Chasing Hares, Young Vic

Casting announced for Chasing Hares at the Young Vic

Full cast and creatives have been announced for the world premiere of Chasing Hares at The Young Vic theatre in London.

Ayesha Dharker (The Father, The Father and The Assassin), Zainab Hasan (The Welkin, Lotus Beauty), Scott Karim (Dracula, The Invisible Hand), Saroja-Lily Ratnavel (Bravo Two Charlies, Electric Rosary) and Irfan Shamji (The Ipcress File, Hamlet) star in this tale of resistance and dignity in the face of global exploitation. 

The play, set between the UK and West Bengal, considers the power of storytelling in the struggle for a fairer world. Centred around a factory worker who also writes stories, when he writes a play about the injustices of factory conditions and rumours of child exploitation – is he ready to risk his future, his family and even his own life in his fight against injustice.

The new play by award-winning playwright Sonali Bhattacharyya (Two Billion Beats) is directed by Milli Bhatia (seven methods of killing kylie jenner). Chasing Hares is the winner of Theatre Uncut’s 2021 Political Playwriting Award.

Chasing Hares is designed by Moi Tran, with lighting design by Jai Morjaria, video design by Akhila Krishnan, sound design by Donato Wharton, composition by Sarathy Korwar and movement direction by Chi San Howard. The creative team is complete with casting director Polly Jerrold, R&D Dramaturg Guy Jones, R&D lyric consultant Jammz, audio description by Eleanor Margolies and captioning by Miranda Yates.

BSL performance: 29 July, 7.30pm; Audio Described performance: 2 & 9 August, 7.30pm; Relaxed performance: 3 August, 7.30pm; Captioned performance: 4 August, 7.30pm; Socially Distanced performance: 8 August, 7.30pm.

Chasing Hares runs from 16 July 2022 until 13 August 2022 at The Young Vic theatre in London.

📷 Main photo: Chasing Hares, Young Vic

Related News

More >

Latest News

More >

Leave a Review or Comment

Comments and reviews are subject to our participation guidelines policy, which can be viewed here. Our policy is for readers to use their REAL NAMES when commenting.