Jane Horrock’s and Helen McCrory up for BBC Audio Drama Awards

Simon Russell Beale, Alfred Molina, Helen McCrory, Jane Horrocks and John Hurt have been nominated in the 2016 BBC Audio Drama Awards.

Russell Beale, Molina and Hurt are nominated for best actor in an audio drama, opposite Roger Allam, Anton Lesser, David Benson and Nico Mirallegro.

McCrory is up for best actress in an audio drama, alongside Monica Dolan, Eve Myles, Sorcha Cusack, Sue Johnston and Susan Wokoma.

Other nominations include Mark Strong, Neil Maskell and Jane Horrocks who are nominated in the best supporting category and Phoebe Fox for best debut performance.

The BBC Audio Drama Awards were established in 2012 to pay tribute to the cultural importance of audio drama, on air and online, and are intended to give recognition to the actors, writers, producers, sound designers and others who work in the genre.

The awards are judged by experts from across the industry, including Dame Harriet Walter, Andrew Davies and Fiona Shaw.

The 2016 BBC Audio Drama Awards will take place on January 31 2016 at Broadcasting House in London.

The nominees in full are:
Best actress in an audio drama
Eve Myles in Frank and the Bear
Helen McCrory in The Pumpkin Eater
Monica Dolan in Vincent in Brixton
Sorcha Cusack in Juno and the Paycock
Sue Johnston in Love in Recovery
Susan Wokoma in Cuttin’ It

Best scripted comedy with a live audience
Andrew O’Neill: Pharmacist Baffler, by Andrew O’Neill
Dead Ringers, by Bill Dare, Jim Farthing, Jon Culshaw, Debra Stephenson, Lewis MacLeod
John Finnemore’s Souvenir Programme, by John Finnemore
Reluctant Persuaders episode three, by Chris Pye
The Big Broadcast: Snow, by Neil Brand
The Penny Dreadfuls Present: Macbeth Rebothered, by David Reed with Humphrey Ker

Best online only audio drama
Dark Shadows: Bloodlust, by Big Finish
Hood: King’s Command, by Spiteful Puppet Entertainment Ltd
Survivors: The Hunted, by Big Finish
The Judgement of Sherlock Holmes, by Big Finish
The Kindness of Time, by Rosie Boulton
The Omega Factor: The Old Gods, by Big Finish

Best audio drama adaptation
A Place of Greater Safety, by Hilary Mantel, dramatised by Melissa Murray
Between the Ears: Mr Rainbow, dramatised by Sebastian Baczkiewicz
King Charles III, by Mike Bartlett
The Last Days of Troy, dramatised from Homer by Simon Armitage
The Master and Margarita, by Mikhail Bulgakov, dramatised by Lucy Catherine
The Sea, the Sea, by Iris Murdoch, dramatised by Robin Brooks
The Song of Hiawatha, by Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, adapted and produced by Pauline Harris

Best actor in an audio drama
Alfred Molina in A View from the Bridge
Anton Lesser in Vampyre Man
David Benson in Frankie Takes a Trip
John Hurt in Jeffrey Bernard Is Unwell
Nico Mirallegro in Orpheus and Eurydice
Roger Allam in Cabin Pressure – Finale (Zurich)
Simon Russell Beale in Dead Girls Tell No Tales

Best audio drama (original single)
Cuttin’ It, by Charlene James
Dream of White Horses, by Linda Marshall Griffiths
Monster, by Tony Pitts
Our Sea, by Ronan Bennett
The Churchill Barriers, by Emma Spurgin Hussey
The Electrical Venus, by Julie Mayhew
The Len Continuum, by Peter Strickland

Best use of sound in an audio drama
Fight Club, sound by Wilfredo Acosta
Fright Night: Ring, sound by Catherine Robinson
Fugue State, sound by Julian Simpson
Good Omens, sound by Dirk Maggs
Mayday Mayday, composer Aaron May
Unmade Movies: Orson Welles’ Heart of Darkness, sound by Wilfredo Acosta

Best scripted comedy drama
Cabin Pressure – Finale (Zurich), by John Finnemore
Dot, by Ed Harris
In and Out of the Kitchen, by Justin Edwards
John Finnemore’s Double Acts – A Flock of Tigers, by John Finnemore
The Dad Who Fell to Earth, by Toby Hadoke
The Man Who Wore Sanitary Pads, by Jon Sen

Best audio drama (series or serial)
A Fine Balance, by Rohinton Mistry, dramatised by Ayeesha Menon and Kewel Karim
Children in Need: D for Dexter, by Amanda Whittington
Good Omens, by Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman
Home Front, by Katie Hims, Sarah Daniels, Shaun McKenna
Undercover Mumbai, by Ayeesha Menon
War and Peace, by Leo Tolstoy, dramatised by Timberlake Wertenbaker

Best supporting actor or actress in an audio drama
Anton Lesser in The Master and Margarita
Billy Kennedy in Home Front
Jane Horrocks in Shakespeare’s Fire
Mark Strong in Unmade Movies: Harold Pinter’s Victory
Neil Maskell in Monster
Susan Wokoma in Three Strong Women

Best debut performance in an audio drama
Eleanor Tomlinson in Dead Girls Tell No Tales
Farshid Rokey in The Boy from Aleppo Who Painted the War
Karen Bartke in My Name Is…
Melissa Benoist in A View from the Bridge
Phoebe Fox in War and Peace
Richard Hawley in Monster

Related News
More >

Latest News
More >

Leave a Review or Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *