Paapa Essiedu in Hamlet at the Royal Shakespeare Theatre, Stratford-upon-Avon. Photo: Tristram Kenton

Ian Charleson Awards 2016

Winners and nominees of the Ian Charleson Awards 2016

Nominations announced: 28 May 2016

Winners announced at the National Theatre: 6 June 2016


First Prize : Paapa Essiedu – Hamlet and Edmund in Hamlet and King Lear (RSC, Stratford Upon Avon)

Second Prize: Jessica Brown Findlay – Sonya in Uncle Vanya (Almeida Theatre)

Third Prize: Fisayo Akinade – The Dauphin in Saint Joan (Donmar Warehouse)

First prize is £5,000; Second prize £2,000; Third prize £500.


James Corrigan – Palamon in The Two Noble Kinsmen (RSC, Stratford Upon Avon)
Emma Curtis – The Lady in Comus (Shakespeare’s Globe)
Marcus Griffiths – Laertes in Hamlet (RSC, Stratford Upon Avon)
Felicity Huxley-Miners – Elena Popova (The Bear at London Theatre, New Cross)
Francesca Mills – Maria in The Government Inspector (Birmingham Rep)
Marc Rhys – Christian in Cyrano de Bergerac (Theatr Clwyd)
Natalie Simpson – Cordelia in King Lear, Ophelia in Hamlet and Guideria in Cymbeline (RSC, Stratford Upon Avon)
Ewan Somers – Claudio in Much Ado About Nothing (Dundee Rep)
Marli Siu – Hero in Much Ado About Nothing (Dundee Rep)
Joanna Vanderham – Queen Anne in Richard III (AlmeidaTheatre)
Paksie Vernon – Sylvia Craven for The Philanderer (Orange Tree Theatre)

The Ian Charleson Awards were created in 1991, in memory of the much-loved actor, who died in 1990 at the age of 40; they reward actors under 30 in a classical role.


Related News
More >

Latest News
More >

Leave a Review or Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top