The Stage Debut Awards

The Stage Debut Awards 2022 nominations announced celebrating West End debuts

The Stage industry publication has announced the shortlist for its The Stage Debut Awards 2022.

Originally launched in 2017, The Stage Debut Awards celebrate exciting and, mostly, up-and-coming theatremakers who have made their first appearance in London’s West End.

The list is an eclectic mix, bringing together seasoned stage professionals such as Broadway star Sutton Foster, and big TV and movie stars such as Emilia Clarke and Jodie Comer, with up-and-coming new talent from across the theatre disciplines. Those over-looked include Amy Adams for The Glass Menagerie and Taron Egerton in Cock at the Ambassadors Theatre.

A judging panel has selected the nominees, and winners will be decided by a public vote. Voting closes on 4 September 2022, and you can vote here.

The judges were journalist for Deadline, Baz Bamigboye; journalist for The Stage and critic for Variety, David Benedict; playwright and critic, Dave Fargnoli; writer Angelo Irving; forthcoming The Stage critic Sam Marlowe; editor of The Stage, Alistair Smith; and theatre critic of The Stage and soon to be International Editor, Natasha Tripney

Actors, directors, designers, writers, composers or lyricists needed to have made their debut between 1 August 2020 and 17 July 2022 to be eligible for the awards – an extended period because of Covid.

The winners will be announced at a ceremony at 8 Northumberland Avenue in London on Sunday 18 September 2022.

The Stage Debut Awards 2022 – Nominations

Best Performer in a Play

Samuel Creasey for Book of Dust at Bridge Theatre, London
Elisabeth Gunawan for Unforgettable Girl at Voila! Festival, London
Kudzai Mangombe for Malindadzimu at Hampstead Theatre, London
Saba Shiraz for An Adventure at the Octagon Theatre, Bolton
Tommy Sim’aan for Starcrossed at Wilton’s Music Hall, London
Joe Usher for Rock / Paper / Scissors at Sheffield Theatres
Michael Workeye for House of Ife at the Bush Theatre, London
Dewi Wykes for Petula at National Theatre Wales
Ensemble of For Black Boys Who Have Considered Suicide When the Hue Gets Too Heavy
at the New Diorama and Royal Court, London (Mark Akintimehin, Emmanuel Akwafo,
Nnabiko Ejimofor, Darragh Hand, Aruna Jalloh, Kaine Lawrence)

Best Performer in a Musical – sponsored by Carnival Cruise Line

Hugh Coles for Back to the Future at the Adelphi Theatre, London
Elijah Ferreira for Hedwig and the Angry Inch at Leeds Playhouse
Ben Joyce for Jersey Boys at Trafalgar Theatre, London
Bella Maclean for Spring Awakening at the Almeida, London
Joe Pitts for Spring Awakening at the Almeida, London

Best Director  – sponsored by Theatredor

Anthony Almeida for Cat on a Hot Tin Roof at Curve, Leicester
Alice Fitzgerald for Purple Snowflakes and Titty Wanks at the Royal Court, Londo
Monique Touko for Malimdadzimu at Hampstead Theatre, London

Best Designer

TK Hay (set and costume) for An Adventure at the Octagon Theatre, Bolton
Caitlin Mawhinney (set and costume) for My Voice Was Heard But It Was Ignored /
Teechers Leavers at Leeds Playhouse/Hull Truck
Liz Whitbread (set and costume) for Favour at the Bush Theatre, London

Best Writer – sponsored by Sonia Friedman Productions

Kemi-Bo Jacobs for All White Everything But Me at the Alphabetti Theatre, Newcastle
Eilidh Loan for Moorcroft at the Tron Theatre, Glasgow
Tyrell Williams for Red Pitch at the Bush Theatre, London

Best Composer, Lyricist or Book Writer

John Elliott for Cruise at the Duchess Theatre, London
Jordan Paul Clarke & Francesca Forristal for Public Domain at Vaudeville Theatre, London
Lauryn Redding for Bloody Elle at the Royal Exchange, Manchester

Best West End Debut Performer

Lizzie Annis for The Glass Menagerie at Duke of York’s Theatre
Emilia Clarke for The Seagull the Harold Pinter Theatre
Hugh Coles for Back to the Future the Musical at Adelphi Theatre
Jodie Comer for Prima Facie the Harold Pinter Theatre
Emma Corrin for Anna X the Harold Pinter Theatre
Sutton Foster for Anything Goes at the Barbican
Hannah Jarrett-Scott for Pride and Prejudice* (*sort of) at the Criterion
Ben Joyce for Jersey Boys at Trafalgar Studios

Best Creative West End Debut – sponsored by Trafalgar Entertainment

Julia Cheng (choreographer) for Cabaret at the Playhouse Theatre, London
Tacita Dean (designer) for The Dante Project at the Royal Opera House
Jack Holden (writer) for Cruise at the Duchess Theatre, London
Yasmin Joseph (writer) for J’Ouvert at the Harold Pinter Theatre
Isobel McArthur (writer) for Pride and Prejudice* (*sort of) at the Criterion
Rebekah Murrell (director) for J’Ouvert at the Harold Pinter Theatre

The Stage Debut Awards
👤 📅18 August 2022
Tags: ,

📷 Main photo: The Stage Debut Awards

Related News

More >

Latest News

More >

Leave a Review or Comment

Comments and reviews are subject to our participation guidelines policy, which can be viewed here. Our policy is for readers to use their REAL NAMES when commenting.