South Bank Show Awards 2010


Awards announced: 26 January 2010

Presented by Billy Connolly

Winner: The Thick Of It – BBC2  – Armando Iannucci’s dark political comedy set in the corridors of the British government.

Home Time – BBC2
The Inbetweeners – E4

Presented by Royal Ballet principle Tamara Rojo

Winner: E=mc² – David Bintley – Birmingham Royal Ballet – David Bintley’s new ballet for the Birmingham Royal Ballet, named after Einstein’s theory of relativity, with force fields of dancers.

Diversity – Dance Troupe
Limen – Wayne McGregor – Royal Opera House

TV Drama
Presented by Rob Brydon

Winner: Red Riding – C4 – Adapted from David Peace’s cult noir novels, an ambitious, dark and thrilling trilogy of interlinking films set in Yorkshire in the 1970s and 80s.

Being Human – BBC3
Collision – ITV1

Presented by Jarvis Cocker

Winner: Florence + the Machine – Lungs (not in attendance – acceptance speech through VT) – Her soaring, epic vocals, quirky melodies and self-contained musical world, found in her debut and platinum selling album Lungs.

Frankmusik – Complete Me
The xx – xx

Visual Arts
Presented by Grayson Perry

Winner: Anish Kapoor – RA – Anish Kapoor‘s joyful mid career retrospective exhibition, including his shooting cannon, which by the end of the exhibition had fired over 20 tons of molten wax.

Richard Long – Tate Britain
Roger Hiorns – Seizure

Presented by Rachel Weisz

Winner: Fish Tank – Academy-award winning writer/director Andrea Arnold’s second film, Fish Tank – set in Essex, is the story of Mia, a volatile 15 year old.

An Education
The Damned United

Presented by PD James

Winner: The Quickening Maze – Adam Foulds – A sympathetic and poetic exploration of John Clare’s madness.

Forest Gate – Peter Akinti
The Little Stranger – Sarah Waters

Presented by Rolando Villazon

Winner: Peter Grimes – ENO – David Alden’s coruscating production of Peter Grimes.

Into the Little Hill / Down by the Greenwood Side – Linbury Studio – ROH2 / The Opera Group / London Sinfonietta
The Fairy Queen – Glyndebourne

Presented by Dominic West

Winner: A Streetcar Named Desire – Donmar Warehouse – The Donmar’s revival starring Rachel Weisz.

Jerusalem – Jez Butterworth – Royal Court Theatre
The Habit of Art – Alan Bennett – National Theatre

Arts Council England’s Diversity Award
Presented by Jo Whiley

Winner: Julie McNamara – Playwright and performing artist.

Jenny Sealey – Graeae Theatre Company
Clean Break – Theatre, Education, new Writing

Classical Music
Presented by trumpeter Alison Balsom

Winner: Nielsen; Inextinguishable – A cycle of concerts performed by The Hallé Orchestra and The City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra – Two leading British orchestras, The Hallé Orchestra and The City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra, join forces for a cycle of symphonies by arguably Denmark’s greatest composer, Carl Nielsen.

City of Dreams: Vienna 1900-1935 –  Philharmonia Orchestra, conducted by Esa-Pekka Salonen
Easter Reflections – The Sixteen

The Times Breakthrough Award
Presented by Sir Ian McKellen

Winner: David Blandy – for Visual Art

Alina Ibragimova – for Classical Music
Emma Fryer – for Comedy
Melissa Hamilton – for Dance
Carey Mulligan – for Film
Peter Akinti – for Literature
Daniel Kramer – for Opera
The xx – for Pop
Lucy Prebble – for Theatre
Suranne Jones – for TV Drama

Outstanding Achievement Award in association with The Dorchester
Presented by Sir David Attenborough

Winner: Melvyn Bragg

👤 📅26 January 2010


Related News
More >

Latest News
More >

Leave a Review or Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *