Ian Charleson Awards 2008

Winners and Commendations of the Ian Charleson Awards 2008

Winners Announced: June 2009


First prize:

Tom Burke for Creditors (Donmar Warehouse)

Second prize:

Edward Bennett for Love’s Labour’s Lost and Hamlet (RSC)

Third prize:

John Heffernan for Major Barbara (National Theatre)

Special commendations:

Mariah Gale for Hamlet (RSC)

Tom Hiddleston & Andrea Riseborough for Ivanov (Wyndhams Theatre)


Charles Aitken for Othello (Frantic Assembly)

David Ajala for a season at the RSC

Hayley Atwell for Major Barbara (National Theatre)

Beth Cooke for Three Sisters (Royal Exchange Theatre)

Tom Davey for Hamlet (RSC)

Natalie Dew for Twelfth Night (Regent’s Park Open Air Theatre)

Ryan Gage for A Midsummer Night’s Dream (RSC)

Oliver Le Sueur for The Taming of the Shrew and Hamlet (Shakespeare at the Tobacco Factory)

Gwilym Lee for Oedipus (National Theatre)

Ella Smith for Love’s Labour’s Lost (Rose Theatre)

Alex Waldmann for Twelfth Night (Wyndhams Theatre)

Date: 30 June 2009
Written by:
Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Review or Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top

Great Offers on London Theatre

Sign-up for the latest show news & offers