Evening Standard Theatre Awards 2022 announced; Jodie Comer, James McAvoy, Best of Enemies, Oklahoma! amongst winners

The 66th annual Evening Standard Theatre Awards have been announced in London.

The winners were announced at a ceremony at The Ivy restaurant in London last night, 11 December 2022.

This is the first Evening Standard Theatre Awards since 2019 due to the pandemic, and the eligibility covered shows on the London stage between 20 May 2021 and 13 October 2022.

This year’s Evening Standard Theatre Awards nominations were announced in October.

The awards were hosted by Sheridan Smith, who is about to return to the West End to star in Shirley Valentine at the Duke of York’s Theatre, and Evening Standard owner Lord Lebedev.

Oklahoma! took home Best Musical at the awards. The show was a five-star hit at the Young Vic, and transfers into the West End’s Wyndham’s Theatre from 16 February 2023.

Best Musical Performance also went to Oklahoma! and one of its stars, Patrick Vaill, who returns in the role of Jud Fry when the show transfers.

Play of the Year went to Best of Enemies by James Graham, which is now playing at the Noel Coward Theatre in London starring Zachary Quinto and David Harewood.

Jodie Comer won the the Natasha Richardson Award for Best Actress for her role in Prima Facie at the Harold Pinter Theatre, presented to her by her close friend and mentor, actor Stephen Graham.

James McAvoy won the Best Actor gong for his role in Cyrano de Bergerac, also at the Harold Pinter Theatre, and previously the Playhouse Theatre.

Lynette Linton, director of Blues For An Alabama Sky by Pearl Cleage at the National Theatre, took home the Milton Shulman Award for Best Director, presented by director Josie Rourke and actor Martha Plimpton, who are both currently working on As You Like It at the new @sohoplace theatre.

Nica Burns, co-owner of the Nimax Theatres group, and owner of @sohoplace, received a Special Award recognising her support of London theatre during the pandemic.

Another Special Award went to actor Dame Vanessa Redgrave, who also campaigned for the arts during the lockdowns.

The Best Design Award went to Tom Scutt for Cabaret at the Playhouse Theatre.

Isobel McArthur won the Emerging Talent Award for Pride & Prejudice (sort of), which played at the Criterion Theatre.

Tyrell Williams won the Charles Wintour Award for Most Promising Playwright, for his coming-of-age story Red Pitch. Tyrell also recently picked up the Royal Court’s 53rd George Devine Award for new playwrights for the same play, with a £15,000 prize. The Evening Standard Award also comes with a donation from Anna Wintour.

The awards are judged by a panel of critics and editors; this year they were: Baz Bamigboye (Deadline) , Sarah Crompton (critic for Whats On Stage), Nick Curtis (critic for the Evening Standard), Farah Najib (playwright), Alice Saville (theatre critic) and Matt Wolf (critic for the New York Times) and it was chaired by Evening Standard Culture Editor Nancy Durrant

This article has been updated to list the judges of this year’s awards.

📷 Main photo: Evening-Standard-Theatre-Awards

Related News
More >

Latest News
More >

Leave a Review or Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *