Tony Awards 1969

Actor (Dramatic) Winner – James Earl Jones (The Great White Hope)
Nominees: Art Carney (Lovers)
Alec McCowen (Hadrian VII)
Donald Pleasance (The Man in the Glass Booth)

Actor (Musical) Winner – Jerry Orbach (Promises, Promises)
Nominees: Herschel Bernardi (Zorba)
Jack Cassidy (Maggie Flynn)
Joel Grey (George M!)

Actor, Supporting or Featured (Dramatic) Winner – Al Pacino (Does a Tiger Wear a Necktie?)
Nominees: Richard Castellano (Lovers and Other Strangers)
Anthony Roberts (Play It Again Sam)
Louis Zorich (Hadrian VII)

Actor, Supporting or Featured (Musical) Winner – Ronald Holgate (1776)
Nominees: A. Larry Haine (Promises, Promises)
Edward Winter (Promises, Promises)

Actress (Dramatic) Winner – Julie Harris (Forty Carats)
Nominees: Estelle Parsons (Seven Descents of Myrtle)
Charlotte Rea (Morning, Noon and Night)
Brenda Vaccaro (The Goodbye People)

Actress (Musical) Winner – Angela Lansbury (Dear World)
Nominees: Maria Karnilova (Zorba)
Dorothy Loudon (The Fig Leaves Are Falling)
Jill O’Hara (Promises, Promises)

Actress, Supporting or Featured (Dramatic) Winner – Jane Alexander (The Great White Hope)
Nominees: Diane Keaton (Play It Again Sam)
Lauren Jones (Does a Tiger Wear a Necktie?)
Anna Manahan (Lovers)

Actress, Supporting or Featured (Musical) Winner – Marian Mercer (Promises, Promises)
Nominees: Sandy Duncan (Canterbury Tales)
Lorraine Serabian (Zorba)
Virginia Vestoff (1776)

Choreographer Winner – Joe Layton (George M!)
Nominees: Sammy Bayes (Canterbury Tales)
Ronald Field (Zorba)
Michael Bennett (Promises, Promises)

Costume Designer Winner – Louden Sainthill (Canterbury Tales)
Nominees: Michael Annals (Morning, Noon and Night)
Robert Fletcher (Hadrian VII)
Patricia Zipprodt (Zorba)

Director (Dramatic) Winner – Peter Dews (Hadrian VII)
Nominees: Joseph Hardy (Play It Again Sam)
Harold Pinter (The Man in the Glass Booth)
Michael A. Schultz (Does a Tiger Wear a Necktie?)

Director (Musical) Winner – Peter Hunt (1776)
Nominees: Robert Moore (Promises, Promises)
Tom O’Horgan (Hair)
Harold Prince (Zorba)

Musical Winner – 1776. Book by Peter Stone, music and lyrics by Sherman Edwards. Produced by Stuart Ostrow
Nominees: Hair. Book by Gerome Ragni and James Rado, music by Galt MacDermot, lyrics by James Rado. Produced by Michael Butler
Promises, Promises. Book by Neil Simon, music by Burt Bacharach, lyrics by Hal David. Produced by David Merrick
Zorba. Book by Joseph Stein, music by John Kander, lyrics by Fred Ebb. Produced by Harold Prince

Play Winner – The Great White Hope by Howard Sackler. Produced by Herman Levin
Nominees: Hadrian VII by Peter Luke. Produced by Lester Osterman Productions, Bill Freedman, and Charles Kasher
Lovers by Brian Friel. Produced by Helen Bonfilsand Morton Gottlieb
The Man in the Glass Booth by Robert Shaw. Produced by Glasshouse Productions and Peter Bridge, Ivor David Balding Associates Ltd., and Edward M. Meyers with Leslie Ogden

Scenic Designer Winner – Boris Aronson (Zorba)
Nominees: Derek Cousins (Canterbury Tales)
Jo Mielziner (1776)
Oliver Smith (Dear World)

Special Awards Winners – The National Theatre Company of Great Britain
The Negro Ensemble Company
Rex Harrison
Leonard Bernstein
Carol Burnett

👤 📅1 January 2009
Tags: ,

Related News
More >

Latest News
More >

Leave a Review or Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top