The Pantomime Awards 2023 – Full list of winners

The UK Pantomime Association has revealed the winners of this year’s The Pantomime Awards 2023.

The ceremony took place this evening, 11 April 2023, at the Trafalgar Theatre in London.

Highlights of the awards included Su Pollard winning the Outstanding Achievement Award, and the Special Recognition Awards going to Ian McKellen, Cast Doncaster, and Theatre Royal Stratford East.

Simon Sladen, Chair of the UK Pantomime Association said in a statement: “Congratulations to all our nominees and winners. The Pantomime Awards celebrate an array of outstanding talent and demonstrate an industry alive and thriving. The commitment, creativity and passion on show each season makes pantomime one of the most thrilling of all theatrical genres. The UK Pantomime Association is proud to recognise and acknowledge the outstanding skill, expertise and excellence upon the pantomime stage.”

The ceremony was hosted by the Pantomime Association’s President Christopher Biggins, and presenters of the awards included Nigel Clarke, Max Fulham, Derek Griffiths, Amanda Lovett and Theo Mayne, Debbie McGee, Gracie McGonigal, Scott Mitchell and Vikki Stone.

Anna-Jane Casey, Gigi Zahir and Myra DuBois were some of the performers at this year’s awards ceremony.

The nominations for this year’s awards were announced last month.

The Pantomime Awards 2023 – Winners

  • Best Choreography: Stillie Dee – Jack and the Beanstalk, Alhambra Theatre, Bradford (Crossroads Pantomimes)
  • Best Comic sponsored by Santa Himself: Adam C Booth – Cinderella, Grand Opera House, Belfast (Crossroads Pantomimes)
  • Best Costume Design: Jasmine Swan – Beauty and the Beast, Mercury Theatre, Colchester (In-House)
  • Best Dame sponsored by Trafalgar Entertainment: Brian James O’Sullivan – Maw Goose, Macrobert Arts Centre, Stirling (In-House)
  • Best Director (sponsored by John Good Ltd): Estelle van Warmelo – Beauty and the Beast, The Courtyard, Hereford (In-House)
  • Best Ensemble sponsored by Stagecoach: Mairi Barclay, Adam Brown, Gabriel Fleary, Becca Francis, Shailan Gohil, Richard Leeming, Genevieve Nicole and Laura Tyrer – Mother Goose, Duke of York’s Theatre, London (Ambassador Theatre Group)
  • Best Lighting Design sponsored by Production, Light & Sound: Sally Ferguson – Dick Whittington, Nottingham Playhouse (In-House)
  • Carmen Silvera Award for Best Magical Being: Jo Osmond – Beauty and the Beast, Theatre Severn, Shrewsbury (Evolution Productions)
  • Best Contribution to Music sponsored by Howden Insurance Brokers: Emma Fraser – Dick Whittington, Octagon Theatre, Yeovil (Evolution Productions)
  • Best Early Career Newcomer sponsored by Staffordshire University: Neha Eapen – Cinderella, Carriageworks Theatre, Leeds (Paul Holman Associates)
  • Best Newcomer to Pantomime sponsored by Staffordshire University: Vernon Kay – Cinderella, Wycombe Swan, High Wycombe (Imagine Theatre)
  • Barbara Windsor Award for Best Principal Lead: Jasmine Triadi – Cinderella, Salisbury Playhouse (In-House)
  • Best Script: Joyce Branagh – Jack and the Beanstalk, South Hill Park Arts Centre, Bracknell (In-House)
  • Best Secondary Lead: Ohaana Greaves – The Further Adventures of Peter Pan, Fairfield Halls, Croydon (UK Productions)
  • Best Set Design: Mark Walters, Nina Dunn and Matt Brown – Beauty and the Beast, Swansea Grand Theatre (Imagine Theatre)
  • Best Sisters: Andrew Pollard and Alim Jadavji – Cinderella, Lighthouse, Poole (In-House)
  • Best Sound Design: James Cook – Aladdin, Derby Arena (Little Wolf Entertainment)
  • Best Supporting Artist: Anna-Jane Casey – Mother Goose, Duke of York’s Theatre, London (Ambassador Theatre Group)
  • Best Villain sponsored by Breckman & Company: Ben Locke – Robin Hood, Theatr Clwyd, Mold (In-House)
  • Best Pantomime (Under 500 seats) sponsored by Butlin’s: Robin Hood, Theatr Clwyd, Mold (In-House)
  • Best Pantomime (500 – 900 seats) sponsored by Butlin’s: Mother Goose, Duke of York’s Theatre, London (Ambassador Theatre Group)
  • Best Pantomime (Over 900 seats) sponsored by Butlin’s: Beauty and the Beast, Swansea Grand Theatre (Imagine Theatre)
  • Special Achievement Awards: Ian McKellen, Cast, Doncaster, and Theatre Royal Stratford East
  • Outstanding Achievement Award: Su Pollard
👤 📅11 April 2023

📷 Main photo: The Pantomime Awards 2023

Related News
More >

Latest News
More >

Leave a Review or Comment

Comments and reviews are subject to our participation guidelines policy, which can be viewed here. Our policy is for readers to use their REAL NAMES when commenting.