Natalie Simpson won the Ian Charleson award for her performance in The Cardinal at Southwark Playhouse. Photo: Tristram Kenton

Ian Charleson Awards – Winners 2017

Natalie Simpson has won the 2017 Ian Charleson Award, which celebrates actors under the age of 30 performing in a classical role.

Simpson won first prize for her performance as Duchess Rosaura in The Cardinal at Southwark Playhouse in London.

Second prize was awarded to Tamara Lawrance for her role as Viola in Twelfth Night at the National Theatre, and third prize went to Ellie Bamber, who played Hilde in The Lady from the Sea at the Donmar Warehouse in London.

The awards are given in memory of actor Ian Charleson, who died in 1991, with the first prize winner receiving £5,000, second prize receiving £2,000, and third prize £500. The awards were presented at a ceremony at the National Theatre.

Previous winners have included Paapa Essiedu, Susannah Fielding, James McArdle, Rory Kinnear, Claudie Blakley, Rupert Penry-Jones, David Oyelowo, Rebecca Hall, Tom Hollander, Cush Jumbo and Andrea Riseborough.

The full shortlist of nominees:

Ellie Bamber for Hilde in The Lady from the Sea, Donmar Warehouse
Daniel Ezra for Sebastian in Twelfth Night
, National Theatre
Tamara Lawrance for Viola in Twelfth Night,
 National Theatre
Rebecca Lee for Friar Laurence in Romeo and Juliet, 
Watermill, Newbury
James Corrigan for Mark Antony in Julius Caesar, 
Royal Shakespeare Company
Ned Derrington for Lysander in A Midsummer Night’s Dream, 
Shakespeare’s Globe
Sope Dirisu for Coriolanus in Coriolanus, Royal Shakespeare Company
Arthur Hughes for Lucius in Julius Caesar,
 Crucible, Sheffield
Douggie McMeekin for Snug in A Midsummer Night’s Dream, 
Young Vic
Natalie Simpson for Duchess Rosaura in The Cardinal, 
Southwark Playhouse
Hannah Morrish for Lavinia in Titus Andronicus, Royal Shakespeare Company

👤 📅20 May 2018
Tags: ,

Related News
More >

Latest News
More >

Leave a Review or Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top