Tony Awards 1953

Actor (Dramatic) Winner – Tom Ewell (The Seven Year Itch)
Actor (Musical) Winner – Thomas Mitchell (Hazel Flagg)
Actor, Supporting or Featured (Dramatic) Winner – John Williams (Dial M for Murder)
Actor, Supporting or Featured (Musical) Winner – Hiram Sherman (Two’s Company)
Actress (Dramatic) Winner – Shirley Booth (Time of the Cuckoo)
Actress (Musical) Winner – Rosalind Russell (Wonderful Town)
Actress, Supporting or Featured (Dramatic) Winner – Beatrice Straight (The Crucible)
Actress, Supporting or Featured (Musical) Winner – Sheila Bond (Wish You Were Here)
Choreographer Winner – Donald Saddler (Wonderful Town)
Conductor and Musical Director Winner – Lehman Engel (Wonderful Town and Gilbert and Sullivan Season)
Costume Designer Winner – Miles White (Hazel Flagg)
Director Winner – Joshua Logan (Picnic)
Musical Winner – Wonderful Town. Book by Joseph Fields and Jerome Chodorov, music by Leonard Bernstein, lyrics by Betty Comden and Adolph Green. Produced by Robert Fryer.
Play Winner – The Crucible by Arthur Miller. Produced by Kermit Bloomgarden.
Scenic Designer Winner – Raoul Pene Du Bois (Wonderful Town)
Special Awards Winner – Beatrice Lillie, for An Evening with Beatrice Lillie. Danny Kaye, for heading a variety bill at the Palace Theatre. Equity Community Theatre.
Stage Technician Winner – Abe Kurnit (Wish You Were Here)

Date: 1 January 2009
Written by:
Tags: ,

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top

Theatre is Back!

Sign-up for the latest show news & offers