneering efforts on behalf of new plays
Barbra Streisand

👤 📅1 January 2009
Tags: ,

Related News
More >

Latest News
More >

Leave a Review or Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top