Bally Gill

Bally Gill wins 2018 Ian Charleson award

Bally Gill has won the 2018 Ian Charleson award for his performance in Romeo and Juliet at the Royal Shakespeare Company.

Gill won first prize for playing Romeo in Erica Whyman’s production in Stratford Upon Avon.

The second prize was given to Hannah Morrish for playing Octavia in Antony and Cleopatra at the National Theatre, with third prize going to Luke Newberry for his  performance as Malcolm in Macbeth at the RSC.

The Ian Charleson Awards were created in 1991, in memory of the much-loved actor, who died in 1990 at the age of 40; the awards reward actors under 30 in a classical role. 

The shortlist also included Daniel Burke Troilus and Cressida (RSC); Heledd Gwynn Henry V (Tobacco Factory); Tyrone Huntley A Midsummer Night’s Dream (Watermill Theatre);  Martins Imhangbe Richard II (Almeida Theatre); Toheeb Jimoh A Midsummer Night’s Dream (Crucible Theatre); Aaron Pierre Othello (Shakespeare’s Globe); Ellora Torchia Two Noble Kinsmen (Shakespeare’s Globe); and, Helena Wilson Measure for Measure (Donmar Warehouse).

The first prize is £5000; second prize £2000; and Third prize £500.

The awards were presented at a ceremony at the National Theatre on 13 May 2019. Judges included Kate Bassett, Deborah Findlay, Michael Grandage and Wendy Spon.

Previous winners include Natalie Simpson (2017), James McArdle (2015), Cush Jumbo (2011), Andrea Riseborough (2006), Rebecca Hall (2002), David Oyelowo (2000), Claudie Blakley (1999), Toby Stephens (1994) and Tom Hollander (1992).

📷 Main photo: Bally Gill

Related News

More >

Latest News

More >

Leave a Review or Comment

Comments and reviews are subject to our participation guidelines policy, which can be viewed here. Our policy is for readers to use their REAL NAMES when commenting.