Tony Awards 1997

Actor (Featured Role–Musical) Winner – Chuck Cooper (The Life)
Nominees: Joel Blum (Steel Pier)
Andre De Shields (Play On!)
Sam Harris (The Life)

Actor (Featured Role–Play) Winner – Owen Teale (A Doll’s House)
Nominees: Terry Beaver (The Last Night of Ballyhoo)
Brian Murray (The Little Foxes)
William Biff McGuire (The Young Man From Atlanta)

Actor (Musical) Winner – James Naughton (Chicago)
Nominees: Robert Cuccioli (Jekyll and Hyde)
Jim Dale (Candide)
Daniel McDonald (Steel Pier)

Actor (Play) Winner – Christopher Plummer (Barrymore)
Nominees: Brian Bedford (London Assurance)
Michael Gambon (Skylight)
Antony Sher (Stanley)

Actress (Featured Role–Musical) Winner – Lillias White (The Life)
Nominees: Marcia Lewis (Chicago)
Andrea Martin (Candide)
Debra Monk (Steel Pier)

Actress (Featured Role–Play) Winner – Lynne Thigpen (An American Daughter)
Nominees: Helen Carey (London Assurance)
Dana Ivey (The Last Night of Ballyhoo)
Celia Weston (The Last Night of Ballyhoo)

Actress (Musical) Winner – Bebe Neuwirth (Chicago)
Nominees: Pamela Isaacs (The Life)
Tonya Pinkins (Play On!)
Karen Ziemba (Steel Pier)

Actress (Play) Winner – Janet McTeer (A Doll’s House)
Nominees: Julie Harris (The Gin Game)
Shirley Knight (The Young Man From Atlanta)
Lia Williams (Skylight)

Book (Musical) Winner – Peter Stone (Titanic)
Nominees: Leslie Bricusse (Jekyll and Hyde)
David Thompson (Steel Pier)
David Newman, Ira Gasman and Cy Coleman(The Life)

Choreographer Winner – Ann Reinking (Chicago)
Nominees: Wayne Cilento (Dream)
Joey McKneely (The Life)
Susan Stroman (Steel Pier)

Costume Designer Winner – Judith Dolan (Candide)
Nominees: Ann Curtis (Jekyll and Hyde)
William Ivey Long (Chicago)
Martin Pakledinaz (The Life)

Director (Musical) Winner – Walter Bobbie (Chicago)
Nominees: Michael Blakemore (The Life)
Scott Ellis (Steel Pier)
Julie Taymor (Juan Darien)

Director (Play) Winner – Anthony Page (A Doll’s House)
Nominees: John Caird (Stanley)
Richard Eyre (Skylight)
Charles Nelson Reilly (The Gin Game)

Lighting Designer Winner – Ken Billington (Chicago)
Nominees: Beverly Emmons (Jekyll and Hyde)
Donald Holder (Juan Darien)
Richard Pilbrow (The Life)

Musical Winner – Titanic. Produced by Dodger Endemol Theatricals, Richard S. Pechter, The John F. Kennedy Center.
Nominees: Juan Darien. Produced by Lincoln Center Theatre, Andr� Bishop, Bernard Gersten, Music-Theatre Group
Steel Pier. Produced by Roger Berlind.
The Life. Produced by Roger Berlind, Martin Richards, Cy Coleman, Sam Crothers.

Orchestrations Winner – Jonathan Tunick (Titanic)
Nominees: Michael Gibson (Steel Pier)
Luther Henderson (Play On!)
Don Sebesky and Harold Wheeler (The Life)

Original Musical Score Winner – Titanic. Music and lyrics by Maury Yeston.
Nominees: Juan Darien. Music and lyrics by Elliot Goldenthal
Steel Pier. Music by John Kander, lyrics by Fred Ebb.
The Life. Music by Cy Coleman, lyrics by Ira Gasman.

Play Winner – The Last Night of Ballyhoo by Alfred Uhry. Produced by Jane Harmon, Nina Keneally, Liz Oliver.
Nominees: Skylight by David Hare. Produced by Robert Fox,Roger Berlind, Joan Cullman, Scott Rudin, The Shubert Organization, Capital Cities/ABC, The Royal National Theatre.
Stanley by Pam Gems. Produced by Circle in the Square, Gregory Mosher, M. Edgar Rosenblum, The Royal National Theatre.
The Young Man From Atlanta by Horton Foote. Produced by David Richenthal, Anita Waxman, Jujamcyn Theaters, The Goodman Theatre,Robert Cole.

Revival (Musical) Winner – Chicago. Produced by Barry and Fran Weissler, Kardana Productions, Inc.
Nominees: Annie. Produced by Timothy Childs, Rodger Hess, Jujamcyn Theaters, Terri B. Childs, Al Nocciolino.
Candide. Produced by Livent (U.S.), Inc.
Once Upon a Mattress. Produced by Dodger Productions, Joop Van den Ende.

Revival (Play) Winner – A Doll’s House. Produced by Bill Kenwright, Thelma Holt
Nominees: London Assurance. Produced by Roundabout Theatre, Todd Haimes, Ellen Richard.
Present Laughter. Produced by David Richenthal,Anita Waxman, Jujamcyn Theaters.
The Gin Game. Produced by National Actors Theatre, Tony Randall.

Scenic Designer Winner – Stewart Laing (Titanic)
Nominees: John Lee Beatty (The Little Foxes)
G. W. Mercier and Julie Taymor (Juan Darien)
Tony Walton (Steel Pier)

Special Regional Theatre Award Winner – Berkeley Repertory Theatre

Special Tony Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Theatre Winner – Bernard B. Jacobs (posthumously)

👤 📅1 January 2009
Tags: ,

📷 Main photo: TONY AWARDS 1997

Related News
More >

Latest News
More >

Leave a Review or Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *