The Critics Circle Theatre Awards

Critics’ Circle Theatre Awards back for 2022

The Critics’ Circle, the organisation for UK arts critics, will hold its annual Critics’ Circle Theatre Awards this April 2022.

Postponed last year because of Covid, this year’s awards will be announced at a ceremony on 3 April 2022.

This year’s winners will include five organisations or individuals who went “above and beyond to keep theatre alive during lockdown” to create exceptional theatre during 2020 and 2021, alongside celebrating performances and shows from 2021.

Critics’ Circle chair Kate Maltby told the Stage newspaper that: “This year’s ceremony marks a refresh: our first after the Covid pandemic devastated British theatre and my first as chair. It’s been a difficult two years for British theatre, but our list of winners is a glorious tribute to theatre’s resilience – and to audiences’ irrepressible need for it as an art form. It’s been hard to keep the secret, but the list includes both new faces and much-loved stars – and I can’t wait to reveal it on April 3.”

 The UK’s Critics’ Circle has 503 members, with 117 theatre members.

Theatre critics who are members of the Critics’ Circle

David Adams, Nick Ahad, Arifa Akbar, Claire Allfree, Michael Arditti, Jeremy Austin, Nick Awde, Tim Bano, Honour Bayes, David Benedict, Raymond V Bennett, Gerald Berkowitz, Theo Bosanquet, Daisy Bowie-Sell, Clare Brennan,  Mary Brennan, Georgina Brown, Mark Brown, Robert Butler, Simon Button, Jo Caird, Paul Callan, Julie Carpenter, Dominic Cavendish, David Chadderton, Ned Chaillet, James Christopher, Susannah Clapp, Nigel Cliff, Liz Coggins, Clare Colvin, Mark Cook, Neil Cooper, Maddy Costa, Michael Coveney, Steve Cramer, Anthony Curtis, Nick Curtis, Michael Darvell, Robert Dawson Scott, Nicholas de Jongh, Simon Edge, Jane Edwardes, Susan Elkin, John Elsom, Vera Elyashiv, DL Evans, Mark Fisher, Philip Fisher, Roger Foss, Karen Fricker, Lyn Gardner, Sharon Garfinkel, Thelma Good, Robert Gore-Langton, Bill Hagerty, Rachel Halliburton, Robert Hanks, Christopher Hart, Andrew Haydon, Sarah Hemming, Ian Herbert, Henry Hitchings, Alan Hulme, Jafar Iqbal, James Inverne, Emma John, Ian Johns, Oliver Jones, Louise Kingsley, Jeremy Kingston, Ruth Leon, Paul Levy, Brian Logan, Catherine Love, Lizzie Loveridge, Howard Loxton, Andrzej Lukowski, Kate Maltby, Sam Marlowe, Patrick Marmion, Diana Damian Martin, Dominic Maxwell, Caroline McGinn, Keith McKenna, Joyce McMillan, Fergus Morgan, Fiona Mountford, Siobhan Murphy, John Nathan, Gary Naylor, Heather Neill, Benedict Nightingale, Kevin O’Sullivan, Terri Paddock, Michael Parker, Phil Penfold, John Peter, Lucy Powell, Libby Purves, Kieron Quirke, David Roper, William Russell, Alice Saville, Adam Scott, Victoria Segal, Mark Shenton, Robert Shore, Ian Shuttleworth, Aleks Sierz, Neil Smith, Nick Smurthwaite, Charles Spencer, Marianka Swain, Siobhan Synott, Maxie Szalwinska, Robert Tanitch, Paul Taylor, Jessie Thompson, Ann Treneman, Natasha Tripney, Paul Vale, Rosemary Waugh, Tom Wicker, Holly Williams, Lyndsey Winship, Carole Woddis, Matt Wolf, Alex Wood, Kate Wyver, Toby Young.

Honorary members: Michael Billington, Michael Coveney, Clive Hirschhorn, Herbert Kretzmer, Jack Lewis, Blanche Marvin, Garry O’Connor, Peter Roberts,  John Russell Taylor, Irving Wardle.

👤 📅21 March 2022

📷 Main photo: The Critics Circle Theatre Awards

Related News
More >

Latest News
More >