Dear Evan Hansen

Dear Evan Hansen Wins 2018 Grammy Award for Best Musical Theatre Album

Dear Evan Hansen has won the 2018 Grammy Award for Best Musical Theatre Album, beating out Come From Away and Bette Midler’s revival of Hello, Dolly!

Sharing the win for Dear Evan Hansen are its original cast Tony-winning Ben Platt, Laura Dreyfuss, Mike Faist, Kristolyn Lloyd, Michael Park, Will Roland, Jennifer Laura Thompson, fellow Tony winner Rachel Bay Jones and composers Benj Pasek and Justin Paul.

Benj Pasek and Justin Paul have now won an Oscar, Tony and Grammy in less than a year, and with the release of Hugh Jackman musical film The Greatest Showman, more awards are soon to follow.

With the Grammy’s held in New York for the first time since 2003, performances at the awards ceremony included Ben Platt singing ‘Somewhere’ from West Side Story and Patti Lupone singing ‘Don’t Cry For Me Argentina’ from Evita.

Eyebrows were raised in theatre-land when it was announced Ms Lupone and Lloyd Webber would be working together on the song which required re-scoring to fit in with the televised broadcast. 

At the rehearsal Lupone announced “This is détente, ladies and gentlemen,” as she hugged LLoyd Webber, putting to bed their two decade feud and one of Broadway’s guilty pleasures.

Hamilton creator Lin-Manuel Miranda also won a Grammy for Best Song Written for Visual Media for the Moana anthem “How Far I’ll Go.” and Leonard Bernstein was recognised for Best Historical Album.

Dear Evan Hansen will open in November 2019 at the Noel Coward Theatre, London.

DEAR EVAN HANSEN is booking from 29 October 2019 until 4 April 2020 at the Noel Coward Theatre, London.

DEAR EVAN HANSEN tickets are now available

📷 Main photo: Dear Evan Hansen

Related News
More >

Latest News
More >

Leave a Review or Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *