Evening Standard Theatre Awards: 2019 short-list announced

The shortlist for the 2019 Evening Standard Theatre Awards has been announced, with nominees including Hayley Atwell, Maggie Smith, Robert Icke, Marriane Elliott, Andrew Scott, Juliet Stevenson and Wendell Pierce.

The awards will be announced at a ceremony at the London Coliseum on 24 November 2019, presented by Cush Jumbo.

Best actor

K Todd Freeman for Downstate (National Theatre, Dorfman)
Francis Guinan for Downstate (National Theatre, Dorfman)
Tom Hiddleston for Betrayal (Harold Pinter Theatre)
Wendell Pierce for Death of a Salesman (Young Vic and Piccadilly Theatre)
Andrew Scott for Present Laughter (Old Vic Theatre)

Best actress

Hayley Atwell for Rosmersholm (Duke of York’s Theatre)
Cecilia Noble for Downstate  (National Theatre, Dorfman) and Faith, Hope and Charity (National Theatre, Dorfman)
Maggie Smith for A German Life (Bridge Theatre)
Juliet Stevenson for The Doctor (Almeida Theatre)
Anjana Vasan for A Doll’s House (Lyric Hammersmith)

Best play

Downstate by Bruce Norris (National Theatre, Dorfman)
Ear for Eye by Debbie Tucker Green (Royal Court Theatre)
Glass. Kill. Bluebeard. Imp. by Caryl Churchill (Royal Court Theatre)
Sweat by Lynn Nottage (Donmar Warehouse and Gielgud Theatre)

Best director

Robert Icke for The Doctor (Almeida) and The Wild Duck (Almeida)
Marianne Elliott and Miranda Cromwell for Death of a Salesman (Young Vic and Piccadilly Theatre)
Jamie Lloyd for Betrayal (Harold Pinter Theatre)

Best musical

Come From Away (Phoenix Theatre)
Evita (Regent’s Park Open Air Theatre)
Fiddler on the Roof (Menier Chocolate Factory and Playhouse Theatre)
Sweet Charity (Donmar Warehouse)

Best musical performance

Anne-Marie Duff for Sweet Charity (Donmar Warehouse)
Andy Nyman for Fiddler on the Roof (Menier Chocolate Factory and Playhouse Theatre)
Sheridan Smith for Joseph and the Amazing Technicolour Dreamcoat (London Palladium)

Best design

Fly Davis for Appropriate (Donmar Warehouse)
Bunny Christie for A Midsummer Night’s Dream (Bridge Theatre)
Tom Scutt for A Very Expensive Poison (Old Vic Theatre)

Most promising playwright

Zoe Cooper for Out of Water(Orange Tree Theatre)
Yasmin Joseph for J’Ouvert(Theatre503)
Jasmine Lee-Jones for Seven Methods of Killing Kylie Jenner (Royal Court Theatre)
Ross Willis for Wolfie (Theatre503)

Emerging talent award

Shiloh Coke for Chiaroscuro (Bush Theatre)
Laurie Kynaston for The Son (Kiln Theatre and Gielgud Theatre)
Grace Molony for The Watsons (Chichester Festival Theatre and Menier Chocolate Factory)
Bobby Stallwood for Faith, Hope and Charity (National Theatre, Dorfman)

👤 📅4 November 2019

Related News

More >

Latest News

More >

Leave a Review or Comment

Comments and reviews are subject to our participation guidelines policy, which can be viewed here. Our policy is for readers to use their REAL NAMES when commenting.