Evening Standard Theatre Awards

Evening Standard Theatre Awards – Winners 2016

Awards announced: 13 November 2016 at the Old Vic Theatre
Hosted by Rob Brydon

Best Actor

Winner: Ralph Fiennes – The Master Builder (Old Vic Theatre)/Richard III (Almeida Theatre)
Kenneth Branagh – The Entertainer (Garrick Theatre)
O-T Fagbenle – Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom (National Theatre’s)
James McArdle – Platonov (Chichester Festival Theatre/National Theatre)
Ian McKellan – No Man’s Land (Wyndham’s Theatre)

Natasha Richardson Award for Best Actress

Winner: Billie Piper – Yerma (Young Vic)
Noma Dumezweni- Linda (Royal Court)
Helen McCrory – The Deep Blue Sea (National Theatre)
Sophie Melville – Iphigenia in Splott (Sherman Cymru/National Theatre)

Best Musical Performance

Winner: Glenn Close – Sunset Boulevard (Coliseum)
Andy Karl – Groundhog Day (The Old Vic)
Sheridan Smith – Funny Girl (Savoy)

Best Play in partnership with Hiscox

Winner:Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by Jack Thorne, J K Rowling & John Tiffany (Palace Theatre)
Father Comes Home from the Wars (Parts 1,2 & 3) , by Suzan-Lori Parks (Royal Court)
The Flick, by Annie Baker (National Theatre)

Evening Standard Radio 2 Audience Award for Best Musical

Winner: Jesus Christ Superstar – Regent’s Park Open Air Theatre
Funny Girl – Menier Chocolate Factory/Savoy Theatre
Groundhog Day – Old Vic Theatre
Guys and Dolls – Savoy Theatre/Phoenix Theatre
Our Ladies of Perpetual Succour – National Theatre Theatre
Sunset Boulevard – London Coliseum

Milton Shulman Award for Best Director

Winner: John Malkovich – Good Canary (Rose Kingston Theatre)
Dominic Cooke – Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom (National Theatre)
John Tiffany – Harry Potter and the Cursed Child (Palace Theatre)

Best Revival

Winner: No Man’s Land – Wyndham’s (director Sean Mathias)
Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom – National Theatre, Lyttelton (director Dominic Cooke)
Young Chekhov: Platonov,Ivanov & The Seagull – (Chichester Festival Theatre/National Theatre)
Les Blancs – National Theatre, Olivier (director Yael Farber)

Best Design

Winner: Gareth Fry with Peter Malkin (sound design) – The Encounter (Edinburgh International Festival/Barbican)
Jon Bausor – You For Me For You (Royal Court Theatre)
Rob Howell – The Master Builder (Old Vic Theatre)/Groundhog Day (Old Vic Theatre)

Charles Wintour Award for Most Promising Playwright

Winner: Charlene James – Cuttin’ It (Young Vic/Royal Court/Yard)
Jon Brittain – Rotterdam (Theatre503/Trafalgar Studios)
David Ireland – Cyprus Avenue (Royal Court Theatre)

Emerging Talent Award in partnership with Burberry

Winner: Tyrone Huntley – Jesus Christ Superstar (Regent’s Park Open Air Theatre)
Jaygann Ayeh – The Flick (National Theatre, Dorfman)
Anthony Boyle – Harry Potter and the Cursed Child (Palace Theatre)
Aoife Duffin – A Girl is a Half-formed Thing (Samuel Beckett Theatre, Dublin & Young Vic)/ The Taming of the Shrew (Shakespeare’s Globe)

BEYOND THEATRE – Sir David Attenborough
EDITOR’S AWARD – Good Chance Theatre
LEBEDEV AWARD – Sir Kenneth Branagh

👤 📅13 November 2016

📷 Main photo: Evening Standard Theatre Awards

Related News

More >

Latest News

More >

Leave a Review or Comment

Comments and reviews are subject to our participation guidelines policy, which can be viewed here. Our policy is for readers to use their REAL NAMES when commenting.