Ian Charleson Awards

Ian Charleson Awards – Nominations 2016

Nominations announced: 28 May 2016

Winners announced at the National Theatre: 6 June 2016

The judges of this year’s Sunday Times/National Theatre Ian Charleson Awards have announced their shortlist.


Fisayo Akinade – The Dauphin in Saint Joan (Donmar Warehouse)
Jessica Brown Findlay – Sonya in Uncle Vanya (Almeida Theatre)
James Corrigan – Palamon in The Two Noble Kinsmen (RSC, Stratford Upon Avon)
Emma Curtis – The Lady in Comus (Shakespeare’s Globe)
Paapa Essiedu – Hamlet and Edmund in Hamlet and King Lear (RSC, Stratford Upon Avon)
Marcus Griffiths – Laertes in Hamlet (RSC, Stratford Upon Avon)
Felicity Huxley-Miners – Elena Popova (The Bear at London Theatre, New Cross)
Francesca Mills – Maria in The Government Inspector (Birmingham Rep)
Marc Rhys – Christian in Cyrano de Bergerac (Theatr Clwyd)
Natalie Simpson – Cordelia in King Lear, Ophelia in Hamlet and Guideria in Cymbeline (RSC, Stratford Upon Avon)
Ewan Somers – Claudio in Much Ado About Nothing (Dundee Rep)
Marli Siu – Hero in Much Ado About Nothing (Dundee Rep)
Joanna Vanderham – Queen Anne in Richard III (AlmeidaTheatre)
Paksie Vernon – Sylvia Craven for The Philanderer (Orange Tree Theatre)

The Ian Charleson Awards were created in 1991, in memory of the much-loved actor, who died in 1990 at the age of 40; they reward actors under 30 in a classical role.

The winners will be announced at a ceremony at the National Theatre, London SE1, on 6 June; first prize is £5,000; second prize £2,000; third prize £500.

Date: 28 May 2017
Written by:
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Review or Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top

Great Offers on London Theatre

Sign-up for the latest show news & offers