Tony Awards 1961

Actor (Dramatic) Winner – Zero Mostel (Rhinoceros)
Nominees: Hume Cronyn (Big Fish, Little Fish)
Sam Levene (The Devil’s Advocate)
Anthony Quinn (Beckett)

Actor (Musical) Winner – Richard Burton (Camelot)
Nominees: Phil Silvers (Do Re Mi)
Maurice Evans (Tenderloin)

Actor, Supporting or Featured (Dramatic) Winner – Martin Gable (Big Fish, Little Fish)
Nominees: Philip Bosco (The Rape of the Belt)
Eduardo Ciannelli (The Devil’s Advocate)
George Grizzard (Big Fish, Little Fish)

Actor, Supporting or Featured (Musical) Winner – Dick Van Dyke (Bye, Bye Birdie)
Nominees: Clive Revill (Irma La Douce)
Dick Gautier (Bye Bye Birdie)
Ron Husmann (Tenderloin)

Actress (Dramatic) Winner – Joan Plowright (A Taste of Honey)
Nominees: Tallulah Bankhead (Midgie Purvis)
Barbara Baxley (Period of Adjustment)
Barbara Bel Geddes (Mary, Mary)

Actress (Musical) Winner – Elizabeth Seal (Irma La Douce)
Nominees: Julie Andrews (Camelot)
Carol Channing (Show Girl)
Nancy Walker (Do Re Mi)

Actress, Supporting or Featured (Dramatic) Winner – Colleen Dewhurst (All the Way Home)
Nominees: Eileen Heckart (Invitation to a March)
Tresa Hughes (The Devil’s Advocate)
Rosemary Murphy (Period of Adjustment)

Actress, Supporting or Featured (Musical) Winner – Tammy Grimes (The Unsinkable Molly Brown)
Nominees: Nancy Dussault (Do Re Mi)
Chita Rivera (Bye, Bye Birdie)

Choreographer Winner – Gower Champion (Bye, Bye Birdie)
Nominees: Onna White (Irma La Douce)

Conductor and Musical Director Winner – Franz Allers (Camelot)
Nominees: Pembrode Davenport (13 Daughters)
Stanley Lebowsky (Irma La Douce)
Elliot Lawrence (Bye, Bye Birdie)

Costume Designer (Dramatic) Winner – Motley (Beckett)
Nominees: Theoni V. Aldredge (The Devil’s Advocate)
Raymond Sovey (All the Way Home)

Costume Designer (Musical) Winner – Adrian and Tony Duquette (Camelot)
Nominees: Rolf Gerard (Irma La Douce)
Cecil Beaton (Tenderloin)

Director (Dramatic) Winner – Sir John Gielgud (Big Fish, Little Fish)
Nominees: Joseph Anthony (Rhinoceros)
Joan Littlewood (The Hostage)
Arthur Penn (All the Way Home)

Director (Musical) Winner – Gower Champion (Bye, Bye Birdie)
Nominees: Peter Brook (Irma La Douce)
Garson Kanin (Do Re Mi)

Musical Winner – Bye, Bye Birdie. Book by Michael Stewart, music byCharles Strouse, lyrics by Lee Adams. Produced by Edward Padula in association with L. Slade Brown.
Nominees: Do Re Mi. Book by Garson Kanin, music by Jules Styne, lyrics by Betty Comden and Adolph Green. Produced by David Merrick.
Irma La Douce. Book and lyrics by Alexandre Breffort, music by Marguerite Monnot. English book and lyrics by Julian More, David Heneker, and Monty Norman. Produced by David Merrick in association with Donald Albery and H. M. Tennent, Ltd.

Play Winner – Beckett by Jean Anouilh, translated by Lucienne Hill. Produced by David Merrick.
Nominees: All the Way Home by Tad Mosel. Produced byFred Coe in association with Arthur Cantor.
The Devil’s Advocate by Dore Schary. Produced by Dore Schary.
The Hostage by Brendan Behan. Produced by S. Field and Caroline Burke Swann.

Scenic Designer (Dramatic) Winner – Oliver Smith (Becket)
Nominees: Roger Furse (Duel of Angels)
David Hays (All the Way Home)
Jo Mielziner (The Devils’ Advocate)
Rouben Ter-Arutunian (Advise and Consent)

Scenic Designer (Musical) Winner – Oliver Smith (Camelot)
Nominees: George Jenkins (13 Daughters)
Robert Randolph (Bye, Bye Birdie)

Special Awards Winners – David Merrick, in recognition of a fabulous production record over the last seven years.
The Theatre Guild, for organizing the first repertory to go abroad for the State Department.

Stage Technician Winner – Teddy Van Bemmel (Becket)

👤 📅1 January 2009
Tags: ,

📷 Main photo: TONY AWARDS 1961

Related News
More >

Latest News
More >

Leave a Review or Comment

Comments and reviews are subject to our participation guidelines policy, which can be viewed here. Our policy is for readers to use their REAL NAMES when commenting.