Edinburgh Festival Fringe

Edinburgh Festival Fringe 2023 – Award winners round-up

The Edinburgh Festival Fringe 2023 is coming to an end for another year, and its time to highlight the winners of Edinburgh’s various annual awards.

Whilst a number of awards have dropped out this year, including The Stage Edinburgh Awards, there are still awards to be had! Here are the lucky winners of this year’s awards.

Edinburgh Comedy Awards 2023 – Winners

The Edinburgh Comedy Awards were looking in doubt this year without a headline sponsor, but West End theatre owner and Edinburgh Comedy Awards director Nica Burns rallied the industry, and sponsors were found for individual awards. The winners were announced on 26 August 2023.

Sky Best Comedy Show

Ahir Shah: Ends

DLT Entertainment Best Newcomer

Urooj Ashfaq

The Victoria Wood Award (Panel Prize)

A Show For Gareth Richards, organised by Mark Simmons and Danny Ward

Nica Burns, Director of Edinburgh Comedy Awards, said in a statement: “Two outstanding shortlists, fielding so much talent, led to very intense lively judging debates. It was nail-biting to the final votes. All our shortlisted comedians will be an important part of the comedy scene for years to come. Congratulations to Ahir whose blending of his family’s personal story is funny yet emotional, political yet positive, clever and engaging, powerful and tender. His craft as a comedian is so extraordinary that he inspires both tears and laughter. It’s the most wonderful experience. Urooj’s arrival in the UK [from Mumbai] is a breath-taking success story. Working in her second language she’s never experienced a UK audience before. Her ability to engage us immediately demonstrated her natural instinct as a comedian. She is a delightful personality who makes you smile even before she tells you the joke that will make you laugh. Bringing a fresh, new voice to our comedy scene she has a very exciting future.”

(ISH) Edinburgh Awards 2023 – Winners

This alternative to the Edinburgh Comedy Awards, set up when the Comedy Awards were looking unlikely, were announced on the same day, 26 August 2023. These awards organised by volunteers, published their shortlist on 21 August.

Best Show

Julia Masli: ha ha ha ha ha ha ha

Paul Foot: Dissolve

Best Newcomer

Dan Tiernan: Going Under

Fiona Ridgewell: No-Nonsense

Panel Prize

A Show For Gareth Richards, organised by Mark Simmons and Danny Ward

Comedian Nathan Cassidy was the instigator of the awards, and said during his speech at the winners event: “This was never going to be a gimmick, much as my friends wanted me to use the ceremony to announce myself as the winner of all 3 prizes! It was a genuine attempt to see whether you could run an awards similar to the Edinburgh Comedy Awards but with volunteers, and I think we pulled it off.”

Popcorn Writing Award 2023 – Winners

Sabrina Ali for Dugsi Dayz (Underbelly, Cowgate)

Read more here

Scotsman Fringe First 2023 – Winners

Lorenzo by Ben Target

Strategic Love Play by Miriam Battye

Beasts (Why Girls Shouldn’t Fear the Dark) by Mandi Chivasa

The Insider by Anna Skov Jensen

What If They Ate the Baby? by Xhloe Rice and Natasha Roland

Gunter by Dirty Hare

Club Life by Fred Deakin

Blue by June Carryl

The Last of the Soviets by Spitfire

Choo Choo! by StammerMouth

Everything Under the Sun by Jack MacGregor

Square Peg by Simeon Morris

The Grand Old Opera House Hotel by Isobel McArthur

Heaven by Eugene O’Brien

England and Son by Ed Edwards and Mark Thomas

Funeral by Ontroerend Goed

JM Coetzee’s Life and Times of Michael K by Baxter Theatre

A Funeral for My Friend Who Is Still Alive by Kasen Tsui

Holden Street Theatres Edinburgh Fringe Award 2023 – Winner

England and Son by Mark Thomas and Ed Edwards

Filipa Bragança Award 2023 – Winner

Chicken by Eva O’Connor

Mental Health Fringe Award 2023 – Winner

Choo Choo! by StammerMouth

Brighton Fringe Award for Excellence 2023 – Winner

Character Flaw by Philippa Dawson

Neurodiverse Review Awards 2023 – Winners

The Bounce emerging artist award

Mari Crawford for Bipolar Badass

Actually autistic excellence award

Don Biswas for The Revolution Will Be Disorganised

ADHD comedy award

Robin Ince for Weapons of Empathy

Neurodiversity/disability representation award

McClaine Beirne for Wheelie Funny

Outstanding visually impaired creative award

Visually Impaired Creators Scotland for Cabaret in the Dark

Birds of Paradise exceptional theatre award

Eleanor Hill for Sad-Vents

Birds of Paradise emerging artist award

Shaharah Gaznabbi for What Can Indian Look Like?

Deaf Action deaf excellence award

Jenny Sealey for Self-Raising

Disability Champions Award

Mark Nicholas and Benny Shakes for Disabled Cants

Lifetime achievement award

Paul Wady for Guerilla Autistics

Edinburgh Festival Fringe

📷 Main photo: Edinburgh Festival Fringe

Related News

More >

Latest News

More >

Leave a Review or Comment

Comments and reviews are subject to our participation guidelines policy, which can be viewed here. Our policy is for readers to use their REAL NAMES when commenting.