George Devine Award

Long list announced for the Royal Court’s playwright award

The long list for the Royal Court Theatre’s playwright award – The George Devine Award – has been announced.

The list of eight playwrights for the 2021 award include: Travis Alabanza for Overflow; Caroline Bird for Red Ellen; Gareth Farr for Shandyland; Sami Ibrahim for Brick Shit House; Zodwa Nyoni for The Darkest Part of the Night; Lulu Rack for Close Your Eyes, And Think of England; Tom Stuart for Burn Baby Burn; and, Emily White for Atlantis.

Formed in 1966 in memory of the Royal Court’s founding Artistic Director George Devine, the Award is recognised as one of the most prestigious in new writing and aim to shine a light on a playwright of promise. Former winners include Diana Nneka Atuona, Richard Bean, Alice Birch, Lucy Prebble, Rory Mullarkey and Daniel Ward.

The judging panel for 2021 includes playwrights Luke Barnes, James Graham and Gurpreet Kaur Bhatti, directors Justin Audibert and Lisa Blair and actress Kate O’Flynn. They will now decide upon the recipient of this year’s Award, who will be announced in early December.

‘In what has been another very challenging year for playwrights, I am delighted to be participating on the panel for this year’s Award. We all wish to see British Theatre thriving again and for that to happen it’s vital that we continue to champion and support its voices of promise, challenge and imagination.’ said 2021 Award judge Justin Audibert.

The winner will receive a prize of £15,000 in support of their future as a playwright.

Playwright profiles

Travis Alabanza
<strong>Travis Alabanza<strong> is a writer performer and theatre maker from Bristol Their writing performance and public discourse centres on trans and Black identities
Tom Stuart
<strong>Tom Stuart <strong>has written two other plays I Am Not Myself These Days produced by Fuel After Edward Shakespeares Globe His first film Mainstream premiered at the Venice Film Festival 2020
Lulu Raczka
<strong>Lulu Raczka<strong> has written for theatre screen and radio She started writing with the company Barrel Organ and has since written for The Gate The Unicorn and New Diorama Theatre
Sami Ibrahim
<strong>Sami Ibrahim<strong> is a writer from London Work includes <em>two Palestinians go dogging<em> Royal Court 2022 <em>Metamorphoses<em> Shakespeares Globe 2021 <em>Fledgling<em> Radio 4 2020 <em>Wonder Winterland<em> Oxford School of Drama 2019
Zodwa Nyoni
<strong>Zodwa Nyoni<strong> is a Zimbabwean born writer and director Her plays have toured across the UK USA France and South Africa She won the Channel 4 Playwrights Scheme in 2014
Garreth Farr
<strong>Garreth Farr<strong>s plays include Britannia Waves the Rules winner of Bruntwood Prize 2011 and The Quiet House Birmingham RepPark Theatre He is currently taking part in the BBC Studios Writers Academy
Emily White
<strong>Emily White <strong>trained as an actor at RADA was part of the Channel 4 Screenwriting course BBC Wales Writersroom and ETTs Nationwide Voices Her play <em>Pavilion<em> premiered at Theatr Clwyd in 2019 She also has two television series in development
<strong>Caroline Bird <strong>is a poet and playwright Shes been shortlisted for the 2017 TS Eliot Prize The Ted Hughes Award the Susan Smith Blackburn Prize and The Most Promising New Playwright at the Off West End Awards Her most recent poetry collection The Air Year won The Forward

👤 📅18 November 2021
Tags: ,

📷 Main photo: George Devine Award

Related News
More >

Latest News
More >